We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very enjoyable lunch”
Review of Glewstone Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glewstone Court
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
solihull
Level Contributor
777 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable lunch”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We met our friends from Glangrwyney at Glewstone Court again for lunch(£17.50..3 courses) and as usual had a very enjoyable lunch.
We all had mussels for starter and either the salmon or chicken with local vegetables for main then followed with Eton mess or Brioche bread and butter for dessert.
Once again the food and service was excellent and thank you again for making it a most enjoyable lunch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busterSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent lunch here at `The Court`; I am always thrilled to receive this sort of review- especially mentioning the great food as I am able to pass this praise onto our fantastic, hardworking team in the Kitchen.We are shortly starting our Spring Menu...........if ever it arrives! Thankyou.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    82
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
81
332
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level Contributor
162 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

By far the best hotel in the area (I am a regular visitor around here with my dog). It’s a proper old fashioned country house hotel with a good old fashioned warm welcome. Rooms are all individual and nothing seems to be too much trouble to accommodate whatever your individual needs are. The restaurant is excellent and again by far the best in an area where I have found it difficult to find any good ones.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitby_rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thankyou for your lovely personal review; as I have no doubt mentioned before, over the past 26 years that we have been here at Glewstone it is always good to welcome back previous guests, many of whom we regard as friends- and their dogs! Thankyou again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. It was like staying with friends for the weekend. The house and accommodation was spacious and felt very comfortable. The open fires adding to the ambiance. The owner Bill and the staff were extremely helpful and attentive without being intrusive. The food was very tasty and well presented. We had delightful views from our room and we shall certainly pay a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SPC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We do hope you return soon; it was a pleasure to welcome you both and we are so glad tou enjoyed `the Court` experience. Many thanks. P.S. The log fires are burning ever brightly in this freezing weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We loved our single night here. We needed a place for our family at short notice and found Glewstone Court and its well deserved excellent reviews. They were able to offer us interconnecting rooms with twin beds in one room which we have found the best setup for our family. The house is quite grand in a friendly way and the hosts are excellent. We had a beautiful dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tolls22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We were so glad to be able to offer you the inter connecting suite and welcome your lovely family- just a pity it was for such a short stay.........have our lovely dogs convinced you to become dog owners yet?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is my second visit to Glewstone and I stayed overnight with my wife. The room 'Victoria' was superb and spacious with its own private entrance. A comfortable night was had by both of us. The welcome from Bill was great.
Breakfast was wonderful and we treated ourselves to 'The Works'.
In conclusion, Bill is an excellent host and my wife and I will have no hesitation staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thankyou for taking the time to write such a great review; we are so glad that you had a comfortable stay- and enjoyed our famous breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

If there is one place to go near Monmouth for a lovely meal out with nice company, that's the place to go - absolutely outstanding hosts with a warm and very welcoming manner. The house has lovely grounds to venture out on a nice day and the food was fantastic.I loved how much effort was put in by the hosts to make our family occasion so special - it has been a while since we have been there because it's not the closest to where we live, however, having been out a lot and seen many other places in the meantime, it really brings home what a great place to stay Glewstone Court is. Very much recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ani30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
We are so glad that you found us such good hosts; we do try our best to make everyone welcome
and its even better when guests return, many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 19, 2012

From the first warm welcome from Bill through to checking out four days later, we were delighted by the friendliness of all the staff. Meanwhile, after enjoying our dinner so much the first night, we decided to eat in for all four nights and try to eat our way through the menu. Excellent food and excellent wine at very realistic prices. The rooms are large and comfortable with the usual tea and coffee making facilities enhanced by home made biscuits. We must compliment Christine, not only on the cooking but also the amazing textiles throughout the dining room and adjacent rooms. This is the place for a special break, definitely not your bland business hotel. Bland is not a word you can use for this hotel in any way. Many thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thankyou for your thoughtful review; it is always great to receive praise but even more so when it comes from like- minded guests. Your comments about my textile work were much appreciated - as well as the compliments on the cooking! Regretably I seem to spend more time in the kitchen these days than my studio, but hey it`s still Art!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
1.9 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
2.4 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
1.9 mi away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glewstone Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glewstone Court

Property: Glewstone Court
Address: Glewstone, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glewstone Court 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glewstone Court is an iconic Country Manor House dating back to 1709 with Georgian and Regency features. You approach the property past an awesome 300 year old Cedar of Lebanon. Glewstone was a finalist for the Restaurant of the Year and Breakfast of the Year in "Flavours of Herefordshire", Our food is innovative and prepared from good, fresh local ingredients; organic and free-range whenever possible. It has a comfortable atmosphere that permeates the bedrooms, lounge bar and restaurants. Herefordshire is superb walking county and although the Hotel is a 'hidden gem', you're still only 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye. Alternatively, relax by the log fires, or on fine days, or laze in the garden with a glass of beer, wine or bubbly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Glewstone Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glewstone Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Glewstone Court Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing