We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly host, comfortable stay & cracking breakfast!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linden Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Linden Guest House
Ranked #5 of 40 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly host, comfortable stay & cracking breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We wanted to visit Ross-on-Wye as a short weekend break and booked the guest house at the last minute. The building was very attractive and the bedroom was nicely presented and comfortable. We had a nice view looking out over the church. Pat was a great host at breakfast and cooked our meals in front of us whilst providing good conversation. The food was fresh & excellent. We would recommend staying here if you want a good base from which to visit Ross & the surrounding area.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    44
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
95
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Cosy room with a great view of the church across the road. Very helpful host who cooked an excellent breakfast. Convenient location at the high end of the town. Parking is available but not easy to access.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed one Saturday evening with Sunday breakfast. We were upgraded to the apartment due to a problem with our shower which was a no fuss experience. Location was super for a walk around town and access to numerous pubs and shops.

Very comfortable and good value. Breakfast was best we've had. Pat the proprietor was excellent and friendly. Can't recommend highly enough and will return.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephenk289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Two night stay. A very friendly host, Patrick convenient location to the town and surrounding areas. Excellent room, great view, great freshly cooked frbreakfast. Highly recommended. Everything other recent reviews have said are true.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed for just one night at Linden Guest House, a stop on route for busines, but I will certainly consider staying here again. Ross is a great place with much history and charactor anfd the Linden House is right in the heart of the place. The guest house is very comfortable and cosy with a warm welcome from Patrick the landlord. Breakfast was cooked to your taste by Patrick.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the property overlook the Church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely one night stay. Straight forward, friendly, lovely building in a great spot in Ross on Wye. Cracking breakfast. Very friendly and helpful host without being interfering. Would happily recommend or visit again.
Not much more to say.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Linden Guest House is situated in a great location for visiting Ross on Wye, Symonds Yat, the Forest of Dean and the Hereford and Monmouth areas. Patrick is a fund of information and makes the stay a truly sociable event. He is eager to help and share stories and experiences. Breakfast is cooked specifically to your requirements and in front of you, a unique experience. It is this level of hospitality and care that would encourage you to to return to the Linden Guest House and to the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
3.5 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#10 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden Guest House

Property: Linden Guest House
Address: 14 Church Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Linden Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden Guest House bed and breakfast is right in the heart of the heritage area of Ross on Wye. We aim for our bed and breakfast to offer excellent value accommodation just a minute's walk from a selection of restaurants and cosy coffee shops. If you are working locally or planning to enjoy the delights of the stunning Wye Valley, Forest of Dean and, of course, the very beautiful county of Herefordshire, our bed and breakfast is well-placed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Linden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden Guest House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing