We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous views,lovely staff”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed over the Easter weekend,it is literally minutes walk to the town centre.Our welcome was really friendly,we had a room in the coach house section of the hotel,it was quite a way from reception,up and down loads of stairs,so if you do come and stay,you need to mention if you have any mobility issues,I understand there are rooms available on the ground floor. Our room was bright and airy,though a bit creaky,but given the age of the place,it was understandable. The bed was soft and very comfy. There was a good quality hospitality tray,with biscuits and hot chocolate too. As with most hotel rooms,the lighting was a real let down,a large lamp,a table lamp and two bedside lights. The towels in the bathroom were large and soft,there was only one bottle of shampoo/showergel,as we had our own,this wasn't a problem.The room whilst being clean and comfy,could've done with a bit of TLC,paper was pealing from around the rasiator and the large comfy chair had seen better days.Some of the carpets had seen better days too.The public areas of the hotel were lovely,especailly the Riverview Bar,which did exactly what it said on the tin.We ate both nights in the restaurant and enjoyed both meals, as it is owned by a group it's menu reflects this,but it was well cooked. The breakfasts were also very good,offering the usual cooked option,as well as Eggs Benedict,Kippers,Omlettes and much more.There was also a good cold selection. We really enjoyed our stay here,also a bit of TLC needed,we would reccomend it to anyone.We spoke to the manager who took our comments on board.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give such a positive review on your stay with us at the Royal Hotel. The views from the bar area are the best you will find in Ross-on-Wye. I will pass on all your lovely comments to the team. we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Peter Elder General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I've started my review with It's between poor & average, what edged it toward average? the location.

The location is very good and if you ask for a room with a view the hotel overlooks the river and fields, great sunsets. The town is just minutes away and also the river a short walk. There was also good parking within the hotel grounds. The staff were also polite which is always a must.

We had room 24 which we were excitedly and unexpectedly upgraded to. The room itself is quite big and contained 2 chairs, wardrobes etc and plenty of drawer space. The room also had a large flat screen TV (dirty remote control, c'mon clean it) the room is also a bit tatty and very dirty in places (please see photos) I don’t think there is any excuse for a regular deep clean of any hotel room and this is one of the things that bought this hotel down.

Next was the lock on the door. Clearly this lock had been fitted by a not so skilled handy man and neither a lock smith nor carpenter was involved. The lock hardly engaged when closed, a little worrying (please see photos)

The breakfast was pretty standard fare. The cooked breakfast would have been cooked and kept warm which didn't lend itself to quality. There was cereal, toast and fruit etc. I enjoy good coffee but none was to be found.

On one of our days we got a drink from the bar, again I was going to have coffee but the machine was filthy, quite clearly not cleaned in some time which is unacceptable. We stuck with bottled drinks.

The hotel was OK, just. There are quite clearly massive improvements to be made and a fine tooth comb though each room wouldn't go a miss but I doubt that will happen. Would I stay there again, most certainly not.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank belbox09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoy your stay once again, and very much look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent two nights at The Royal on an offer and took a room upgrade for an extra £20 which was well worth it. We had a lovely big room with beautiful view of the river and good bathroom with lots of hot water. Yes, the furniture is a little tired but as I don't usually unpack my bag on a short stay I can't say I was that worried! Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits in the room, very comfortable bed and sofa in our room, TV with extensive channels. We ate in the hotel for our first night and thought it was very reasonably priced if a little sparing on the portions. Staff very friendly. The location in the middle of Ross is good, and several other good eating places nearby. We enjoyed an Indian meal in Zam Zam on our second night. We would go back and will look out for those Daily Mail offers ~ that sounds like a fabulous price!!

Room Tip: The room upgrade to have more room and a sofa to sit on for reading etc was worthwhile for us. We w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

I would like to thank you for reviewing your stay with us at the Royal Hotel. As mentioned it is worth getting an upgrade just for the views ! outstanding views across the River. Our new menu offers a wide choice of meals at very reasonable prices. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

A re-furb is definitely needed! The first room we were offered was really too small to be classed as a double, but the manager did change us to a much better and cleaner room.
The menu was a bit of a let-down, offering generally (but with one or two exceptions) what would be best described as "pub food", nothing wrong with that if you are staying in a pub. However, the food we did eat was good and cooked well. Unfortunately, on our first night, the roast of the day had sold out by 7.30pm. It would have helped if the waiter had told us this when he gave us the menu, rather than 10 minutes later. This was then compounded by our choice of wine being sold out!
On the second night, we fared a little better, our first choice of meals was available, but when we tried to order the same wine as the previous night (a Chablis) we were informed we had drunk the last bottle on the previous night.
Breakfasts were good, with extra beverages and toast on offer. All the staff were friendly and tried to help us to the best of their ability but they were constantly hampered by the lack of product. Our overall feeling was one of expectation levels dropping, only to be restored by the friendly helpful staff and well cooked food.
Word of advice for Greene King(the owners) - Your staff are your best assets, support them!

Room Tip: The newer wing has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in the Royal for 2 nights on a bargain offer of £9.95 pp,pn at the end of February.We had read reviews of the hotel before we went so knew that some refurbishment is needed but our room on the first floor had a great view overlooking the river and fields below which made up for the slightly shabby furnishings. The room was clean the bed comfortable and the bathroom adequate. We ate in both the bar and the restaurant and enjoyed all our meals. Breakfast in the restaurant (included in the price with the room) was self service for cereals,fruit and juices then waitress service for the hot food of which there was a great selection. Staff thoughout were frindly and helpful and we would certainly visit again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms 15,16,17,18 first floor overlook theWye
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Royal Hotel. I am pleased you took advantage of our offer for a room and breakfast for just £9.95 per person. I am very pleased my team looked after you and that you enjoyed both the food and drink. I am pleased to say the Royal will undergo a major refurbishment later this year. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed on 17th Feb 2013, due to an offer from the Daily mail.......was £9.95 pp, pn, hence the stay......including breakfast. The Hotel, is lovely, and is overlooking the river(depends which room you have). We had a huge room with bath/shower double bed, was clean and welcoming...breakfast was lovely and staff are all very very friendly. will be going back..........we had room 14 and would point out that the bath was slippy but they did provide a slip mat for you to use, towels and room clean everyday of our stay........It gives you chance to explore Ross on Wye as Hotel is located in the centre of it.........Enjoyable and very much good value for money.......we booked through Old English Inns,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylou2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

just had 2 lovelly nights at this hotel ,staff could not do enough for you,every one friendly and busy,hotel is a bit tired but for the price paid you can not complain ,river views over wye valley are worth paying out for on their own,nice town and area ,will be back ,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leighConisbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
431 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
513 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
619 reviews
5 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
528 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $110 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing