We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel”
Review of Glewstone Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glewstone Court
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely hotel”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I have been to Glewstone Court hotel a few times now and keep wanting to go back! I have to say I always, without fail, have a truly great stay. The staff and owners are so welcoming, friendly and always willing to go the extra mile to make you feel at home and relaxed. Food has been excellent and the Sunday roasts and puddings are particularly delicious! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a lovely hotel break perfect for exploring the countryside, relaxing and eating great food!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knojaday1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for the great review; it is always a pleasure to welcome you back especially for Sunday Lunch which I know is one of your favourites. Our staff , as I always say do go the extra mile to make everyone feel at home. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    87
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
350
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My partner and I had a wonderful meal at Glewstone Court. The food was superb and the service excellent. We felt really looked after by the friendly staff and the food was first class. A truly British dining experience in a beautiful setting.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review; our staff are one of our strengths,really caring and great at their job be they cooking or looking after our guests. I will pass these comments onto them with pleasure. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

The ambience is sheer country house - you know that you are not really paying guests but long lost friends not just of the hotel owner but also of the other people staying. You gather round a fire for drinks before dinner, sharing sofas companionably with everyone else, and the resident dogs, who will leap up to sit alongside you without any encouragement. You know also, from the faded furnishings, the scattered toys and an eccentric mix of furniture from the shabby to the just strange that this establishment does not sacrifice a homely feel to being fashionable, or polished.
The English country house style continues with the bracing approach to heating - none until October, regardless of the weather - but then the youngish staff are mostly in short sleeves and don't seem to notice the chill, or realise that leaving the front door permanently open doesn't help. If the door was shut at least the one fire downstairs would warm something other than the nearby sofas. Of course that's why all the guests were so companionable - we needed to be close together to keep warm.
The food at dinner tantalises with classy tastes, textures and presentation, but don't expect lashings of anything, and certainly not of pudding. And if you are unlucky enough to need a gluten-free diet you need to be aware that while this will be excellently catered for at breakfast it will be forgotten by dinnertime.
When the bill comes you have to accept that actually you pay a lot to be part of this chilly, careworn establishment. Maybe it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
As every hotelier knows it is very hard to please everyone all the time; our much loved Hotel has over the past 26 years in our ownership welcomed all and sundry. We endeavour to please all our guests regardless of their assorted wants and needs but sometimes regrettably this is not to be, despite our very best efforts.
We have never aspired to be fashionable or polished.
Our Georgian front door is large and heavy and sometimes does not shut tight. As this is the front door there is a high degree of traffic and sometimes it is not closed properly. Our staff are always on the alert to this problem and hasten to close it. It is not open all the time.
We do have a toy box in the corner of the hall for the enjoyment of our younger guests.
At this time of the year the weather is unpredictable- you were chilly but others not…………last night we had to throw open windows as some guests were too warm.
We try very hard to fulfil our guest’s requirement in terms of special diets; only last night, Vicki, our head chef, with a very busy service ahead of her, produced a three course menu with choices for a visitor who was gluten, lactose and meat intolerant.
Glewstone is not a chain hotel, furnished soullessly; may of our artefacts and pieces of furniture are antiques inherited through the family and we think are part of the special atmosphere here.
I have often stated that we do not rest on our laurels and are only as good as our last guest’s experience. Thankfully your comments are not the norm and I reflect on yesterday morning when on departure following their sixth visit, a delightful couple remarked’ Do not change a thing, we love this place’
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We have enjoyed several very good meals at Glewstone Court as well as going to two New Year's Eve dinner dances there. Always a good atmosphere and very good food. The service has always been friendly and professional. The food for the two dinner dances at New Year has been excellent the only draw back was a rather small dance floor area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank readheadMonmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thankyou for your very positive review. What a coincidence, it is only this week that Vicki our head chef has finished tweeking the New Year's celebration menus and we have put them up on our web site.......www.glewstonecourt.com ..........and the scrumptious New Year's Day brunch too.We hope to welcome you back for a third time. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tallin
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Well could not have felt more welcomed , with the friendly staff and the wonderful food. The atmosphere is just so relaxing . We stopped in the Octavia room for 3 nights on the 13th sept, the room was large and had all little touches, the home made biscuits was a fins touch. Bill and Christine couldnt do enough for you , always remember are names and stopped for a chat. We are recommending this hotel to all our family and friends and we are planning another trip soon. Thank you for a lovely stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TallinBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
We do hope that we welcome you back soon with some family and friends, thankyou for the mention again of our yummy biscuits- I will pass your compliments onto to Hazel in the kitchen. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great Setting , Great Food , Great Atmosphere , Great Rooms , Great Characters !
So enjoyed our stay at the Glewstone , will be planning a trip back very soon.
The Rooms are great and the Food is top notch. You are made to feel very welcome and comfortable. It is the little things that can make a stay so relaxing and enjoyable though . Fresh milk available for tea , being called by your first name , a roaring fire , WIFI that works well , home made biscuits , being offered a snack on arrival when too late for dinner . A++ all round

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
You have mentioned many of the little points that we feel are important - especially the home made biscuits we put in each room daily. Hazel is the biscuit princess in the kitchen and takes great pride in baking them daily.Only yesterday I passed on her special recipe for the chocolate ones for a guest to give to her grandaughter to use. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed for two nights last week and found the place to be relaxing and well situated for visiting local towns and villages. So peaceful you can sleep with the window open- beware the fruit flies however. The setting and the house are beautiful and I loved the idea that it is dog friendly so many little characters arriving with freedom to wander the grounds- you can guess we are both dog lovers. The icing on the cake was the food two fantastic meals rib eye, sirloin and lamb rump all wonderful, washed dpwn with a large glass of wine- unbeatable. Everyone knows your name, what room you are in, it more like staying as a personal guest than as a hotel customer. I would fully recommend.

Room Tip: We were in room 6 lovely room but I would expect all to be as large an the whole place seems quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank addicted-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thankyou for sending such a positive review; our own dogs are always keen to welcome new canine friends. Regretably because we are surrounded by fruit orchards the fruit flies are regretable visitors if guests do leave their windows open and light's on after dark- the price we pay for such a lovely location. Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross-on-Wye
2.4 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glewstone Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glewstone Court

Property: Glewstone Court
Address: Glewstone, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glewstone Court 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glewstone Court is an iconic Country Manor House dating back to 1709 with Georgian and Regency features. You approach the property past an awesome 300 year old Cedar of Lebanon. Glewstone was a finalist for the Restaurant of the Year and Breakfast of the Year in "Flavours of Herefordshire", Our food is innovative and prepared from good, fresh local ingredients; organic and free-range whenever possible. It has a comfortable atmosphere that permeates the bedrooms, lounge bar and restaurants. Herefordshire is superb walking county and although the Hotel is a 'hidden gem', you're still only 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye. Alternatively, relax by the log fires, or on fine days, or laze in the garden with a glass of beer, wine or bubbly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glewstone Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glewstone Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Glewstone Court Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing