We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curate's Egg - good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Curate's Egg - good in parts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2010

Good location, great car parking, very friendly reception staff, comfotable bed, crisp clean linen, spacious room. Good bar with views. Generous options of breakfast bakery etc.

Shabby, dreary view from small window, wallpaper peeling in places, armchair threadbare and greasy, gloomy breafast room, impatient & unfriendly breakfast waiter, toast arrived 10 mins before rest of breakfast so was cold and leathery when eaten, no vegetarian alternatives to meat - not even offer of doubling up egg / tomato etc.

We had a late booking reduction so was OK- glad we didn't pay full price.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovelygirltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    382
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
122
657
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

The Royal should be a lovely hotel. The location is perfect , right in the centre of Ross On Wye with free parking on site, nicely decorated, comfortable rooms and very helpful staff. The bar is really nice with huge windows and amazing views over the river but there were a few things that meant our stay here wasn't as great as we would have hoped. On our second night we were enjoying a glass of wine in the bar and choosing what to eat from the menu when we were told we had to vacate our table as the bar was fully booked with diners and there wasn't anywhere to sit just to have a drink. We had wanted to eat in the hotel but instead felt we were being kicked out, I know we probably should have booked but we didn't think it would be necessary in the bar on a Wednesday night. Breakfast was good but the service was a bit hit and miss, we had to wait for a table to be cleared for us, then wait another 10 minutes for a cup of fairly nasty coffee. The main problem for me however was the erratic water supply and a shower that just stopped flowing after a few minutes and started again after a five minute wait, not much fun first thing in the morning. We may just have been unlucky but I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ali3240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laytonsville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

This is my second visit to The Royal (2009 and 2010) from U.S.A. and probably not my last. As they say in real estate "location, location, and location." The Royal excels in all three areas! Also friendly staff, very good value and great food.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bill22005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2010

Very polite chap at reception - offered to move his car so that I could park(he was near the end of his shift).
Really impressive room - Huge,well furnished and with amazing views down the Wye valley(Not all rooms were like this apparently)
Ate locally - returned 11.00pm.No water in tap or bath or toilet!!!No one around.Had enough water in the car to brush my teeth with.Water still not on at 6.30 - eventually found someone who said 'Oh sorry about that I'll turn the water on!!'.Back to my room turned on the cold water tap - huge hissing and hammer before brown water exploded out.This eventually cleared but I didn't risk brushing my teeth in it.
Breakfast was in a gloomy room with gloomy staff - bacon was nice though.
Lovely setting and with huge potential but...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

only a two night stay and as it was a special radio times offer two nights for two B&B for £99.00 arrived with quite low expectations. What a surprise large room with fantastic views, clean and comfortable, excellanr breakfast and friendly staff. Will mosty definatly return

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank longleaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicestershire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2010

Having stayed at a number of hotels in the group and had mixed results you are never sure what you are going to get. At the Royal we got excellent staff, good food and a lovely room, number 1.
The views from the bar are stunning across the valley and could have spent hours just sitting there.
Only one slight fault with the room. As we were end of the line on the hot water pipe it took about five minutes of running it before any shower water came through.

Will deffinately return

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have just got back from 6 nights at the Royal Hotel. We go to the hotel every year, and have done so for many years. We had a large bedroom, with a sofa. We find the staff very helpful and friendly. The breakfasts, are good, and are available in the bar until 12 noon. We found the breakfast room busy at 9am, but quiet at 8.15am and 9.30am.
We have alway been able to get parked at the hotel, reception gives a voucher for the car window. But locals can also use it, as there is now a ticket machine on site.
There are a lot of good walks down by the riverside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachesDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing