We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Christmas Day”

Orles Barn Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 84 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $159
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxed Christmas Day”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having "done" Christmas Day for over 30 years!! It was time with family all grown up to go out...... and we were not disappointed. A relaxed atmosphere was equally balanced with great tasting food all served by friendly welcoming staff, an experience that may be repeated if the family will let me have another Christmas off!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wonderbabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    16
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Only 9 chips?”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I took my wife for a walking break in the area, and I booked a suite for the night, and a meal to celebrate my wife's birthday. Accommodation was ok - although the low-hanging beams are a risk to anyone above average height - but the meal was a joke.
My wife's starter was basically an open sandwich, but still considerably more filling than mine - a poached pear, which was just that, a very small pear, cut into three pieces.
Our main courses would have passed for a starter in many restaurants. Mine (£14.95 I think, but I never saw an itemised bill) consisted of a few small slices of duck breast, with about one tablespoon of mash and two of rice. Madam's steak (£17.50) was equally small, with exactly 9 chips - regular chips, not the fat "hand-cut" style. We are both in our sixties and not big eaters, but we were both still hungry, after paying £57+ for two starters and two main courses - drinks were extra. We complained but it was obvious that neither the waitress, nor the chef, had any idea - nor the authority - to deal with any problem. The manageress was on her night off.
The following day, I asked if the same chef was on - he was, so naturally I wouldn't take a chance on the breakfast, which I'd already paid for. Strangely, the manageress didn't show herself until after I'd asked for, and paid, my bill (to another young waitress). When I identified that she was the manageress, I told her of our complaint. She blamed the staff, but it was plain that she already had my money and therefore couldn't give a toss. I left feeling very hungry indeed; I would only recommend this place to any Weight Watchers' parties with money to burn. Value for money is an insult, and the customer service which I received is in the finest Basil Fawlty tradition.
The place was almost empty - I'm not surprised.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank LesHrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlesbarn, Owner at Orles Barn Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review, I would like to correct you on a few points however.
Your main course was not duck but pheasant breast served with wholegrain mashed potato and vegetables (no rice). Your wife's steak was 8oz and the chips are always hand cut by our chefs.
You left the waitress in tears to a degree where the chef was going to come out and speak to you - instead he reassured the waitress and continued with his job.
The next morning you proclaimed to another guest how bad the food was and put them in a very awkward situation, the guest even said to you that the breakfast was excellent.
At no point did you ask to speak to me and you did not complain until after you had paid your bill and were half way out the door! I did not blame the staff at all - I asked you if you had been checked on during your meal - you said the waitress had checked on you and that you had said everything was fine. I do not understand why with such a complaint you would not say so at the time or even whilst paying your bill?
The comment about myself "not giving a toss" is disgusting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fine dining”
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Just eaten the best Sunday lunch we have had out in a long while. All three courses were delicious, and real quality for the price, and the drinks very reasonable, so I don't know what the one review was all about , must have put too much milk in coffee and I'd like to know where they drink if they think it's dear. The staff are very pleasant and helpful, a big thumbs up to chef and Kerry, would definitely recommend to anybody to give a try, will be back soon, especially if the vanilla cheesecake is on menu, trust us you won't beat it.

Helpful?
Thank critisise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our perfect wedding at Orles Barn”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Kerri the manager, Rich the chef and the whole team at this venue helped make our wedding day on 19th October perfect. Nothing was too much trouble and they helped us feel right at home from the Friday to the Sunday. The weather did its best to hamper the catering but didn't win, we did! I can't recommend this venue enough for an intimate wedding. Our 100 guests in the evening were also well fed and looked after, as were we the whole time. We will definitely be back in the future, for our first anniversary if not before! Thanks everyone at this stunning and beautiful place, Mr and Mrs Chris Canner xxxxxxx

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KHardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Part of a party of Rotarians for a special occasion.The food some of us were served was a chicken dish with sauce. It was awlful as they had supplied 5 small rolls of reconstituted chicken breast which were absolutely tasteless, a tiny roll of potato, inadequate supply of vegetables so we had to wait for more to microwaved. Sweets were poor and coffee so weak. Overcharged on expensive drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orles Barn Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Orles Barn Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing