We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glewstone Court
Nearby Hotels
The King's Head Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castle Lodge Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Royal Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Paddocks Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Court Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chase Hotel(Ross-on-Wye)
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penyard House(Weston under Penyard)
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$62
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (643)
Filter reviews
643 results
Traveler rating
518
103
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
518
103
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfresh milkshelley roombyron roomcountry house hotelexcellent foodnew ownersbiscuitsbirthday treata la carte menulittle touchesfront of the housewine listwarm welcomelog fireon arrivalrelaxed atmosphereour room was spacious
Filter
Updating list...
566 - 571 of 643 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Went here for a 60th Anniversary Party yesterday (lunch).
The food was excellent.
Lovely spot, lovely grounds, would be great to stay here, I reckon.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KATHYEAGLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Your family party were a joy to serve and we are so glad that it was the relaxed, happy occasion that you had hoped for. Let`s hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I first stayed at Glewstone Court last year and have returned as often as possible ever since.
As I travel a lot with work I've had my fill of anonymous, sanitised lifeless hotels that promise the earth but in reality deliver nothing.
From arrival until departure every possible need is provided for.
Glewstone Court is a fabulous old country house in gorgeous grounds and has perfected 'Shabby chic' in the best possible way.
Bedrooms are all individual and cosy with great welcoming touches (fresh flowers, home made biscuits etc).
Hosts, Christine and Bill are wonderful. Friendlyand amenable as well as really good fun.
As far as the food goes it's faultless. I have yet to have anything I didn't like or that wasn't cooked to perfection. The wine list is also fabulous and further reflects the thought and care that is always so evident when I stay.... I always avoid weighing myself for a few days after I have visited!
I love this place and just couldn't recommend it highly enough...will be back again very soon

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie2166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to post such a great review; you have managed to put into words the very ethos that we have always strived to portray here at Glewstone and Bill and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We have visited this comfortable and beautifully appointed country house several times.It is ideal for a relaxing meal .The decor is magnificent with the rooms having most interesting artworks and antiques.It is well away from busy roads so is quiet with a welcoming entrance.The food is well presented and tasty and not expensive for its quality.The staff were attentive and the owner introduced himself. The two very elderly ladies with us were able to chat easily in the large rooms.If you like the charm of up to date eating in elegant country house surroundings it is worth visiting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2012

Thankyou for your recent review; it reads just like a description that we ourselves would hope to write and its very encouraging to all of us here that our guests feel the same. Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We took my mum here for the first night of a short holiday. We arrived in torrential rain after spending the day at a tennis event in Edgebaston. They gave us a warm welcome and after settling into our rooms we went down to the bar to order our dinner. Even though it was June they had a lovely open fire going which was very welcome as we had been cold all day.
As we were quite late arriving we were the only ones in the restaurant but the food was good and it was a nice experience all round. Perfect for our particular requirements.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renmand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were only booked in for one night. With 3 dogs it can sometimes be difficult to find a quality place. However, we received a great welcome, the room we had was huge, very clean and comfortable. We only had to pay for one dog as they were poodles and did not shed.

Dinner and breakfast were very nice. Also lots of nice extras such as blankets for the dogs (to keep them off the furniture).

Overall very satisfied with our stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Number 1 was huge with a great outlook.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Molly187054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glewstone, Owner at Glewstone Court, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Thankyou for taking the time to give us such a great review; we are always delighted to welcome dogs- Benjii our three year old working cocker is now sadly an ` only dog` as we have lost his two companions in the past few months; as he is as friendly and welcoming as we all arehere he is thrilled to meet new friends- both human and canine, many thanks again, Christine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews