We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, a pleasant stay”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great value, a pleasant stay”
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We stayed at the Royal for a wedding, and took our one year old baby with us. We were a bit apprehensive about having him in a hotel for the first time, but we needn't have worried.

We were given a family room (30), and unlike the reviewer below who stayed in 31, it was very nice. The room was huge and spacious, with plenty of room for a double and a single bed, plus a large sofa and armchair. Although it wasn't particularly modern, it was clean and well maintained.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, and the public areas of the hotel were very pleasant, especially the recently refurbished bar, with a terrace overlooking the Wye valley. At £2.25 a pint for real ales, it was pretty good value too!

Overall, the Royal isn't hugely luxurious, and it isn't modern, but it is friendly, comfortable and good value. I'd certainly go back for a family trip, and wouldn't object if I got put in here for business.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — No lift!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SmithBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    399
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
126
678
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2008

I stayed in The Royal for a business meeting and this was my second time staying there. On both occasions I found the staff to be rude and unfriendly. The rooms are pokey, dirty and in need of redecorating. The bar is a nice place to sit and have drink but this is the only nice part of the hotel.
On my second stay I was put into a single room (a really tiny room) which had a window quite literally 1ft x 1ft with iron bars going across. The bed seemed to be smaller than an average single bed due to the size of the room. Are rooms this size not illegal? If there was a fire one would not get out. A prison cell would have more luxuries than this room, and it would be bigger.
I would not return to this hotel for anything - it is an absolute dive and places like this should be closed down.

  • Liked — Nothing really, the bar was nice.
  • Disliked — Everything!
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank La_Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coventry
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Stayed at the royal hotel for a 3 night break between xmas and the new year got a great deal from old english inns.
hotel had spotless clean rooms very nice.
break fast was lovevly freshly cooked not dried up buffet rubbish
had full english first day haddock 2nd day and kippers 3rd day all
excellent.
the evening meals were also very nice.
Would highly recomend this hotel good parking .
and great location in centre of ross on wye.
will be using old english inns again.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank covcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

My husband and I stayed at The Royal with our 1 year old and had a great time. We had a feature room which was beautiful, very spacious and had fantastic views. I would definitely recommend staying in a feature room (we got a great deal through old english inns).
We ate in the restaurant a couple of times. Lunch took ages to be served and was okay but we had a delicious dinner one evening.
This was a great place to stay in the winter.. after a long walk (Symonds Yat is a great place to explore) the hotel bar with its log fire and mulled wine was so welcoming and cosy.
The drawbacks if you are taking young children is there is no lift or baby change facilities so we had to either go up to the room to change our son (which we didn't mind) or use the floor in the disabled toilet. Not so nice.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank LSRuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2007

We stayed here for a weekend and had a wonderful two days. The room was fantastic - great views to the river, well furnished and great colour scheme. But what really made the weekend was the fantastic attitude of the staff from the manager to the cleaner of the room. All were extremely helpful and cheerful. We had a slight problem with the door - it was fixed straight away - we asked for lots of decaf and milk and when we returned, there it was. Would definitely recommend.

  • Liked — hotel staff and views/location
  • Disliked — lack of lift to second floor
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cleoSouthDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2007

We stayed in a family room no.31. Up 4 flights of stairs with no lift! It was disgusting. The bed was ancient and filthy. The base had stains all down it and the sheets did not cover it so we had to sleep on top under our own blankets. No bedspread either for the double so we had to look at the filth all day. The TV had been bashed in on the corner and the bathroom was 1970's decor & fittings with tiles fallen off revealing 1960's wallpaper underneath. The 1970's shower dribbled & it was impossible to wash properly. The room was gloomy due to inadequate lighting and I had to prop the mirror on magazines to be able to see in it. The childrens' room had a TV (indoor aerial so unwatchable) & the power lead was through a DIY extension reel into our room!
The breakfast was a disaster. The organisation was non-existent and not only was the food awful but actually inedible. We have never tasted sausages or bacon like it. We were given half a piece of toast each and the jams were the cheapest available. We left it and left the hotel!
The dining room at dinner was unbearably noisy as a large office group of about 26 dominated half of the room and the noise drowned out the background music and we couldn't hear each other talk. Shame because the food at dinner (which we paid for separately and was £90 for 4 incl. wine) was actually very nice.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2007

we booked a feature room on a very good deal through old engliush inns. When we were shown to room 15 it took my breath away. beautifully decorated, fantastic views. hugh bed and a massive flat screen tv. The whole hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff were fantastic and really looked after us. Breakfast we good and the dinner on the terrace well worth it . All in all a perfect weekend.

  • Liked — room 15 !
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank libailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
195 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing