We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have your cake and eat it”
Review of Brookfield House

Brookfield House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Brookfield House
Ranked #17 of 42 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Have your cake and eat it”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

For a wedding anniversary trip of a certain significance we needed a special place and we weren't disappointed. Brookfield House scored highly in every respect: warm welcome, spacious room, comfortable accommodation and friendly and knowledgeable hosts in Kay and Robin. I've still to mention the fabulous breakfasts and delicious cake which was a very welcome sight after a day's walking. Would we go again? Of course we would and we are also making very warm recommendations to all our friends.

Room Tip: Room 3 was large and comfortable with a double bed which ensured a splendid night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
26
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

from e-mail to kaye ringing us back straight away fo availability, we knew we had made the right choice. when we arrived it was so welcming to.a lovely touch kaye gave us coffee + cakes. after she had showed us are room. which was lovely very spacious and very clean.kaye + robin was also helpful with places to go.it was very convenient for town, just a 5 minute walk.we will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great pre-arrival, telephone enquiry, took deposit - smooth as can be. Arrival - lovely welcome; friendly, interested; but not intrusive - tea and home-made cake supplied - just the ticket. Rooms clean, comfortable and with some views of the area - it is located on the edge of the town centre - so there is some bustle and industry in view. Hosts explained all the amenities and offered helpful suggestions regards feeding - my daughter is vegan. Hosts provided some interesting insights into town life. Fantastic breakfast experience - all so fresh, tasty and nutritious - one of the best "full english" I've had in many a year. I have to say - a real gem. Hopefully we can get back down there later this year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roger h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfieldhouse, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank-you for your generous review. We enjoyed having you all and look forward to welcoming you again if you return.
Robin and Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

really welcoming hosts, smashing rooms and really good facilities and one of the best breakfasts ive ever had on holiday. in the rooms there was a really comprehensive list of local attractions, restaurants etc and it really felt as though they couldnt do enough to help you enjoy your stay- highly recommend this b and b as the quality was brilliant

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfieldhouse, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank-you for your lovely review we did enjoy your company and look forward to having you to stay should you return to Ross.
Robin and Kaye
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2012

What a lovely B & B and Kaye and Robin are delightful hosts. The room (3) was very spacious and clean and had everything you could need for a couple of days away. Brookfield House is just up the hill from the town (less than 5 minutes walk) which has lots of shops, cafes and places to eat and drink in the evening. Particularly enjoyed Yaks and Yetis. The breakfasts were filling, fresh and served with good humour which Robin has the right balance of - friendly and there when needed but not intrusive.
The garden is a lovely place to sit in the evening/after breakfast and we fell in love with the nutty young boxer Ronnie!
A central location for visiting Symonds Yat; Monmouth; Goodrich Castle (would highly recommend) and other places in the Forest of Dean.
Will we visit again ? ABSOLUTLEY !!!
Thanks Robin and Kaye and hope to see you again soon (oh and Ronnie!)
Elaine and Matt

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinkletoesOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Our stay was perfect, family gathering for wedding, nothing was too much trouble, in fact most of our needs were already anticipated, including tea & home made cake on arrival, and ironing board on morning of wedding. Thank you for an unintrusive but caring stay, almost like home to home. Captured our true spirit, and will highly recommend. Brookfield House is slightly out of Ross on Wye town centre, but within easy walking distance. A perfect choice for those who want to experience the town but don't want the late night noise of a town centre location. Accomodation was ideal for 3 x double rooms, all of which were large and had everything you could wish for. Robin & Kaye are excellent hosts.. and I haven't even mentioned the breakfasts yet. Go on and book this accomodation & enjoy a real experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

A delightful establishment where a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. You are sure to have a nice breakfast sourced from local produce where possible, before you set off on the days journey perhaps to enjoy the wonderful views that surround Ross-on-Wye.

Robin and Kaye have been able to capture that "home from home" feeling providing clean spacious rooms and a comfortable bed where one can feel at ease...in essence the true quality of a good B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.4 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
1,092 reviews
0.3 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
375 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Lodge Hotel
Castle Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Old Court Hotel
The Old Court Hotel
#7 of 13 in Ross-on-Wye
456 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Linden Guest House
Linden Guest House
#9 of 42 in Ross-on-Wye
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Property: Brookfield House
Address: Over Ross Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is a large detached, Georgian Grade II listed house in the historic town of Ross on Wye. We are rated as 4 Star Highly Commended by the AA & all rooms are very spacious double ensuites with comfortable King sized beds.(One bedroom has an adjoining single room whihc can be used for a family member). Each room has a flat screen TV, wifi access and generous service tray with refreshments. Our guest lounge is beautifully decorated. Visitors are welcome to relax in it at any time with a cup of tea or coffee and a piece of home made cake. We have a large private car park and two shed suitable for the secure storage of bicycles. Ross-on-Wye is in an area of Outstanding Natural beauty. It has much to offer visitors from walking, climbing, cycling, canoeing etc to visiting the many historic sites like castles and cathedrals.Living in a rural area, the local restaurants serve locally sourced meat, vegetables and fruit and we are lucky to have some excellent restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing