We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best service in town”
Review of Raglan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Raglan House
Ranked #22 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

Although I am a local I hadn't tried this restaurant since its make over. I shall definately be going back again and again. The service by the young man was outstanding. The food was extremely tasty and home cooked. I would have no reservation in recommending this place

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank stephenbray46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 73 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here last weekend and used Ross-On-Wye as a base to explore. I cannot recommend Raglan House enough the rooms were well decorated and we were made to feel extremely welcome by our hosts.

Breakfast was fantastic and more than i expected for the price. Next time I am in Ross-on-wye I will definately be staying at Raglan House.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screechyboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed here Saturday night and it was well worth the visit. I was made to feal very welcome, Ok the room wasn't massive but more than adequate, and lets be honest you are only sleeping in it, and the room was very clean. In the morning the breakfast was excellent and of a very high quality. The only one real downside was the parking Mon-Sat parking is restricted between 9 and 6, but there are some car parks within a short walk, I moved my car later that day and was able to park right outside. Also must mention if you want somewhere excellent to eat walk a few minutes down the road and eat in Yaks and Yetis a Nepalese resturant, very,very good. All in all Ross is lovely and I will be back and will be staying at Raglan House.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bigbert2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Robert m, Owner at Raglan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your nice review. All comments will be acted upon, good or bad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

After reading previous reviews I wasnt sure I had booked the best place to stay in Ross but I can honestly say I loved this place.
Warm greeting from the owner who showed us to our room and facilities, our room overlooked a small outdoor seating are which was very pretty. The room was very well decorated although I agree with other reveiwers who mention the carpets, which werent to my taste but very good quality- according to my mum.
We were given a map of the local area and a couple of suggestions for meals out. We tried the Royal Hotel which overlooks the river, a beautiful place to chill out with a drink.
Breakfast was fantastic, a great choice served in shabby chic crockery, which I loved. The scrambled eggs were the best ive had in years.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Room was ok but the whole place needs a facelift and a new carpet! Breakfast was good and owners were friendly. Bit of an update would work wonders for the place. Right in the centre of town so good position although Ross-on-Wye itself was very disappointing. We had a room at the back so weren't disturbed by street noise (just the creaking floorboards as the owners moved around upstairs at 2am!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SB1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Robert m, Owner at Raglan House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

I agree that the carpet is busy & not to everyones taste. It was here when we took over the business last December & is of a very good quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have to be perfectly honest and say that I wasn't that impressed. I stay in B and B's because I like staying in somebody's house but this place is more of a very good tea room with rooms. We had a room at the back and I thought the room was a bit dated and claustrophibic and there is no guest lounge. However it was reasonably good value and the breakfast was excellent. Unfortunately I am a light sleeper and by the time the nearby nightclub had turned off their music I was never going to get any sleep. I appreciate the owners of the B and B have no control over this but it is an issue. We were there on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights last weekend and can't fault the place. Received a warm welcome when we arrived, the room was excellent and had a fantastic breakfast in the morning. Very good value for money and will definitely be visiting again if we're ever in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,158 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#6 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radcliffe Guest House
Radcliffe Guest House
#11 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Bridge House
The Bridge House
#5 of 43 in Ross-on-Wye
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raglan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raglan House

Address: 17 Broad Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7EA, England (Formerly Nature's Choice)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $81 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Raglan House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
`Raglan House’ is an elegant Grade II listed Queen Anne building, situated in Broad Street in the heart of the historic market town of Ross- on -Wye, "the gateway to the forest of Dean".Having a central town location, and a 3 minute drive to the M50, the guest house is an ideal place to stay both for the travelling business person, or a family, wishing to take a relaxing break, and explore the area.Our AA 4 * accommodation comprises of four guest rooms: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Raglan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raglan House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing