We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,379)
Filter reviews
1,379 results
Traveler rating
657
489
151
49
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
657
489
151
49
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews old english inns the river small balcony superior room wye valley lovely hotel bar area no lift great position eggs benedict lovely view town centre car park kippers weekend break without exception both nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,379 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2019

We've stayed in quite a few Old English Inn hotels and we like them because they have atmosphere and are often a bit quirky, not like a Travelodge or Premier Inn, and the Daily Mail offers are really good value.
Our room at the Royal was indeed quirky - room 8. As you went through the door there were two steps down to the bedroom, then four or five steps up to the bathroom. It was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable, although not very large - the smallest double bed I've ever seen! Good job we are both slim, some people would struggle! The window overlooked the nearby tower, and we could see the river in the distance.
The breakfasts at these establishments are always good, and this was no exception. My husband likes a full English, and I enjoy the selection of fruit, cereals and pastries/muffins.
We ate in the hotel on Sunday night, having eaten at a nearby Italian on the Saturday. In the main it was good, the only exception being the Hunter's chicken. It did not taste like chicken, in fact it was completely tasteless, and the texture spongy, more like some kind of meat substitute. I didn't complain as I assume it's bought in like that, I just would never choose it again. My husband's chilli was good, and our dessert of Chocolate Ice Cream sundae was divine.
The staff were all very helpful, although I agree with other reviewers that the kitchen seemed understaffed as we had to ask how much longer our starter would be, and we noticed a couple on a nearby table waiting a very long time.
Our only real moan was the TV in our room. At first we had trouble with the remote control, but that was sorted out by a young lady from Housekeeping. Then on Sunday night we had no volume at all on our TV - a little annoying as there was something we wanted to watch, but we managed to get it on our iPad. Strangely when we turned it on next morning the volume was back. We mentioned it at Reception on leaving so hopefully the TV will be sorted out for the next occupants.
All in all, we enjoyed our weekend and the area is beautiful, we were also lucky with the weather. We would definitely go back.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Dear Guest
It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your overall stay and were happy with your room, location and our great breakfast offering. The character and uniqueness of the Greeneking Inns is a great plus with guests loving the quirkiness of the rooms & buildings overall. Ours is like a maze! The Sunday was extremely busy with the sun making an appearance and we were aware that food delivery was slower than usual due to increased volumes. Thank you for your patience. We have double checked the remote for room 8 and all seems in order with the volume.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Many thanks
Sally & Matthew.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

Wonderful weekend away exploring the area around Ross and tge joys of Herefird csthederal. This is a great base to explore Englands forgotten county. Service was always attentive and courteous. The rooms were comfortable and large, room 24 where are friends stayed had supeeb views ovee the Wye and the town of Ross.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review. We are very lucky location wise benefitting from a wealth of activities close to hand. Really pleased that you felt well looked after by the team and hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

It was such a pleasant surprise to experience a lovely old genuine coaching inn being so well populated. It positively buzzed with excitement. We stayed overnight in an excellently appointed room overlooking the river. It was spotless and comfortable. The staff were all cheerful, helpful, and respectful, despite being extremely busy and stretched. Obviously well-trained and well-led. I've used a lot of "wells" here - but "well done", Royal Hotel, and all for a reasonable price.

Room tip: The balcony rooms are quiet, with good views. The older rooms have more character.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PEPANJAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are thrilled that you loved your time with us and found the team so welcoming. We certainly experienced a very busy weekend and to know that we still provided a great experience is very encouraging. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2019

We stayed at the beginning of March for a our first wedding anniversary. We were so glad we did: everything about our stay was great from start to finish. Friendly staff, comfortable bed, super-clean bathroom, great food, buzzing atmosphere, what more do you need? Thoroughly recommended.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Jan
Wow! Thank you for your fantastic feed back, The team here strive to make every guests stay as welcoming and as memorable as possible. Thank you for reccommending us so highly.
Sally & Matthew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2019

One night break to visit the Chase gin distillery a few miles away and to catch up with some friends.
Fantastic room with stunning views. All team members that we encountered were helpful and friendly. Lunch and breakfast were tasty with plenty of choice and nicely presented. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2019
Thank Islagirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for this lovely review. We are really happy that you enjoyed your visit. I will pass on your feedback to all the team.
Looking forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Sally & Matt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews