We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal hotel Ross on Wye”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Harlow, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Royal hotel Ross on Wye”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The location of hotel was first class and the staff too were very efficient . We were part of a party of 8 and all had breakfast and evening meals in the hotel. We had a twin rom that was very comfortable but needed refurbishing and the view from bedroom window was a fire escape and brick wall so I would try to avoid room 21 if returning to hotel. The rest of our party had fantastic views from their rooms and we all had a fab weekend. Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Room 21 looks out onto fire escape and not a scenic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for submitting your review of your stay with us. The Royal does have spectacular views of the surrounding areas which can be enjoyed our bar area. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment at the start of the new year so hopefully next time we see you the hotel will be shining like a new penny.
Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    396
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
125
673
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just got back from the Royal on Sunday 20th October 13. If people are expecting 5 star treatment then you really must pay 5 star prices!! This hotel is great value and (free parking) the staff bend over backwards to accomodate you. They work so hard and allways have a smile on their face...even after only 5 hours sleep between shifts. Food great value, varied menu and really hot and was delivered very quickly (group of eight of us) Rooms with a view are spectacular and very comfortable. During the cold snaps there was a lovely log fire burning in the Terrace Bar so that did make you feel really cosy. Michelle who is the Assistant Manager really went the extra mile to make you feel welcome. We'd definately go back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Royal. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, our Superior rooms and doubles with view do offer fantastic views of the Wye Valley. The views can be enjoyed from the Riverview Bar where our roaring log fire is lit daily now the weather has turned. I will pass on your kind words concerning the smiling staff, they are happy in their jobs which I think shines through! I do hope we see you again soon,

kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The hotel is a little tired but spotlessly clean and the staff should be complimented. Very friendly and willing to help. Stayed in a superior room and the bed was one of the most comfortable we have ever had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff work very hard to make sure our customers are well looked after and I will happily pass on your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOUTH COAST
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

This could be a lovely hotel in a great location , but it is very run down and need a lot spent on to bring it up to the standard it should be . Only had breakfast there , we eat in town on both nights .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southcoast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal ... The whole hotel is going to go through a full refurbishment in January and we cannot wait. as this will take the site to where it should be!

We look forward to seeing you after the work is done.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

the outside of hotel has been redecorated fairly recently. the staff and the food could not be better but the inner décor is in dire need of refreshing the first room we were given was so bad we asked for another and we were given a free up grade but even that was so dated that it never seamed clean to look at but it was very clean We had decide if we could not have another room we would have gladly gone to another hotel even if we had to pay for the room having said that it was very relaxing and friendly atmosphere the staff know the meaning of the
words customer service

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinnott49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I cannot help but feel proud of my team after reading this comment! As I have mentioned a few times we are aware that the building is in need of work and this is being completed in January. However in the short term we try and make sure the experience you get is as close to perfect as it can be given buildings age... this is amazing to hear that we are doing all we can for the guest and it is not going un noticed.

Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you after the re furb (hopefully get that extra star)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Beautifully appointed old hotel set up on a hill with very nice views. Lovely grounds. Dinner was very good and wait staff was very friendly. Had a wonderful nights sleep in a very clean and comfortable room. Breakfast was great and wait staff was again very friendly and accommodating (ran out of croissants and we asked for more and got them). Well worth a stay. Ample parking in the rear.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us and again it is nice to see that the teams efforts do not go un-noticed.

Kind regard and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piltown, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is a nice old hotel, very good staff, nice food, we had a meal the night we stayed, in a very nice location. It could do with a lick of paint here and their and the heating wasn't working. Breakfast was good and plenty of choice. very good value for money and I would stay here again. 7/10

Room Tip: if you want a modern hotel then this won't suit you. like I said this is an old hotel with plent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank secared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
I am glad that the service you received was good enough for you to come onto trip advisor. The other areas of the hotel that look old will be getting refreshed and some completely changed in the refurbishment in January. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
377 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
541 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
454 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing