We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay again!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely stay again!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is our second visit and we had a great stay here again. The room was lovely, it was very comfortable, spacious and clean. We found the food good and staff pleasant. We were given a warm welcome from Sophie on arrival and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minky2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    488
    390
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
125
666
20
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in a prime location on the edge of town over looking the country side, just perfect.
The hotel is tired and in need off some decorating to bring it up to scratch, it's an old building so you have to take that into account. The room was clean and it did have a iron & board which i find a bonus when traveling. The 2 meals for 9.95 are quite good value we had the Sunday roast on this offer and it was excellant could not fault it at all. The staff are very polite and helpful. I was a little dissapointed with the restaurant for breakfast there were no table cloths and when i asked for decaf tea they did not have any (good job i took my own). If you can get this hotel on a good offer then it would be worth it.

Room Tip: You have to pay extra for rooms with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laineygirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

What a lovely location for a coffee. Had been told that the service was very poor. Decided to meet a friend for coffee there to find out for ourselves. We had to ask three times for coffee and cake and were not impressed to be told that we had to order from the bar - we had ordered from the bar three times and still the lady behind the bar continued to put glasses away rather than attend to her customers. We eventually after 25 minutes received our coffee, it was not delivered to the table, we had to do that bit ourselves. I think some of the staff there need waking up - plenty of people looking for a job so watch out staff at the Royal

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for visiting The Royal and for letting us know about for visit. We can only apologise for the poor service you received, and thank you for bringing this to our attention, so that we can resolve the problem, as our service is usually very good and we usually receive very favourable reviews about our team, so we will be taking swift action to remedy the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Level Contributor
182 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have just led a party of twenty golfers to stay here for two nights on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. We all had rooms for single occupancy and pre-ordered our food from a specially edited menu, different for each night, offering a wide choice for all three courses. The menus all looked very appetising and indeed the reality was excellent on both nights. The staff greatly added to the enjoyment of the evenings by walking in with two plates each and calling out Christian names to identify just where each plate was destined.

Previous reviewers have mentioned how good the staff are at the Royal and I can thoroughly endorse this. We were made to feel very welcome indeed with nothing too much trouble. As an example, we needed an early breakfast at 7am on the Saturday, an hour earlier than normal, and this was provided willingly and indeed we were asked if this was required on the Sunday as well. It wasn't but the offer was there.

The rooms are very adequate; flatscreen tv; very comfortable bed and spotless bathroom. The only minor comment would be that the furniture looks a little dated and worn.

There is a large car park and should this be full, there is further parking outside the hotel which I believe is free after 6pm.

All my party were really pleased with the overall experience of staying at the Royal and I wouldn't hesitate to rebook again. It can be strongly recommended to other Golf Society organisers, particularly as it is just 30 minutes to both the Rolls of Monmouth and The Worcestershire courses both of which are outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Been there twice now first time sat in the garden in the sunshine and had sandwiches lovely day lovely food but not brilliant, went back for Sunday lunch about a month later and it was awful!! Staff not friendly except 1 ordered roasts when they came 2 of them were the wrong meets so we sent them back they took so long the other 2 of us had to start eating as the food was only Luke warm when it first arrived but didn't want to keep complaining, the veg looked abit ummm dead? Quite tasteless only good bit I thought was the mash potato! As we were still hungry after leaving alot of it we went for pudding not bad but that's all, cheesecakes covered in horrible strawberry sauce WHY? Would go back to sit in the sunshine overlooking the beautiful veiw but feel really let down by the food

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flower9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit to The Royal. We are sorry to hear that we mixed your order up and that you did not enjoy your meal. Our service and food is usually very good, as you can read from the other reviews, so we will discuss your review with my team so that we can learn from your experience and ensure that we deliver great service and food consistently.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a wonderful one night stay at The Royal.
Our room, which overlooked the River Wye and stunning countryside, was spacious and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel.
Staff were pleasant, welcoming and helpful in pointing out the well displayed festive season literature, which we were interested in as we have decided that this hotel would more than suit our needs for a New Year celebration break.
Food and drink were of a high standard, although, compared with other “Old English Inns” we found prices a little high, which seemed to be the general trend in Ross on Wye.
We are regular visitors to “Old English Inns” and the “The Royal” is by far the best so far.
Our only minor complaint was the cheap toilet paper and the lack of coasters or drip mats in the bedroom (we hate putting down hot cups onto wooden surfaces).

Room Tip: Ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertRSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEWPORT WALES
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. It was comfortable friendly with a nice menu and a well stocked bar including real ales. whilst the bedroom was lovely with a very comfortable bed the bathroom did show some evidence of cosmetic wear and tear. The food was cooked and prepared excellently and tasted fantastic!! But what really made my stay really great was the overall attentivenes, politeness and cheeriness of all the staff members we encountered. Well done and what a difference this makes!! Other hotels could do well to emulate this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLEWLLEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing