We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You get what you pay for. Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for. Not bad.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lets get this out the way first, this place is old which adds some lovely character but it was feeling tired in places. As a result it isn't going to feel fresh and modern. However, the carpets in the room looked really shabby and paintwork looked haggard. The cobwebs around the windows did finish off the look nicely. There was the usual "old room" smell but once the shower had been on it seemed to clear. Free wifi was very welcome though and location is spot on. Views over the Wye were great. Breakfast wasn't too bad, food was great but the table wasn't clean and ketchup for the breakfast wasn't offered nor was jam for the toast, nothing some training of staff wouldn't sort. Staff were very friendly though so don't be shy to ask. Over all, id stay again based on the fantastic price but the Mrs recons we might want to spend a touch more and explore elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedroomrockstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
I am pleased to inform you the Royal Hotel at Ross-On-Wye will be fully refurbished later in 2013 as part of Greene King ongoing commitment to upgrade all Old English Inns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    383
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
122
659
20
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Hotel through Old English Inns. A lovely room ~ big, comfortable & great views. Our only criticism was the bathroom ~ not only did the door handle fall off but the handrail on the side of the bath did as well. If we were elderly, this could be quite dangerous.
Check in & check out were very straightforward and the staff could be more helpful.
Breakfast was a bit 'hit n miss'. Saturday, it took ages. Sunday, it was much quicker. Maybe a different chef was on duty?
No problems with parking either.

Room Tip: 15 is a lovely room as long as they sort the door handle & bath hand rail out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexloveseatingout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
I am please to see you had a nice time with us at the Royal, I would like to thank you for reporting the maintenance issues, these have now been resolved. We will be undergoing major refurbishment later in 2013 and we are all excited as this will give the Royal a new look. many thanks. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great break, wonderful New Year party, hope to go again next year. Room food and staff 1st class, We also visit this hotel in the summer, and if the weather is fine you can have a meal or a drink on the decking this is a wonder ful place for views down to the river and beyond. Plenty of parking and lovely walks.

Room Tip: The low numbered rooms are a long way from car park and reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikki1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire Dales
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

...........Just back from a two night stay at this hotel.
The hotel itself is in a great place as it is only a couple of minutes walk from the town centre and has magnificent views over the river.
Our room had a sideways view over the river and the rooftops of the town. It was VERY comfortable, warm and although a little dated, was clean and well equipped.
The entire staff were, without exception, the best I have ever come across.....They were definitely 5* and the hotel management should be very proud of them all.
It is rare to find an entire workforce that are so relaxed, pleasant and helpful and I was very impressed with them all.
The food, although well priced, was a little mixed in quality and I would have gladly paid a little more for a better evening meal.................eg..A lump of bland chicken sat in a tablespoon of 'wet' ( allegedly a mushroomy sauce) and placed within soggy pastry does not, to my mind, make an appetising chicken and mushroom pie!!
Breakfasts were good though and there was plenty of choice.......... I couldn't fault them on service or cooking.
Overall, we had a great stay at this hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: For an uninterrupted view of the river, ask for one at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Creteaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
You can not get a much better location than the Royal Hotel. The views across the River Wye are stunning and we are lucky to see this view every day. I am also very proud of all my team as they are all focused on ensuring our guests enjoy the stay with us. We are also very excited that Greeneking are looking to invest in the Hotel this year to give us a new fresh look.
We thank you for your lovely comments and look forward to seeing you in the future. Kind regards Peter Elder General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Have just returned from a long weekend stay at the Royal Hotel. Fantastic location with an amazing outlook. We had river facing double aspect room which was huge and beautifully furnished and it was always lovely and warm. The hotel itself, although old, is well maintained and looked after and the food in the restaurant in the evening was excellent. Our main concern was that the staff seemed to have an average age of about 20 and there was no manager in evidence, consequently this fine old ship was floating along with no-one at the rudder! In fact there seemed to be a decided shortage of staff which meant that one young man was working 8 consecutive days, some of them 14 hours long! There was a definite lack of professionalism in their dealings with guests, especially at reception. Their appearance and grooming was somewhat sloppy and it appeared that there was also a lack of training of some individuals on how to wait at table - since no staff wore name badges I can't identify them. There also seemed to be no designated outside smoking area other than the terrace where, presumably, people also eat during the Summer months. Consequently both guests and members of staff were smoking on the main entrance steps, leaving their cigarette butts lying around - not a very inviting image! As with most of the country this past weekend, we had snow, but no attempt was made by any staff to clear the main steps or the area immediately approaching the entrance which meant the area around the hotel was treacherous. On the whole this is a potentially great hotel, being let down by a lack of proper management and guidance. Come on Greene King - sharpen your act up.

Room Tip: Choose a river facing room - the view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelBroxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
I would like to thank you for your time in giving feedback about your stay with us at the Royal Hotel Ross-on-Wye. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our lovely hotel. I was very concerned about the comment made from one of my team about working hours and lack of days off. I would like to reassure you our employees only work a maximum of 5 x 8 hour shifts in any given week. I would like to thank you for raising the comment with reference to a designated smoking area, this will be reviewed as a matter of urgency.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future, kind regards Peter General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Easy to find and I had a room overlooking the horseshoe bend in the river. Excellent value and I ate in twice out of 3 nights from the specials menu. Well situated for strolling round the town or along the river. Minor issues are, bathroom was short on space to put things ie no shelf in shower or over sink, breakfast plates could have been warmer but quantity and quality excellent. Good bacon, proper sausage, mushroom, tomato, beans and egg.
Beer on offer at £2.75 for IPA meant thinking twice about walking to Wetherspoons just down the road.
I really enjoyed it and staff were friendly and welcoming

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandallEv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

An old pile in the middle of town with plenty of parking space ,good food and beverage at affordable prices and, if you find a good deal,
the overnight package is great.
Bear in mind that the age of the property means that things can expire; in our case it was the toilet; however, it was in the middle of the night and we didn!t know. Awakened at 6.00 am by the manager and a guest plumber telling us we had a leak problem, and that the dining room was flooded.Panic for a short tme ( 30 mins ) , back to sleep , down to a full english at 9.30 ,sorted.Give the place a go; we will.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing