We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jaded but lovely” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Hadleigh, Suffolk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Jaded but lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights.
The location is excellent, high above the River Wye yet handy for the town, but the poor old place is badly in need of an upgrade, especially the rooms and carpets.
Lovely staff, everyone from the reception to the cleaners, made all the difference, so much so that the tired decor didn't seem to matter too much.
Good breakfast choices and a very good two or three course 'meal-deal' for lunch or dinner.
All-in-all good value for money.

Room Tip: Suggest you ask for room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review on your stay at the Royal in Ross-on-Wye. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and the fantastic views over the river Wye. I am sure my team would have mentioned to you whilst you were staying, that we are undergoing a major refurbishment at the end of this year - we are all excited and can not wait. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,052 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    378
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
121
649
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Superb position with great views across the River Wye from the bar and a few pricey rooms. Most of the Hotel is urgently in need of refurbishment possibly costing £1 million plus to sort out, that's how much work is required. Nice restaurant serving good breakfast with plenty of choice, other meals average. Nice friendly helpful staff. Bathroom toiletries would have been a nice touch if they had been supplied.
Could be a good choice of Hotel after refurbishment.

Room Tip: Choose rooms facing river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I would like to thank your for your review on your stay at the Royal. I am pleased to inform you that we have plans to spend excess of £1.2M on the refurbishment later this year. This will make the Hotel even more attractive. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location and views from the room across the Wye river. Spoilt however by poor service at dinner. (one waitress for a full hotel). Food was good but the wine menu was very poor. Cheap wines at a not so cheap price. All wine stored in wine fridge at 4 deg, so red was far too cold. Sent bottle of horrible red back but still made to pay. Breakfast was good, but newspaper would have been better delivered to the room instead of collecting it at breakfast. Meal receipt was not itemised so could not determine if it was correct or not. Staff seem to be caught out by an excess of guests but this should not be an excuse.

Room Tip: Superior double room overlooks fantastic view. Nice and quiet. No lift so second floor rooms can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I would like to thank you for your comments following your stay with us at the Royal. We always recommend that guests taste to wine to see if it is to their taste, so we can ensure guests enjoy their purchase. All receipts are itemised until they are transferred to the Hotel room bill, but these can always be reprinted for any guest. With reference to delivering papers to the rooms, this would take over 45 minutes for a team member to do this - leaving reception un attended. Also papers left outside of guests rooms do get taken by other guests, so as breakfast is included in our prices we believe it gives one focus point to collect your daily paper. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Found this lovely hotel by chance. Stayed for one night on the way to Wales. Very welcoming at reception. Helped us carry heavy suitcases up 2 flights of stair. Spacious, comfortable room. Lovely view over the valley. Tea and coffee making provided, hair dryer, flat screen tv, free wifi, plenty of parking, large ensuite but not much room for toiletries. Bed was comfortable. Ate in the restaurant. Food was ordinary, but drinks were cheap and view was great. Breakfast was cooked to order and plentiful. Good service.
Would recommend and happily stay here again. 

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rgjde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at The Royal, in early May, for a 3 night stay.This hotel is in a great position at the top of the town. We were made very welcome by all the staff. Our room was extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean, with beautiful views overlooking the River Wye. All our meals
and service in the restaurant were excellent.
On checking out we spoke to the manager, Peter Elder, to thank him for a lovely stay and the
service recieved from the staff under his leadership.
We are looking forward to returning for another visit soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review on your stay with us at the Royal. Thank you for the lovely comments about the team and my leadership. We all look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Had a nice overnight stop here on the 2nd May. Admittedly the place could do with a bit of refurb but then the price would rise accordingly I think. The superior double room was in a great position overlooking the River (Wye) just to the side of the main hotel. Breakfast was good 7 while 10, if I remember rightly, with the advantage of, if you prefer a late breakfast can be taken in the main bar area till midday.

Room Tip: Looking towards the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flup2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
I would like to thank you for your review on your stay at the Royal. I am please to see you enjoyed you stay, we are refurbishing later this year, this is reflected in our reduced rates at present. once refurbished we will be moving our rates back to the normal level - not increasing on the previous core rate. Breakfast is available to none residents at a very reasonable price. kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at The Royal on a two night bargain break ( 2 nights B&B for 2 people for £99 ). The hotel was easy to find, being at the highest point in Ross. The setting, with gardens overlooking the river Wye, is great and the hotel is quite imposing from the outside but would benefit from some hanging baskets or planters at the front to brighten it up. We managed to park on site on both days, but parking is a bit limited and tight, if you are driving a big 4WD forget it !
We received a warm welcome from the receptionist and found our room easily thanks to very clear directions. The place is like a rabbit warren as there have been several additional wings added over the years.
We stayed in room 10 ( Jacob Nubble ), many of the room are named after Dickens characters due to the association of Dickens with the hotel. The room is on its own up a very steep winding staircase, so if you are less than agile probably best to check that you don't get this room. The room itself was a good size with a decent sized en-suite. On the plus side the bed was a superking and very comfortable with nice linen and the tea/coffee facilities generous ( as they always are in Old English Inns hotels ). On the negative side, the rest of the furniture was tired and not in keeping with the age of the hotel ( early Victorian ). The paintwork was chipped and could have done with a good clean and although generally clean the room had a few dusty corners !! The en-suite was clean, but again tired, and there was no toilet brush.

Breakfast on both mornings was good and the evening bar meals were OK but not up to the same standard as those we had a few weeks earlier at The Bull at Long Melford which is part of the same hotel group ( Greene King - Old English Inns ).Having said that, the service at both breakfast and in the bar was first class and the staff were friendly.

The whole hotel interior including the conference suite was looking very tired and the paintwork was very badly chipped. We happened to meet the manager as we were checking out and he was well aware of the state of the décor etc. He told us that the hotel is to have a complete refit in January 2014 and that they are already working on the plans.

Despite the negative points we enjoyed our stay, it was good value for money and the staff were lovely. We will return to The Royal, maybe even before the refit, but, certainly after the work has been done, as both the setting in the town and its location for visiting other places of interest are excellent.

Room Tip: Check location of room when booking if you have difficulty with stairs, as there is no lift and stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoff k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
I am pleased to see you had a good break at the Royal. Parking is limited at the Royal 36 spaces. but we do have additional parking available just outside the Hotel, this gives 2 hours free and free from 6pm to 9am with an additional 2 hours fro free after 9am (So you can park from 4pm to 11am for free). The views from the Hotel are the best views in Ross and worth a visit. I will pass on your kind remarks about the service to all the team. Kind regards peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing