We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming country house hotel.”
Review of Glewstone Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glewstone Court
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Charming country house hotel.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a two night break at Glewstone Court to celebrate my father-in-law's 70th Birhday. This is a magical place that makes you feel instantly relaxed. The first impression was great as we pulled up the drive to see the house and beautiful grounds and we were not disappointed as we went in through the front door to check in.
On the first night we were in room 3 overlooking the cherry orchard. The room was spacious and charming but we did have a problem with the bed. We need not have worried as the next morning when we mentioned it to Bill he found the bed to be at fault and upgraded us to the (luckily for us) vacant bridal suite. Room 1 is huge and charming and we loved the antique furniture and the huge bed which was extremely comfortable. We had views over the front of the house and gardens and as we were lucky to have beautiful weather we could really enjoy them.
As a party of eleven you will always worry that the personal service will be lost but this certainly didn't apply at Glewstone court. Bill and Christine and their team were faultless in their hosting making us feel very welcomed and valued guests at all times. The waiting staff worked tirelessly to ensure that our meals in the private dining room went without hitch and on the birthday night Bill led a rendition of Happy Birthday for my father-in-law Terry.
We all fell in love with the family dogs especially Benji who fairly gives his attention to everyone who wants it.
The food at Glewstone really deserves a separate review all to itself. The food is of exceptionally high standard and fresh high quality ingredients are used and it really shows. My lamb was exceptional on the second night and the Thai chicken tempura was a lovely starter. I didn't hear a single complaint about the food from anyone. The breakfast is also lovely with lots of double yolkers in the eggs and the best black pudding that I have ever tasted. The service is relaxed but efficient and the setting is without fault. I can only suggest that you give Glewstone court a try for yourself.
Thank you Bill and Christine for making it such a memorable 70th for Terry.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank annadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thankyou for posting such a great review, your party was a pleasure to host and Benjii did his bit as usual to help with our special brand of hospitality. We were delighted that you were so comfortable in Victoria room after a disturbed night- we find that it is very important that we resolve problems efficiently and quickly to ensure our guests comfort- regretably, with the best will in the world these things do happen.Regretably there is little we can do to help Bill`s out- of- tune singing! Many thanks Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    87
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
87
350
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Our Golden Anniversary was superbly catered for in this beautiful hotel and all our guests were delighted with the hospitality and high quality of accommodation and meals – thank you Glewstone for making our celebration such a memorable one.

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam76-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We really enjoy offering our special, genuine brand of hospitality and are always thrilled to receive confirmation of this. Hopefully you will have fond memories for a long time of your special party here, many thanks Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have just spent three nights in this very pleasant country hotel. Very welcoming, warm and friendly ambience, lovely old house, excellent food. Rooms were large, well decorated and had ensuite facilities, my bed was slightly on the hard side, but otherwise everything made for a delightful stay. Good centre for visiting Forest of Dean, Wye Valley, Black Mountains etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan H H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thankyou for writing such a positive review; we are glad you found the Hotel such a good base for your explorations of this beautiful county; we are so lucky to live here and it is always great when our guests receive the welcome and experience we hope to give them, thank you, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

A nice country house hotel, with a lot of personal touches, charm and warmth. It feels slightly dated, but not in a bad way, and that just adds to the character of the place. The proprietors were very helpful and friendly, and the room and breakfast top notch.

My only regret is that I didn't have more time to enjoy the hotel, to sample the bar and dinner menu etc. I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKFalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thankyou for posting this review; we do hope that you will return at some point not only to enjoy the food but also to explore more of this beautiful county and experience all it has to offer. This building dates back to Georgian times and we like to feel that the decor in some way reflects this; we have spent the past 25 years slowly filling it with antiques, family pieces and lovingly maintaining it in line with the 21st century needs; a recent high- flying guest made a comment in our visitor book - `don`t change a thing` which was very satisfying. Thankyou again, Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

A couple of reviews have mentioned "shabby chic" and that really captures something. It feels like a lived-in, well worn and much loved country house. Very comfortable, and a great breakfast which unfortunately was the only meal we had. These people really understand hospitality, it was lovely to experience and an absolute delight to be addressed by our first names. We felt like we were there by invitation, not just through booking a room!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 22blibblob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
My husband Bill has an amazing capacity for remembering names- which is a great asset we find as we always like to be addressed by our names rather than the more formal Sir or madam and although our guests are obviously here on a commercial basis we like to think of them as friends, hopefully to return. Many thanks for taking the trouble to post this review and we hope to welcome you back , Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

A wonderful three days of pampering at 'the court'. We first visited several years ago and decided to celebrate our ruby wedding (rather belatedly) at Glewstone. We weren't disappointed. We were made to feel really comfortable - and the food is out of this world. The cooked breakfast was the best we'd experienced and the sticky toffee and date pudding has set a new gold standard. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Oops - no pool or fitness centre! Please delete our rating for these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandSExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a lovely review - we are glad we were able to help you celebrate such a special occasion and hope by now you have recovered from Bill`s great breakfasts, many thanks Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Three of us came here for lunch today.Every course was lovely and I did enjoy the bread and butter pudding with clotted cream.My husband said his chocolate desert was better and the quality of the chocolate 1 st class! We all enjoyed our meal and the superb friendly relaxed welcome.I brought a friend here in June who was looking for a venue to celebrate her birthday later in the year.I am not at all surprised that she has chosen here for her "do". I am sure that they will do everything to make her day memorable .It is an ideal place to have a family gathering with a wide age range.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsPumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thankyou for taking the time to send this review; I have been lax in responding lately- we have been celebrating the birth of two grand children and the 25th anniversary of our time here at Glewstone - which is no excuse and I do apologise as these great reviews are very important to not only us but also our great supporting team. Vicky, our head chef is a star and we think her food is fabulous so it`s great to show her a review like yours, many thanks Christine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ross-on-Wye
2.4 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
191 reviews
2.5 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
382 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
464 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
462 reviews
8.9 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glewstone Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glewstone Court

Property: Glewstone Court
Address: Glewstone, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Glewstone Court 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glewstone Court is an iconic Country Manor House dating back to 1709 with Georgian and Regency features. You approach the property past an awesome 300 year old Cedar of Lebanon. Glewstone was a finalist for the Restaurant of the Year and Breakfast of the Year in "Flavours of Herefordshire", Our food is innovative and prepared from good, fresh local ingredients; organic and free-range whenever possible. It has a comfortable atmosphere that permeates the bedrooms, lounge bar and restaurants. Herefordshire is superb walking county and although the Hotel is a 'hidden gem', you're still only 3 miles from Ross-on-Wye. Alternatively, relax by the log fires, or on fine days, or laze in the garden with a glass of beer, wine or bubbly! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Glewstone Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glewstone Court Hotel Ross-On-Wye
Glewstone Court Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing