We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$63
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$94
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$76
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glewstone Court(Ross-on-Wye)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,218)
Filter reviews
1,218 results
Traveler rating
569
437
134
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
569
437
134
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictlovely viewcar parkboth nightswithout exceptiontown centreweekend breaksurrounding countryside
Filter
Updating list...
987 - 992 of 1,218 reviews
Reviewed October 26, 2012

The Royal is positioned on a cliff overlooking the Wye with great views from its bar and garden, also some of its rooms, the superior rooms in the Prospect Wing.
The building is Regent but in some areas is very tired whilst other are good. Our Suoperior room was of a good size and the only criticism was that the bathroom was small for the room, the shower ancient and the grouting round the bath, very grubby.
We ate the first night of our 3 night Offer stay, it was Sunday and we had the roast which was pretty uninspiring, meat dry and Yorkshires could have been used as ice hockey pucks.My wife had asked originally for a Vegetarian Bake but this was not available.
We heard a number of complaints whilst in the bar restaurant.
Breakfast for 3 mornings was included and good except the day they had run out of orange juice and brown bread for the toast.
We ate the other nights in the Kings Head, see separate review, very good food and reasonably priced .
Also we had to report twice , stair carpet to the Prospect Wing was loose and dangerous.
Staff were good and willing to help, they were under pressure we felt with constraints on numbers and money for the hotel.
The position of the hotel is fantastic and really the Company need to take this as a missed opportunity if they do not improve its condition and reputation.
The reputation in Ross is not good with a number of people saying that they only drank in the bar for the view and do not eat there.

Room Tip: Superior rooms only
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelmsfordPhilm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and can only apologise in the areas in which we failed to deliver on this occasion. We are glad you enjoyed the location of the Royal and you will be pleased to hear we are currently in the process of updating the site. Once again our apologies and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Returned yesterday after 2 nights at this hotel. Unlike other reviewers, couldn't fault the staff, food was acceptable for prices charged but really was just pub-grub, drinks not overpriced. Riverview bar very pleasant. Four of us stayed & whilst I appreciate we were on a Tesco voucher deal, one room was spacious & nice, the other was very, very unwelcoming - no comparison whatsoever.. No tissues, no pen & notepad, (which really annoyed me as I wanted to do a crossword!) no coasters on wooden furniture, I put (my own) tissues down as I don't like leaving cup or glass rings on furniture, even such as this. Nothing in bathroom but one little shower-gel, sadly lacking against the Inn we had stayed in the previous night to arriving here. We were as far away from our friends as it was possible to be, horrid corridor with peeling wallpaper, mould, shabby carpet, but I guess our room was one that is only used as a last resort if full to capacity. Again could not fault the staff & the breakfasts were more than adequate. Would maybe return if I thought the hotel had had a makeover as the position of it is great.

Room Tip: I have no idea I'm afraid where the nicest rooms are.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDAGNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We do value all feedback and work hard to maintain good service to all our guests and as such we are in a process of updating our rooms to a higher standard and with feedback from our guests we can continue to improve and deliver. we are pleased you found the staff pleasant & helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent the weekend in theRoyal at Ross on Wye. This is one of numerous old English inns we have stayed in and it is one of the best. The bar has fantastic views over the river Wye the accommodation was clean, comfortable and roomy. The food since the menu has been updated is much improved, we all found something we liked. The breakfasts set us up for the day travelling around the Forest of Dean and the Wye valley. Like Arnie we will be back.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank mintmoocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Me and my husband went to Ross on Wye to a 50th birthday party and stayed at this lovely hotel the weekend of 5th October 2012. We found it a very nice warmly place with very friendly staff. It was very clean and well looked after. The staff were all lovely and very helpful. Well worth a stay

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angerama11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our second visit and we had a great stay here again. The room was lovely, it was very comfortable, spacious and clean. We found the food good and staff pleasant. We were given a warm welcome from Sophie on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews