We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent day out”

Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre
Ranked #3 of 13 Tours in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A Family Run Centre, Providing the most Professional and Qualified Canoe Hire and Adventure Activities in the area.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Tromped up without a booking, managed to get out on river within 1 hour and had a wonderful day paddling back down the Wye to Simmonds Yat.

Excellent team and VFM!

Thank Jon_Bradley_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyedeanCanoe, Manager at Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank our customer for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that they enjoyed their recent experience and the level of service that was provided.

We look forward to welcoming them back in the future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"safety briefing"
in 19 reviews
"the river"
in 81 reviews
"kerne bridge"
in 17 reviews
"three hours"
in 6 reviews
"life jackets"
in 8 reviews
"great fun"
in 12 reviews
"driving licence"
in 2 reviews
"security deposit"
in 2 reviews
"short journey"
in 2 reviews
"couldn t"
in 2 reviews
"small dog"
in 2 reviews
"brilliant experience"
in 3 reviews
"pay and display car park"
in 2 reviews
"breathtaking scenery"
in 2 reviews
"buoyancy aids"
in 4 reviews
"explained everything"
in 2 reviews
"hard work"
in 5 reviews
Filter

144 - 148 of 188 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2013

A great session. Well aimed at individual needs with lots of invaluable tips for improving skills on white water. The assigned coach, Dan, was very happy to repeat advice and demonstrate breaking in and out of eddy lines, ferry gliding and rolling.

Safety precautions were very clearly in place and gave me the reassurance to push myself a little bit further each time.

Ilook forward to a return visit soon

Thank PaulT297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyedeanCanoe, Manager at Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank our valued customer for choosing to use Wyedean for their introductory course in White Water Kayaking.

We are very pleased to hear that the level of coaching and guidance that was provided by our coach was appreciated and found to be beneficial.

We look forward to welcoming our customer back and aiding their progression in the sport.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

6 of us spent a weekend at the centre, camping in 2 tents

PROS
Great location, right by the river, short walk to pub
£30.00 no noise fee kept the camp quite late at night (This is refundable)
Fab canoe trip
Helpful staff

CONS (Minor)
Would like electric hook up capability
shelf/coat hooks in toilet block
Bigger washing up area

We will be booking again!

Thank simonjacobson7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyedeanCanoe, Manager at Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank our valued customer for sharing their enjoyable experience with others.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their stay and the activities which they partook in.
Also grateful of the appreciation of our noise bond policy which insures our customers enjoy a good nights sleep.

Electric Hook up is a little difficult for us due to the nature of our location on the riverside and the flooding which we encounter during winter months, however this is something we are looking into.

We look forward to welcoming our customers back again in the near future.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

My nine year old son and I went on the half day trip on a very sunny beautiful weekend. The staff were generally lovely and helpful but one was a bit like a sergeant major. You have to move the boats off the trailer for example which I found difficult as I had no idea what I was doing and they are heavy. He got a bit shirty about how long it was taking to get them off and carried down to the river which I found quite off-putting. The trip itself is though lovely and the scenery is beautiful. Nine miles is I would say a bit far for a first attempt and as it was so hot we struggled after a couple of hours paddling. Also if you go with a child you'll probably end up doing all the paddling and so be ready to be a bit stiff the next day!

Thank Jane66666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyedeanCanoe, Manager at Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank our guest for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased to hear that they enjoyed their trip with us despite it being a little to far for them.
With regards to the carrying of canoes this is part of the experience however we do urge our customers to advise us should they need any assistance.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We paddled the Wye from Ross to Symonds Yat on the first day, staying in The Royal Lodge Hotel overnight. The next day we continued down to Brockweir which was a bit more lively as there were a few areas of slightly faster flowing river. Great fun was had by myself and my wife in one canoe and my two daughters and their boyfriends in two more canoes especially in the shallows! The centre staff were very helpful and happy with good instruction ashore and I would recommend this to anyone especially going down to Brockweir.
Colin G.

Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WyedeanCanoe, Manager at Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We thank our valued customer for taking the time to post their review.

We are very pleased that our customer enjoyed their time with us and that the level of service and expertise provided was to their satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming our customer back again in the very near future for another enjoyable experience.

Kind Regards
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre also viewed

 
Symonds Yat, Ross-on-Wye
Goodrich, Ross-on-Wye
 

Been to Wyedean Canoe Day Trips And Activity Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing