We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$113
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,254)
Filter reviews
1,254 results
Traveler rating
583
454
139
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
583
454
139
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictfantastic viewscar parktown centreweekend breakboth nightswithout exceptioncomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,115 - 1,120 of 1,254 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2011

After visiting LABELS Outlet, our coach party arrived at the Hotel for a pre arranged meal. Excellent service was the order of the day, with staff helpful & attentive. The meals we had selected were well prepared & were enjoyed by all, these were all from the 2 for £10 menu it could not be faulted. We would certainly recommend this Hotel to other Clubs, please contact the Management first & pre book. Thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2011

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming to back to one of our Inns soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Set high at the top of Ross, the hotel was easily accessed
We arrived by motorcycle with friends and parked in the private and secure car park. Having booked last minute with their central reservations I was concerned that the room may not be great. Howw wrong I was. On arrival we were greeted by a very cheerful and interested young lady who informed us we had been upgraded to an executive room. Our room (number 49) was huge with all the usual trimmings one would expect, bbest of all we had a balcony with a view over the Wye valley and gardens. We settled in and descended to the terrace for a pre dinner drink. Having studied the dinner menu we stayed on the terrace looking out over the valley for the rest of the evening, enjoying a reasonably priced meal and attentive service.
If I had to critisize anything it would be that the room was a little tired but it was spotlessly clean and all the staff were great.
I would definately recommend this hotel to friends.
We had a great stay, if somewhat short - thank you.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajn071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The Royal has a feeling of faded grandeur on the outside, but this just adds to it's charm. The outside seating area and grounds are fantastic with beautiful views. The food is reasonably priced and very good , though don't expect haute cuisine, and the drinks are not too expensive either. Our room was the most comfortable I have stayed in for a very long time. All staff were polite and friendly. Highly recommended and well priced.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms in the newer part of the building with a balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidih1gh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Not recommended, what a disappointment... Check in was indifferent ... Request to move room indififferent... Pubic hairs in bathroom! Not mine! Bit rubbish really ... Book somewhere else ye' traveling folk !.. A shame as location is pretty good!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gameshowhost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2011

Thank you for letting us know about your recent visit to The Royal. May we offer our sincerest apologies for your disappointment and assure you that your visit does not reflect our usual high standards, as is evident from the other comment s on Trip Advisor. Please be assured that I have addressed our shortcomings with The Royal Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We've just come back from a 3 night stay at The Royal. We were very impressed at the standard of the room - it had 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, even at busy times. The hotel was a haven for us as we had some heavy family stuff to do in Ross while we were here - it was nice to come back to a bit of normality ! The food, although admittedly not cordon bleu, was perfectly acceptable and well cooked.Yes, the paint was flaking a bit on the outside wall , but they probably know about it anyway, and in the great scheme of things, as long as the important things are right, who cares?

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are really good !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews