We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food but not authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Zam Zam

Cafe Zam Zam
Ranked #18 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Indian restaurant bring your own beer and wine (Serve soft drinks) Been serving food in Ross on Wye since 2005 to present Zamzam is a family run business that have been serving good indian food for decades
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Tasty food but not authentic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were staying in a holiday apartment just across the road from Zam Zam so it was a very convenient place to eat. When we arrived at 7pm only one other table was occupied but when we left at 8.30 the place was full so a tip book a table in advance if you can.
The service was friendly but a bit slow as our waiter was called away a couple of times to deal with people collecting take away orders. The food was tasty and reasonably priced but my so called southern Indian garlic chicken was not authentic. I have travelled in Goa, Kerela and Tamil Nadu and this dish at Zam Zam bore no relation to the lovely coconut milk and curry leaf dishes that I ate there. Still it was ok.
BE AWARE they don't serve alcohol but you can take your own.
Would I eat there again, probably not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    36
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Outstanding Meal and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I have been a regular for nearly 8 years and consistently had excellent meals and service at reasonable prices. Shah and his colleagues never fail to make you feel very welcome and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. This team deserve a much higher rating in the Ross on Wye area than 8th. The chef and the front of house all merit 5 stars, Do not miss this restaurant when you dine in Ross. Thank you to all at ZAM ZAM.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another fantastic meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went on a wednesday with 2 friends - great food yet again with generous portions 4 courses for £10. Excellent staff - always friendly

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jojomorris18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Takeaway. Will sit down for a meal next tim”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews and speaking to a couple of locals it was a bit of a "no brainier" for someone in need of a curry in the Wye Valley. Despite the lure of the ridiculously economic Special Menu we too the food away and were not disappointed. Flavoursome and filling. All 'n'all an excellent curry experience made better by the charming and helpful manager and his staff. Highly Recommended .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SandhurstGriswalds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross on Wye, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Indian in Ross”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

Great food, great customer service and a great atmosphere!!
This really is an excellent restaurant, the food is always set at a very high standard. The staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Zam Zam also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Upton Bishop, Ross-on-Wye
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Cafe Zam Zam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing