We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday evening treat”

Glewstone Court Restaurant
Ranked #10 of 84 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $52
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Glewstone Court Restaurant is a 2 AA rosette restaurant within the Glewstone Court Country House serving traditional British and European cuisine. Dress code is smart casual and it is recommended that you make a reservation.
Norfolk UK
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“sunday evening treat”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Lovely set menu, comfy sofas for pre and post dinner drink. Food very tasty and lots of choice. Cheese board delicious as was plum chutney.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank easterntravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    44
    8
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fantastic “best beef ever!””
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a family Sunday lunch there, what a meal ! I had to start the “Our own chicken liver pate” Melba toast and I think damson chutney, any way it was very good. Then came the Pièce de résistance the Beef. I like my beef, I go to a butcher that has an abattoir, and hangs his beef for nearly three weeks. However, this Hereford Beef was the “best beef ever!”. Cooked to perfection for every meat lover , rare to well done slices, other restraints do this but not with the quality of Beef.
I Would advise anybody thinking of a meal in the Ross area to go to Glewstone Court.
And the best its dog friendly, even Ben the Springer had a good time!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TwmShwnBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Never - ever - disappoints”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We left Glewstone on 5th August, thinking "We MUST come back more often".

We tend to return once or twice a year to pull the extended family together for Sunday lunch and have done so over the last 6 years or so.

Thing is, the consistent good humour, warm welcome, quality high-end home cooking, informal courtesy and overall relaxed ambiance deserve our custom so much more frequently.

There are no airs and graces here (that's not to say it's unsophisticated, just has an attitude of nothing to prove) - you can turn up with guests aged anywhere from 1 month to 101yrs old and you're made feel very welcome.

The food reflects the personality of the place perfectly. No superfluous foams, emulsions or smoke and mirrors magic tricks: fancy a really good home made chicken liver pate ? That's what you get. Asparagus, pea shoots, watercress/rocket summer salad ? Dressing on point. Roast beef, yorkshire pud, claret gravy ? Totally dependable.

I guess we're all different, but I never got the Nouvelle Cuisine-leads-on-to-Ferran Adria-Heston Blumenthal trying to reinvent the wheel thing. Great food is simply great - and simple.

If you're a show off with a tick list of destination establishments to work through, chances are it will leave you cold. Go to the hardwick (joke)

If however you just want a really good quality, low key, relaxed family meal then you'll be delighted.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lLin-n-Tan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court Restaurant, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for sending such a great revue..........one which seems to describe the experience of exactly what we try to give our guests. Our great food is prepared by good chefs, not chemists- who take a pride in serving fresh local produce which appeals to our customers. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent country hotel in lovely location”
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Went with friends for a weekend. This is a charming hotel with excellent service headed by a genial mine host! Good choice of reasonably priced wines.

If you want state of the art plumbing etc perhaps not for you but if you want spacious rooms backed by good service and a VERY good restaurant then well worth a try!

Quiet location a few miles from Ross on Wye and a good jumping off point for the many attractions. Our weekend included the wonderful gardens at Hampton Court (if you want to go in the castle too ring in advance to check if open), Hereford Cathedral and the Mappa Mundi and chained library and Symonds Yat with the peregrine falcons.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LesStaffordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to send a review; i am so glad that you enjoyed your time here with us and explored this beautiful area. As to the plumbing.........I suppose this could be put down to the age of the building, at some 300 years old we too would have some problems I feel! Many thanks again. kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset england
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“What a little gem”
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just picked this restaurant from the Internet, we had booked a cottage for the Jubilee weekend close by & were looking for a nice meal for the eight of us. We arrived & had a very warm welcome by both the host and by the dog, we were shown into the bar where our drinks order was taken, menu's given out and we were left to make our choices from a very extensive menu, the choice was hard as there was lots to choose from and everything was available.... Drinks were served and orders taken, we were not hurried or rushed we were given tasters to enjoy while we waited & then asked if we were ready to proceed to the dinning room where we had a brilliant table it was a round table and seated the eight of us perfectly... Other restarants pay heed ........when you have eight or so you want to sit around NOT in a long line where you can only talk to the person next to you and can't hear much conversation except what is being said right next to you.
We certainly were not disappointed the service was second to none the food was fantastic the presentation was tasteful and we were left in peace between courses. The veggies were cooked superbly & freshly prepared, beetroot served with horseradish creme fraise, roast potatoes that were crunchy and crispy, home cooked chips & salad, we could not manage any pud but I had glanced across at another table and the cheese platter looked very interesting.Before I booked I didn't realise that they also did b&b so am definitely going to return for a weekend stay & book the restaurant again, as the grounds and surroundings looked interesting. Thank you so much for a lovely evening very much enjoyed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lakeside71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court Restaurant, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thankyou so much for your excellent review; we agree whole heartedly with your comment about round tables- we have found many times ourselves seated on a long table which invariably reduces the extent of conversation. Benjii , the cocker spaniel treats his` meet and greet `duties very seriously since we rescued him some 2 years ago and has become a much loved member of our team. I am so glad that you enjoyed your time here and hopefully we will welcome you again, kind regards Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glewstone Court Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Peterstow, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Glewstone Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing