We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bridge House(Ross-on-Wye)
$102
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benhall Farm(Ross-on-Wye)
$104
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Achilty Guest House B&B(Ross-on-Wye)(Great Value!)
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (1,262)
Filter reviews
1,262 results
Traveler rating
586
457
141
46
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
586
457
141
46
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold english innsthe riversmall balconysuperior roomwye valleylovely hotelno liftbar areagreat positioneggs benedictfantastic viewscar parktown centreweekend breakboth nightswithout exceptioncomfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 1,262 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2011

We've just come back from a 3 night stay at The Royal. We were very impressed at the standard of the room - it had 2 double beds which were very comfortable. The staff were always pleasant and helpful, even at busy times. The hotel was a haven for us as we had some heavy family stuff to do in Ross while we were here - it was nice to come back to a bit of normality ! The food, although admittedly not cordon bleu, was perfectly acceptable and well cooked.Yes, the paint was flaking a bit on the outside wall , but they probably know about it anyway, and in the great scheme of things, as long as the important things are right, who cares?

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are really good !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evemitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

I received a voucher for a night in a hotel as a Christmas gift and decided to use it for a short break by adding three extra nights. If it hadn't been for this voucher, I would probably never have found this wonderful hotel.

From the moment myself and my husband checked in, every part of our stay was absolutely perfect. The staff were friendly and very helpful, the room was superb and the food was amazing.

Our room had a balcony with a wonderful view over the River Wye and to the distant hills. It perhaps wasn't the most picturesque view in the world, but there was always something to sit and look at, and the relaxation quality of this was second to none. Just to sit up in bed and look out at this view was amazing.

The room was fantastically well-equipped with two double beds, a good size flatscreen TV, tea, coffee and biscuits (refreshed every day), a lovely powerful shower, hairdryer and even an iron and ironing board in the spacious wardrobe. In fact, it was such a comfortable, peaceful and relaxing room, we were in no rush to leave it in a morning and back early each afternoon to unwind a bit before dinner.

As there are lots of very good places to eat in Ross, we thought we'd eat in the hotel bar on the first night only and then explore other places for the rest of our stay. This didn't happen because the food was so lovely we just couldn't even consider eating anywhere else. The quality, quantity and presentation of every dish we had was spot on. And this also extended to breakfast, where there was a lovely choice of cooked options apart from the obligatory "full English". The smoked salmon and scrambled eggs was our favourite... absolutely delicious. After dinner each evening we enjoyed some drinking time on the riverview bar's balcony, again soaking up that lovely view.

Although the hotel seemed quite busy for the duration of our stay, we were never bothered by noise from other guests...this didn't seem to be a hotel for families/children, and we liked that!

To summarise, this hotel was totally perfect for the kind of short break we wanted. There are lots of very nice things to see and do in the area, but without a doubt the highlight of our holiday was this gem of a hotel.

Without a doubt, we will return....and we can't wait!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PollyPix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

We are really please that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Stayed here for one night (wish we could have stayed longer). We booked a double room, there were 2 double beds, large lcd tv, really clean with everything you need including and iron and ironing board. We had a lovely view, with big glass doors that slide open. The location is great, 5 mins walk down to the river with lovely walks. A riverside bar with ample seating outside to the front and side gardens. There is parking avaliable - they give you a slip at reception to put on the windscreen showing you are a guest for free parking. The staff were very friendly yet professional. Great breakfast, buffet and freshly cooked full breakfast. We had a lovely stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wales2011Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked late and, on arrival, were told we had been allocated the best room in the hotel, (Room 15). This room is the size of between 2 & 3 rooms. It is massive and with its 12 foot high ceilings and huge LCD TV, is more like a big suite. Though it has a 1960's-feel tight-squeeze en-suite bathroom, the bedroom itself has the most magnificent almost 270 degree views via 3 massive windows on 2 sides of the room and overlooks the River Wye and beyond from a superbly-high vantage point. Just the kind of view that would add umpteen thousands of pounds of value to any house in the vicinity with a similar outlook.
(You will *not* be disappointed with the view from room 15!) Anyway, to the Hotel itself. The Royal did a special offer for dinner - the two of us dined early for a total of just £10.45 for a decent main course of ham, egg & chips. Puddings were extra for those who could manage one - I couldn't! They serve real ale as well and everything else you could imagine and the prices were reasonable. We stayed on the hottest day of the year (so far) and the bar was busy, so we had to be prepared to wait. However, the spectacular views across the river from the outside terrace were so good that it made the wait worthwhile and the place was packed. This is obviously the place to go! Much later on, the bed was squeaky-clean with super-quality linen and extra pillows if required. Breakfast was more than adequate. Juices, croissants, fruits, cereals, yoghurts, full English plus 4 or 5 other cooked choices plus tea & toast, etc., etc. The hotel has free parking in its own private car park and they allowed us to park there all day free of charge on our checkout day because friends were taking us out elsewhere for lunch. I think the management here work their (often South African) staff hard to maintain the competitiveness of the hotel so we gave a few pounds in tips because we thought the value for money was just so excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank totters_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2011

We where at the hotel with a choir, The rooms were good, staff were excellant nothing was to much trouble, My husband was taking ill on the sunday morning, everyone in the hotel were extreamly helpful, my husband was taken in hospital, the coach had to return to devon. when we got back from hospital the staff had sorted our room and couldnt have been more caring. would recommend them to anyone. thanks everyone you were A1+++++

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillmerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2011

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay at our hotel.
We do value all comments good and bad and take great pride in offering the best possible experience for all our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Royal Hotel or one of other Old English Inns very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews