We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but awful service and food a long way from its name!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Wincanton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Friendly staff but awful service and food a long way from its name!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent 4 nights here with my wife, 11 and 13 year old in two separate rooms. First thing to say is no lift in the hotel so beware if this may be an issue. The Royal is a long way from its splendour of days gone by. The staff were friendly and generally helpful. The rooms large with comfy beds. No telephone in the rooms, shower falling apart and no vanity unit or shelving in the bathroom. It was clean on arrival but our room was not dusted or properly cleaned the entire 4 days. However our main issue was in the restaurant for breakfast. Each day it was full of used tables not cleared meaning they had to "cobble"together crockery from the used table to free one, left dirty, not wiped over etc. The food was bland, the juices not topped up service slow and poor most of the time. The coffee was cold and weak on 3 of 4 days and i can honestly say i would advise against this hotel until the owners and managers stop cutting so many corners and get back to basics normally found in a Grand old hotel!

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid the outside fire escape providing a perfect back way into your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinBuk41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit with us.

I am glad the service from the team was good for you and we are due a full re furb which will address the issues with the bedrooms.

I must apologies for the service you received on breakfast and put 2 of the days down to situations that came about that were outside of our control! I have gone through a hiring process and assigned a breakfast supervisor and changed the service style based on your comments, so I must thank you for bringing it to my attention.

If you would like to discuss your stay in more detail please feel free to call me on 01989 `565105
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    509
    401
    127
    44
    32
See reviews for
130
684
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We arrived with 11 cars and were welcomed by the staff and allocated rooms which were large and comfortable. The bathroom again was large enough and had all expected facilities.
Food was superb and the service was delightful with the staff becoming friends with the customers whilst maintaining professionalism. We had a Saturday dinner for 22 and the food arrived on time, was hot and well cooked.
I cant understand any reviews that are negative for this hotel and it is worth noting that the Royal has nearly twice the reviews of the other Hotels in Ross!
Good job well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank raven13500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for fighting our corner a little here Sir,

We do work hard to deliver excellent customer service to all that come through the door, I must say a 22 on the same day as a wedding was a challenge for us :-) but we are glad you enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had out wedding at the hotel, from start to finish the whole day was just perfect. The staff, all of them without exception were just brilliant!!! Nothing was too much trouble and even though they were obviously extremely busy they still made sure everything was taken care of. Whilst serving 50 people with a delicious three course dinner they still found time to cook my son something different and provide him with ketchup! Room was lovely as well, all of it was just great! Highly recommend this hotel and the brilliant staff! :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hhowells5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much and we are glad we helped your special day run smoothly!

The team work hard to deliver customer service to all and we are so happy we managed to impress you enough that you came onto trip advisor!

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepton mallet
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were enjoying a lovely long weekend, had a lovely trip up the river Wye, went to watch the birds at Symands Yat, visited a castle or two.Took lots of photo's. We decided to eat in the hotel restaurant again as we had had very good food and service on the previous evenings. The staff were very nice and always helpful. We got back to our room (we were only gone for just over an hour) to find that our room had been entered and several things had been stolen, money, mobile phones, jewellery, sat-nav (we thought it would be safer than leaving it in the car) and our camera with all our lovely memories of our visit, even my medication was taken! The staff were very good and quickly informed the police. We had a VERY POOR response from Old English Inn's, so will not be using them again! A very special holiday was ruined.

Room Tip: We up graded to a superior room, it was still a bit tired and shabby, but the view was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
The majority of our rooms have beautiful views of the river and valleys around Ross-On-Wye. These views can also be enjoyed from our Riverview Bar, which has roaring logs fires in this cold weather. Issues raised will be dealt with in our refurbishment in 2014. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are always grateful for feedback.
Thank you for taking the time to review us, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talbot Green, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ate her with our teenage grandchildren last week. We ate in the bar with a table overlooking the Wye. The food was excellent and the service mainly good. One member of staff was messing around quite a bit and it took the edge off them being excellent. That said there is a fine balance between being friendly and funny and being stuffy. He didn't quite get he balance right but it wouldn't stop me returning.

We has drinks, as well as 2 courses each and we believe that the cost was competitive. I will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grandadChepstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, General Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review.

I am glad you enjoyed the food and the view. The Gent in question that served you have a genuine passion for service but I have had a word in his ear to make sure he does not over step any boundaries, so thank you for your comments.

Many thanks for taking the time to review us again!

Joe Venton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Located at the top of the hill, this hotel has plenty of local history. Unfortunately you'll have to ask the staff for info as its not always readily available. A beautiful view from the bar terrace and the staff are friendly and eager to help with anything you need. I booked a superior room on the recommendation of TA reviews. The room was spacious and overlooked the garden. It was clean, with character furniture (although slightly damaged with age). The room had high ceilings and gorgeous feature windows. The only down side to the room was the bathroom. Whilst fitted with all mod cons the bathrooms shape didn't really lend itself to luxury, being a long corridor with shower tucked behind the door, separated bath in the middle of the length and basic and toilet placed at the end under a small window. We didn't use the resistant other thank for breakfast, which was delightful and a big plus was that breakfast continues to be served in the bar if you over sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Royal and I am so happy you enjoyed yourself. I will pass your comments onto the team. We are due for a full refurbishment in January so you must come back and enjoy the new improved Royal at Ross On Wye.

Thanks Again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Staff were great having to maintain a good standard in a very tired establishment. It would take a huge investment to raise this Hotel to the standard the location deserves. I would recommend it nevertheless purely for value for money in that location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmac44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words, we are due to have a million pounds spent on the hotel in the early part of the New Year. The hotel is ideally situated along the River Wye to afford us some of the best views in the area, which can be best enjoyed from our Riverside Bar and Terrace. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

Michelle Coutts
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
471 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
202 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing