We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say it as it is!”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Milford Haven
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Say it as it is!”
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I visited The Royal last October and as a result of my review was called a Whinger. My views are always constructive and I am thrilled to say that reading every review since mine, the hotel has obviously taken on board customer comments and has sorted out all the niggly problems.
Well done to The Royal.
And I will continue to say it as it is if its helps those following after me.

Whinger I am not!!

Room Tip: It is worth phoning the hotel with your requirements before arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlorenceMilfordHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    396
    126
    44
    31
See reviews for
125
670
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

We had a fabulous time at The Royal Hotel. We stayed for a walking weekend, The hotel was clean and comfortable. The bedding was immaculate. The food was very nice and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The receptionist was very helpful and was kind enough to print off some walks for us. The hotel is old and has lots of character. The views from the hotel were fantastic. It is a brilliant location for walks and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham on Sea, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Had a lovely 2 night break in Ross (which was a great little town, very historic and quaint). Hotel was excellent, fantastic location overlooking the river and a short walk into town. Our room was on the second floor, looking out onto the river and park area, clean and bright with a large bathroom. Floorboards were very creaky. Staff were very pleasant, friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a fantastic spread with a buffet and large choice of cooked dishes. The bar is lovely and cosy with a choice of seating areas and the veranda would be fantastic on a summer's day. Wouldn't hesitate in going again or recommending it. A lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zoe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We booked at the last minute for a stop over on a long journey. Our room had fantastic views of the Wye and was clean and comfortable. The staff, most of whom were from South Africa, were very friendly and provided good service in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. The only niggle was a cold breakfast but that was swiftly corrected. We intend to return in the summer and make use of the veranda outside of the bar which has an incredible view.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maximus55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Just got back from one night away in Ross on Wye. Fantastic place, the hotel exceeded our expectations! Our room was a very large room with high ceilings and a floor to ceiling window over looking the river and fields. Such a wonderful view to wake up to. Lovely food at lunch and the staff from reception to the bar were brilliant. Will be using Old English Inns again!!! Superb!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baulchy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Had a 2 night break here at the end of January. Nicely situated, pleasant staff, especially the lad behind the bar, who showed us to a nice table beside a roaring log fire! Floorboards very creaky in our room (14) and you could hear creaking up above all the time.
Breakfast could have been hotter, food in evening fine..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 26, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 as we wanted a good base for touring the area. We had a very large room with wonderful panoramic views and enjoyed it so much that we decided to return as soon as work commitments allowed. We stayed again for 5 nights over the New Year, and it did not disappoint. The staff worked very hard to ensure all guests had a great time, good food, good service,good entertainment. The hotel is in a perfect and accessible location for the town, a little older in style perhaps,and the stairs may be an issue if there are mobility problems.Otherwise good choice and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Hotel has several "feature" rooms which are larger and have wonderful views, these cost a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
374 reviews
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#1 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
540 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
175 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: Royal Parade, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Ross On Wye
Royal Ross On Wye
The Royal Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing