We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grand old english inn”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“grand old english inn”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

booked this hotel on a good offer and was impressed by the main buiding and the view from the bar terrace was oustanding.Our room was in the stables extension and only looked out to the street ,but was perfectly ok.Clean and warm. the food menu was the standard "old english inns"menu,plus a specials board.its location was in the centre of ross on wye .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank h0lly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay with us at the Royal Hotel. I will pass on your lovely comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    398
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
126
677
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stafford
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night but would definatley recomend it ,we turned up late after travelling most of the day to be welcomed by a very helpfull receptionist who gave us a fantastic room (18),all staff were very helpfull and pleaseant ,can recomend the steak cooked to perfection,breakfast was very good with a good selection and again great staff.I will be definatly using this hotel again and would like to say thanks for a pleaseant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tappsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I would like to thank you for your lovely comments about your stay with us at the Royal Hotel. I will pass on your lovely comments on to the team. It is always very nice to receive such nice comments, as our team try and go the extra mile on every occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed 2 nights for a short break in The Royal and found the room I stayed in which was an executive room to be very nice and fairly good value, nice comfortable bed plenty tea and coffee in room also.
The hotel is in a good location for the town centre with nice surroundings.
The downside to this hotel unfortunatley was the breakfast, my first morning I ordered full English breakfast which on arrival looked perfect until I started eating and found it to be very cold, not just the bacon but beans and all of it and sausage under cooked. Next morning orderd the same and once again all food looked great but COLD, also at breakfast table candle wax from previous evening I presume and coffee stained cups,shame about the breakfast and after saying that I would stay here again and take the chance the breakfast will be hot next time.

Room Tip: Executive roo bit more expensive but huge room with nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cliff48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would like to thank you for you feedback with reference to the Royal Hotel. As the new General Manager, I value this feedback as I will be able to focus on working with the kitchen Manager to improve the food service at the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

stayed with friends in a fami;y room, at a great rate from Old English Inns. It was a very good size
with double bed in main room , and twin beds in a side room. Looked out at the church and car park. The room was very clean, and also a very good supply of teas and coffee. The downside was two bucket type chairs ,which were comfy, but looked awful, as the piping was coming off the arms and looked worse for wear. Really out off place. The whole place could do with lick of
paint on doors . I appreciate the character of the grade 2 listing but still a bit tired in places.
The bar area is great with views to the wye below. we had good sandwiches lunchtime, but our
evening meal of steak was very bad. We asked for one rare, which was raw. Sent it back but it came back the same so left it. The gammons were good, but we all agreed the chips could have been
cooked earlier and reheated. very disappointing . The drinks are a really good price for a hotel,
and we enjoyed our chats with Brian the barman , receptionist , breakfast waiter. He was
great with us. Good choice for breakfast, and nicely cooked. All in all we would probably go back, and hope the evening meal was a one off . A bit of a mixed bag really.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolpavlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I would like to thank you for you feedback with reference to the Royal Hotel. As the new General Manager, I value this feedback as I will be able to focus on working with the kitchen Manager to improve the food service at the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This hotel is full of twisting corridors and staircases. It has a lovely warm atmosphere and would benefit from a little refurbishment. We had a standard room which was well equipped and spotlessly clean, with comfortable bed, arm chair,hostess tray, trouser press etc. The bathroom was also spotless with a bath and shower and large towels.Shower/bath gel also provided. There is no lift so the stairs could be a problem for the less able.
The staff are all very helpful and friendly and we recieved a warm welcome on arrival. The breakfast menu is very, providing a selection of traditional cooked food, cereals, fruit juice and pastries. The evening menu is comprehensive, with variations provided by "chef specials". The food is nicely presented and well cooked. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you find stairs a problem ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizanneSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At The Royal we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

a beautifully situated hotel on the edge of Ross on Wye,where the staff are accommodatingly friendly, Our room was largeclean and had all we needed for a comfortable 3 day stay, The food was fine,but whilst not being fine dining was interesting, well-cooked and wholesome, no complaints. The hotel itself is in need of some TLC,but that would not deter us from going back again - -it has much to offer

Room Tip: rooms in the newish extension
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we really appreciate all your feedback at The Royal and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. you will be pleased to hear we are in the process of reviewing areas of the hotel with the intentions to update and freshen up. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

5 of us stayed here in 3 rooms and each one needed a good scrub, cobwebs in the corners of the walls and hanging from the very high ceilings that you can see when sleeping in the very basic bed i personally had in a double room. Lovely views across the river though. The breakfast menu was very poor and the food itself was bland, cold and thrown on a plate, non of our crockery even matched. The reception staff were very unhelpful when we arived back from an eveving out to find recepton unattended and no way of one room being able to get their room key. Double check before you go out for an evening that you even have a key to let you in the front door. Not one member of staff appologised for this inconvience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathryn h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Royal. We do value all feedback and work hard towards a good service to all our guests and as such with feedback from our guests we can continue to improve and deliver on this goal. we apologise about the shortfalls you experienced during your stay and im sure you will be pleased to hear that as a result we have put better measures in place so that it has no future impact on a guests experience. we are also in the process of reviewing all of our bedrooms. once again our apologies, and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
557 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
191 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#8 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing