We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want a truly great place to stay then this is it!”
Review of Brookfield House

Brookfield House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brookfield House
Ranked #20 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A simply delightful small hotel superbly located for exploring the Wye Valley. We were met by the owners Robin and Kaye complete with the best coffee and walnut cake we have EVER had the pleasure of eating (and my wife is a chef) and a charming friendly dog called Ronnie - delightful! The owners were a truly an example of what being hosts is all about, nothing was too much trouble and each request was met with warmth, courtesy and charm. In the three days we were there we sampled some of the very best breakfasts that you could imagine. In summary - brilliant - give it a go you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

I don't think we could have found a better venue for our short break to the Wye Valley this week. The standard of accommodation, service and catering is excellent. The room was spacious, tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean. Robin and Kaye are the warmest, most engaging hosts who are always prepared to go the extra mile to make your stay the best it can be. We would highly recommend a visit to Brookfield House to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The hosts are extremely welcoming, supplying us with tea/coffee and fantastic cake on arrival. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was truly delicious, due to local, fresh produce. Lots of local tips given for places to visit and places to eat (or avoid!) Would highly recommend, only slight downside is that the photo is very carefully taken to avoid the fact that the house is now surrounded by a housing estate, that meant that from our room we could see straight into a couple of bedrooms in neighbouring properties and presumably vice versa! Lovely b & b, lovely hosts. : )

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julia q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

If you like friendly, helpful people and one of the best breakfasts you'll ever have go here! We had a glitch with other accommodation for the night and we were lucky to be referred to Robin and Kaye. They helped us find a place for dinner, the route to take on our journey and gave us a great experience. Our room was lovely with firm comfy bed, tea, coffee and biscuits and wifi that worked in our room. We sat and chattered with them and other guests after breakfast. They may have reminded these Aussies about the Ashes score but apart from that we couldn't have had a better time. Short walk to river, high street and church. Ross-on-wye is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: There is no pool - couldn't cancel it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had great stay over, kay and robin very welcoming and caring.nice room great breakfast (and cake) good atsmosfear its a must stay.I recommend brookfield house to everyone 1000%.
Its a nice quiet area lot's to visit around .very good peru restaurant near by.will defenetly stay again.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 2.nice clean and spacious .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tornala83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We had a lovely overnight stay at Brookfield House, where the rooms were clean, spacious and extremely comfortable. We had tea and cake on arrival and were most welcome. Breakfast was excellent with a lot of choice and catered for all your needs. Local produce used made a difference to the quality of the food.
I would thoroughly recommend Brookfield House.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Have been staying for years at this characterful guest house where everyone receives individual attention, glutein-free breakfasts if required, home-made porridge and huge comfortable rooms.
Only having 3 bedrooms guarantees Robin and Kaye can talk to everyone and provide peace and quiet in the evening. I visit family but also make the most of the beautiful scenery in the area, the Forest, Tintern, Chepstow, Monmouth (one of our favourite shopping towns), Symonds Yat etc etc. Abergavenny is not too far, as are Hereford, Gloucester and Worcester. A great find.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
238 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
417 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: Over Ross Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $90 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is a large detached, Georgian Grade II listed house in the historic town of Ross on Wye. We are rated as 4 Star Highly Commended by the AA & all rooms are very spacious double ensuites with comfortable King sized beds.(One bedroom has an adjoining single room whihc can be used for a family member). Each room has a flat screen TV, wifi access and generous service tray with refreshments. Our guest lounge is beautifully decorated. Visitors are welcome to relax in it at any time with a cup of tea or coffee and a piece of home made cake. We have a large private car park and two shed suitable for the secure storage of bicycles. Ross-on-Wye is in an area of Outstanding Natural beauty. It has much to offer visitors from walking, climbing, cycling, canoeing etc to visiting the many historic sites like castles and cathedrals.Living in a rural area, the local restaurants serve locally sourced meat, vegetables and fruit and we are lucky to have some excellent restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing