We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
$139
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$108
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$62
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,203)
Filter reviews
1,203 results
Traveler rating
562
431
132
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
431
132
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictlovely viewcar parkboth nightswithout exceptiontown centreweekend breaksurrounding countryside
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,125 - 1,130 of 1,203 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for one night in May after booking the day before on their website for £50 b&b. We found the rooms to be clean and spacious with an excellent view of the river and castle below. The afternoon meal in the bar was excellent where there was a good atmosphere and also the breakfast was lovely too. Ross itself is a lovely area especially the pubs on the river and we'd stay in this hotel again when we return.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeelMaesteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

the rooms and bar had views of the wye , brecon beacons and black hills
there was an adjoining garden /picnic area also with even better views
and another park further on through an arch in a wall leading to a beacon
when we were going back to the room for our bags after breakfast before checking out the cleaner said goodbye as though we had been there for a week not a night , which made us want to return
the parking area was very attractive in itself in the shadow of a medieval church within an old stable yard , the building s of which were tastefully restored , easy access / exits were through two charming arches
across the road were the old red sandstone walls of wilton castle
you dont even have to open the door to enter /exit whilst lugging your suitcases as its automatic
the breakfast times were very relaxed from 8 til 12 so no early rising if thats not your scene
the hotel is within a stones throw from the centre but yet had a rural atmosphere
the room had a sash window if you like fresh air but might not suit a family with small children

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pendlelad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Had a very enjoyable three-night stay here in May - had called for a drink before but never stayed there and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel can't have been full because we received a room upgrade without asking and at no extra charge, and the food throughout our stay was wonderful. Plenty of choice, and refreshingly the size of the portions wasn't sacrificed on the alter of presentation, as in so may other places......the hotel staff were polite, friendly and helpful too. All in all, for the price we paid, I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sd-1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Having read the previous reviews, especially those using their Clubcard vouchers, we were prepared for the worst ... but were pleasantly surprised. OK, if we'd booked direct with the hotel online our 4 night stay would have cost £220 but they wanted £95 worth of vouchers, for which you should receive 4 times face value - so £380 if you're being picky. We decided to take the view it had cost £95 (or nothing actually!). Anyway, back to our stay: All the staff were really friendly, efficient & helpful throughout - from the reception, to the bar, to the ladies who looked after our room. The setting is lovely & the location excellent for both the town & for walking.The balcony alongside the bar/restaurant works wonderfully, with views to die for. Breakfast was excellent - and again the service was spot on. Our room overlooked the river with views beyond. Having not seen any other room I can't comment on whether ours was second best but it was certainly better than OK - it was a decent size, the bed comfy, the bathroom very clean & had a decent powerful shower over the bath. Towels were good quality & changed daily & there was even an iron & ironing board in the room. The only things missing were a radio & a clock. One small gripe: a box to drop your room key in would be more secure than just leaving it on Reception - the staff are sometimes out of view & we found our key still there some 5 minutes after we'd left it. Thankfully it was us who picked it up rather than someone else. All in all though we had a really pleasant stay & would not hesitate to recommend this hotel - whether using Clubcard vouchers or not. We have stayed at hotels charging far more than this one & which were no where near as good so we came away happy bunnies!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

We stayed at the Royal Hotel in Ross for 2 nights in May 2010. The staff at reception on arrival were helpful and pleasant. Our room was spacious, clean and had a view of the river. The breakfast menu was superb and everything was cooked to order. There is a nice restaurant with a vast array of meals and snacks although it would be wise to book. The location of the hotel is great, high on a hill and only a couple of minutes walk from the centre of Ross and the river.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathym84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews