We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place definatly be back”
Review of The White Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ross-on-Wye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White Lion
Ranked #19 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I have just returned from a few days staying at the white lion inn. This was my second time to stay with Dave and Jacqui, and once again the White Lion did not fail to impress. Myself and my friend where on a fishing trip to the river Wye and both of us couldn't have been happier, with the quality of the food, accommodation and friendliness of the staff.
Despite the river not being in the best condition for angling due to the low water, Dave still worked very hard to put us on some fish and we caught some fine Barbel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the White Lion and will see you all again next year.
Thank you
Andrew,
Eire.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EilishAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 177 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed there at weekend to focussed on chub and barble fishing with my buddy.the water was low on the river but Dave set us right on where r fish.lovely homely atmosphere and good food.what more could a couple of anglers ask for.Bob in kells

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keepnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I stayed here with a friend of mine, as part of a canoe trip that we had planned on our annual boys weekend away. We had planned a 2 day canoe trip down the River Wye from Hoarwithy to Symonds Yat. I booked it on line as it seemed perfectly placed to beach our canoe overnight and was about half way. We asked if we could leave gear we would need overnight (as we didn't want to carry it in the canoe) and asked to leave it at the pub before picking up the canoe. Rather oddly we were told they didn't have anywhere they could store it, so were offered an outside unsecured lean-to as the only option. This meant not being able to leave anything of any value whatsoever as the lean-to was accessed from the public areas. We weren't impressed by this. And there certainly was no attempt to offer any further assistance. We arrived the following day in the afternoon, having paddling for 4 hrs from Hoarwithy. The grassed area below the pub was where we were asked to leave the canoe and were told it would be safe overnight even though there was access from the main road and no means of securing the canoe anywhere. Again, I thought this poor for a holiday high season venue, despite an assurance that in 9 years non-one had lost a canoe. In short, the pub offers no acceptance of liability despite being one of the main overnight venues for canoers, the onus rests with the hirer of the canoe. I guess they will just wait until one is stolen before changing the way they handing canoers. And the word is that 3 new canoe hire firms have started up this year, so business and canoe traffic is set to rise. Campers are allowed to pitch on the grass in front of the pub, facing the river. The main bar area stank of stale beer and food, not to appetizing as this is where breakfast is served in the morning Hmmmm! The public areas look tired and furniture and decor is very dated, a throw back to the 80's The outside area facing the river gives the impression of being put together on a real budget. There has been little effort to try and dress up this area, what with a wooden shed for a sheltered outside area. Really underwhelming for what could otherwise be a really nice venue on the river by the bridge. It has the impression of being a typical heavily used town pub. The twin room we had, was small but adequate. The carpet was stained, the furniture plain. It had a small tv on the windowsill with no attempt made to hide the wire and satellite cable which just dropped down to the plug on the wall. The bathroom was clean with a good shower. Finally, in my view, what makes a venue is the staff. Polite but cold and disinterested would perhaps be accurate. The landlord/owner spoke to us on the 2nd morning and was pleasant enough, but otherwise we had little sense of warmth of hospitality. Breakfast variety was plain, although my friend's full english looked pretty good. The food was well cooked but well...just very plain. I asked for fruit on the second morning as informed that they didn't do that here. That pretty well summed up the place for me. If I had asked for cheesy chips for breakfast I have no doubt I would have been accommodated. In short, like the school report... could really do alot better, with a little effort. Disappointing, especially given such a great location

Room Tip: Rooms either face the road or the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vdubbman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

We were camping with canoes at the back of the Hotel. They mansged to squeeze tents so closely together that the night resembled a farmyard for snores and grunts. Surely they have never heard of the 30 foot rule for health and safety (fire risks).
The toilet/shower facility consisted of one male, one female toilet and one shared shower (£1 for 3 minutes) and a sink (cold water only).
However the £6 breakfast was good value.
Alas, alternatives are not available,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2011

Thank you for the time you took to review our establishment -
As you saw we only have a small riverbank and due to parish council restrictions we are only allowed to have the tents up against the wall - putting them close together allows everyone to be able to camp overnight as you say with no other alternatives a lot of people are not able to enjoy the river. We do not have to have any such rule as we do not allow fires on the riverbank and if we did set the tents as you state 30 feet apart we would only be able to take 2 tents!!
As for the facilities - wow what more do you want!!! would you prefer a row of smelly portaloo's??? yes there is only one toilet for each sex but these are kept to a high standard are accessible 24 hours with a working electric light - and yes you have to pay to have a shower - this does cost us money to run you know - some people do not respect the facilities and we already have had to replace the shower twice due to vandalism - so yes we charge a £1 but even i as a woman can shower and wash my hair in that amount of time.
You ticked the boxed that the cleanleness only merited a 2 out of 5 why was this as they are cleaned from top to bottom daily? you also ticked that the service was not good - why was this and which member of staff did it relate to?
I feel when writing a review that it should be a fair description of your experience. i hope that you have not slated us as others were snoring?
I look forward to hearing your comments and hope that if you ever canoe the wye again you find somewhere that suits your needs better than our riverbank.
Kind regards
The White Lion

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2011

Lovely views, excellent access to riverside activities, small campsite, delicious breakfasts and well cooked evening meals. Well situated for exploration of the area, eg Symonds Yat and the ancient castles.

Room Tip: Room overlooked lane - very quiet ineed at night,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georginamartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

14 of us (8 adults and 6 children) recently camped at the White Lion. I can truly say we had the most wonderful stay. Toilets and showers were in immaculate condition. Staff were really accommodating with the kids and the kitchen staff even helped with two of our party that are vegetarian and gluten free. Everyone loved the breakfast sitting outside on the decking overlooking the river. The kids especially loved the two pub dogs which are really friendly. Highly recommended and we will be back next year.

Oh yes !!! And the best kept real ales we had during the trip !!!

Room Tip: Didnt stay in the rooms but the campsite is lovely and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkCrawfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Thank you for your review - it was a pleasure having you all - i know the dogs really missed the children.

Looking forward to seeing you all again next year.

Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed there on the 9th and 10th July. There was 4 of us in our party and we was camping. Couldn't have asked for a better location as it was on the river. As for our stay the landlord and landlady Dave and Jacqui made it a fantastic weekend for us. You can't fault the bar staff 10/10. We had the breakfast twice and stayed for dinner twice. The food was fantastic. There was a shower and toilets for us campers, which is more than other places had. For the money paid for staying there, eating and drinking I will definitely be coming back again. I would like to thank everyone associated the white lion and look forward to seeing you all again soon. Graham

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gilesyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacquinewman, Owner at The White Lion, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2011

Dear Graham

Thank you for your lovely review.

Just wanted to say how much we all enjoyed having you and the 'lads' here - really enjoyed Saturday night with you all.

Looking forward to seeing you all again and hopefully meeting your wife's as well.

Jacqui

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
1,173 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
422 reviews
4.4 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
254 reviews
4.8 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Lion

Address: Wilton Lane | Wilton, Ross-on-Wye HR9 6AQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The White Lion Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing