We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$89
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$124
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$91
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,256)
Filter reviews
1,257 results
Traveler rating
585
455
139
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
455
139
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictfantastic viewscar parktown centreweekend breakboth nightswithout exceptioncomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,108 - 1,113 of 1,257 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We stayed for one night and to be fair i think the staff are doing the best with what they have. Effort has gone in to some refurbishing. As previous review said our room had clean linen but the overall standard of cleanliness could have been better. The room was spacious but not well maintained. Staff were friendly and really they made our stay. We will not return to stay here

Room Tip: Not Sure maybe asked for a room that has been decorated
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We have only just this week started to repaint the exterior of the hotel, and this should be complete within the next 6 weeks. I'm also in the process of employing an additional handyman, so that we can start to refurbish the bedrooms through the winter months, we are hoping to get at least 12 more rooms painted. I have had a word with my Head housekeeper and have set a meeting to speak to the whole housekeeping team for tomorrow morning to address the issue of cleanliness in the bedrooms. Should you decide to return to Ross, please give me a call so that I may show you our upcoming changes to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Staff on reception were unfriendly and unhelpful. Our room, Room 10, was up two flights of stairs at the back of the premises; the second set of stairs were very steep, dark and dirty. Door to room should have been warning enough as it was battered and marked. Although the room was large and linens were clean, paper was peeling off the ceiling, mold was on shower curtain and tiles, patches of enamel were missing on the bath, paint on radiators peeling off on to the floor and generator near to room was very noisey. Need I say more!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Stayed here through Airmiles, 24th 25th September had a great weekend. 1st room was 42 which was in the annox looking over the garden and fountain with a balcony and 2 double beds big lcd tv and lovely big bath. Great room but the central heating/water kept us up all night very noisy. Next day we asked to move and even thought the hotel was full, reception found us a room in the main hotel which was quite small 1 double and a much smaller tv, no bath but this suited us much better! also it had long distance views over the river, so if staying you may wish to request either room depednign on your preference. The only thing i didnt like was having to have my credit card scanned on arrival - even though we paid in advance - some people dont mind but this did annoy me personally a bit.
All staff are lovely, when we made requested extra milk, extra coffee at breakfast everyone was lovely! The rooms were both immaculate and i am really fussy! the linens were crisp and clean.A great stay and will be back in the future. Job well done :)

Room Tip: room 42 has 2 doubles and a garden view
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsCregan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was offered a free night by Greene King as a compensation for a bad stay at another of their hotels, and chose the Royal.

Much of what has already been said about this establishment is true, and my review just backs a lot of it up.

Staff were great - nothing was too much trouble for them, they were cheerful and friendly.

Hotel public areas are in need of a facelift - which seems to be endemic to many mid price hotels nowadays. I am told that a full refurb is due very soon.

Room was adequate, but quite small - it was one of the "coach house" rooms - beware that these are a route march up and down a lot of small flights of stairs. Also, though not relevant to my stay, these rooms are above one function room, and face across the car park to another one - so at times of functions, could be quite noisy. I suspect that the larger rooms with the views are sold normally at a higher price, and that the room that I was allocated was a standard double. The bed was a 4'6" and not a five foot, which in this day and age was a surprise, but it was comfy enough.

Breakfast was the standard Greene King full English plus the help yourself continental - nicely presented, hot, and well served by a cheery English waitress.

All in all - I'd use this one again.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the rooms overlooking the river. Watch the "coach house" rooms - long way from reception, lots of stairs, and potentially noisy
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyrshireYeomanry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2011

The room was large, clean and comfortable, with huge windows looking out onto the river Wye. The staff were helpful. We didn't eat in the hotel. The hotel is value for money.

Room Tip: Room 17 had a fabulous view
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockyroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2011

Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews