We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st and last visit...”

The Prince of Wales
Ranked #65 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1st and last visit...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We popped in on the way back from wales, and as weve been to 2468 pubs before we thought we would pop in, but never again.... the chef was swearing and we could hear him from the kitchen, we were with our 3 year old who is at the age where she repeats stuff! I also heard him coughing and then (i didnt c him wash his hands after) he grabbed a handful of chips out of a bowl by hand, he was having a go at a waitress over waiting so long, itwas very embarrassing for everyone who could hear! The waitress service was fine, polite enough, but the genral atmosphere was terrible, needless to say we didnt have puddings or an extra drink! The food its self wasnt good, the onion rings where very undercooked and soggy, the steak was fine , bit the peas felt like they had been hanging about for hours, they were off colour and cold! The place was generally tidy and clean .. only real good point was the toilets smelt very clean! I think next time we give this place a miss! .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenkatiedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    32
    26
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
coleford
1 review
“good food bad car park”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

food is very good the only problems is the han dryers in the toliets and the small welsh barmaid. you not going to get a nuce quite meal with her there. the main problem is the car park. there not pot holes just holes and there all over. shame these things spoilt tge meal. wont be going back in a hurry.

Helpful?
Thank ypinders
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Good Value For Money & Friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We took some overseas visitors for a meal and drink and all agreed it was good, service was fast and we were made to feel welcome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Cold food.....again!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our fourth visit to the Prince of Wales. The previous three times we had barley warm food deliver on cold plates. Different reasons were given....the waitress didn't realise the food was ready, the back door had been left open and the food was in the draught, third time just a an apology no reason for it. This time, more cold food on a warm plate, again an apology but how many times do you have to complain? When I returned the plates to the bar they were left there a full 5 mins while they carried on serving, this was after a 20 mins wait and the place wasn't busy ( though there were at least 9 kids running around) The manager did apologise and we were given free deserts......wow! Had heard locally that the place had gone downhill since opening but thought I'd see for myself. I will not be going back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelling2ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible service and food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

4 of us arrived just after 5 on Sunday evening wanting the carvery that is served until 6. We were told that they have no carvery. We instead ordered a combo starter to share, then a mixed grill, fajitas, gammon topped with cheese and mushrooms and a chicken melt. After an hour we still hadn't our starter so we had asked where it was. It finally came and we had to ask for plates, they gave us 3 plastic mismatched ones (there were 4 of us). 5 minutes later, they brought out the rest of the starter as they had forgotten some of it. The waitress was rude and had no customer service and just slammed the plates down. It took another 20 minutes for them to clear our plates when we finished. Half an hour later, no mains. Another waitress (Amy) came over to see if we were waiting and said she said she would check with the kitchen. Mains finally came, the gammon and chicken had obviously been left under the grill for too long, black and burnt cheese that was hard. The rude waitress again just slammed the plated down. We told Amy and she offered to get fresh meals for us but didn't fancy waiting another half an hour, she offered us a free drink each. Finally eating, cold watery peas, cold chips and burnt gammon. The fajitas were nice and the mixed grill ok, but the gammon and chicken were left uneaten. There was another customer who was complaining to the manager while we were there so we know it wasn't just us! The waitress had told the manager that we had complained but he didn't come over to apologise. All in all, a poor experience apart from Amy. Won't be returning!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael_278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing