We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Valentine Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Valentine Treat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

My partner and I stayed at The Royal Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed the special Valentine Menus on two evenings. We had three breakfasts and two evening meals.The view was magnificent. The hotel is in the centre and did not need the car to walk through the narrow street and alongside the river. Staff were extremely kind and helpful. The room was not elegant and neither was the bathroom but clean. We shall stay there again next time we go or pass by Ross.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minoucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review. I agree.....our views are hard to beat and our central location to the town is a real bonus. Please visit us after our refurbishment to see our newly decorated rooms....we cannot wait!
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    383
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
122
658
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The room was clean and warm and well-equipped. We had one evening meal here and 2 breakfasts. Food was very good but portions a little on the small side for our healthy appetites ;0) Our dog was made welcome too - (this was our main reason for choosing the hotel). Excellent place and handily located too.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillybilly444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Guest
We are so glad that you all enjoyed your stay with us here at the Royal. Please come back soon and visit us again.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel having spent 3 nights there, as with all the Old English Inns great value, welcoming, friendly staff and a great place to stay, as it is in the town no need for the car.
We ate there all 3 nights, plenty of choice and the fish and chips could be eaten every night , prices are good too. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bizzilizzi53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your lovely review following your recent stay with us. It is good to hear that you felt we ticked all the boxes on quality, variety and value for money. We hope that our upcoming refurbishment will mean that guests feel our offer will be worth the magic five stars going forward.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
155 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

We returned to our favourite town and hotel for a weekend "chill out" and that is what we had again. We know the hotel needs a refurb and that starts in April so for the price we paid it was great value. We were warmly welcomed by Brian at reception and off we went to our room ( 21 ). This was a twin room and does need some tlc but it was warm and comfy beds. The staff were all excellent as usual and always had a word for you. They all worked hard to make our stay excellent but I must point out Brian who remembered me from previous visits and he always seemed to be on duty! We did not eat at the royal this time as fish and chips were not available on the Saturday evening but the breakfast was as good as always. We can not wait to return after the refurb it is a great hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Try to avoid room 21 if you want a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest
We are so glad to know that you left the Royal relaxed, happy and already looking forward to a return visit following your recent stay with us. The team here do strive to create a great atmosphere and Bryan is always willing to go that extra mile for everyone. He is a great role model! Glad that our breakfast went down a treat too....what better way to start the day?
Many thanks
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seven Sisters, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

My husband and I visited the hotel for 2 nights. We stayed in room 15 which was a huge room that had beautiful views over the river Wye. Although the hotel is a little tired looking it still had a lovely ambience about it. We had a lovely meal on the second evening of our stay in the bar area which had an open fire which made it very cosy and had a nice buzz. All the staff were very friendly in all areas, a tasty breakfast and will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If your are visiting an hotel which has good views, it's worth asking when you book for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 15 is a definite favourite with guests as the views are amazing! Its great to hear that you were happy with the service from the team as well as dinner and breakfast. Hopefully when you return again we will be all sparkling after the refurbishment which will be the icing on the cake!
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were spacious and roomy. This hotel is in need of a radical complete overhaul, beds were clean as were the bath towels, which to us is a very important "MUST" wherever we stay. The paintwork and wallpaper looked as if it had been there since the hotel first opened! carpet was threadbare in places, furniture was old and dated. The curtains in the bathroom were grey with dust I felt like taking them down and giving them soak in hot water and soap. We booked a table in the restaurant on the first evening, food on the menu was very basic for a hotel of the advertised standard, but it was edible, certainly did not eat there after the first night. Found the breakfast service was not up to standard, we sat there for 20 mins feeling as we were invisible as no one had taken our order, in the end we had to call the waiter over for service, very disappointing. Certainly will not be returning to this hotel, and definitely would not recommend it to any of our friends.

Room Tip: don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent review of the Royal, Ross On Wye. We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. Your experience at breakfast was certainly not our usual standard of guest service and the team send their apologies.We are aware that the building and rooms require a lot of attention and the planned refurbishment at the end of April will hopefully address all the issues you mentioned. When we re open we are also looking to introduce a separate restaurant menu and to focus on chefs specials, which we feel we raise the current menu offering.
We are glad that your found the team friendly and were happy with the cleanliness of the rooms, which I agree are lovely and spacious. I would love for you to contact the hotel about the issues raised as we would love for you to stay with us again post refurbishment.
Sally & Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a lovely, old-fashioned hotel in a great location overlooking the meandering Wye river. The room was very spacious, warm and clean and the bed comfortable, food and drinks very good value and a very nice choice of tasty cooked breakfast.
It very obviously needs new paint and carpets and these won't be cheap, it's a large building with some grand features and I want to end on a positive because it's deserved. The staff were friendly and helpful and genuinely cared that I had had a good stay / meals etc. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Franchisor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Guest
We so agree with your review and we cannot wait for the Royal to receive the TLC it deserves. It will be our aim to turn good into great post refurbishment. Please come back once we have re opened. We look forward to welcoming you soon.
Sally & Matthew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing