We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation with a warm welcome”
Review of Brookfield House

Brookfield House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brookfield House
Ranked #19 of 43 Ross-on-Wye B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We visited Brookfield House for two nights recently and were very impressed by the accommodation, warm welcome and excellent breakfast. On arrival we were offered a cup of tea, most welcome after a long journey, which arrived with delicious cakes in the guest lounge. The owners were very friendly and approachable and did everything they could to make us feel welcome. Our room was of a really large size and was spotlessly clean, having everything one could wish for, including a couple of comfortable leather armchairs,TV and modern ensuite. The owners have personal knowledge about several local restaurants of all levels and will give helpful information if you wish. We would have no hesitation in returning if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seeking_Shangri-La
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 114 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

One of the nicest B&Bs we have stayed in. Good parking, hosts friendly and helpful. Just a couple of minutes walk to the town. Good breakfast. Our room was lovely and quite large.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derekstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Our arrival at the Brookfield House was like arriving at a traditional English Manor House! Robin and Kaye were very welcoming, served tea and biscuits, and spent time getting to know us, our background and interests. The family room we stayed in was elegant, spacious and clean, and the bed with the golden headboard real impressed my wife! The breakfast was of superb quality and was beautifully served - a gourmet's delight. The location was ideal for a walk into town and to one of the fine restaurants there. The parking was also plentiful and easy to access. You will enjoy your stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norman T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Spent a wonderful 3 nights, 15/17 Sept 2011 at Brookfield House with our friends, Pat, Ron, Joyce and Ian.
Our charming hosts, Robin and Kaye were very kind and helpful in recommending restaurants in the area and then making reservations on our behalf. They both have a great deal of knowledge on the local amenities and places of interest which we found very helpful.
On arrival, we were greeted with tea or coffee and delicious home made cake. This was repeated each afternoon of our stay.
The on-suite rooms were spacious with extremely comfortable king size beds. All rooms were tastefully decorated.
Each room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities also there was biscuits and bottled water which was replenished each day.
The breakfasts were out of this world with such choices as cereals, fresh fruit salads, yoghurt, Scrambled egg with smoked salmon and of course full English breakfasts, all cooked to perfection.
Brookfield House is well situated for visiting picturesque towns and villages and is within walking distance of the town centre of Ross on Wye.
We highly recommend Brookfield house B & B to anyone contemplating a stay in the area.
Val and Rick White, Sussex

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kechanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brookfieldhouse, Owner at Brookfield House, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2011

Dear Rick, Val, Joyce, Ian, Ron and Pat,
It was so lovely having you at Brookfield House, you were charming guests and we so enjoyed getting to know you. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you again the next time you visit the area.
Warm Regards,
Kaye and Robin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent two nights at Brookfield House during August.
The room was lovely – clean and spacious with a comfy bed, biscuits, teas, water etc.
Breakfast was great – plenty of fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, a choice of cereals and a cooked breakfast as well.
Robin and Kaye were very welcoming and have some great knowledge about the local area and were able to recommend places for us to visit in our spare time.
There is parking available and the house is within walking distance of Ross-on-Wye.
We’ve already recommended the place to friends and hope to return again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayp_ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We cannot say enough about the house and the hosts! We spent 3 nights here in July on our month-long vacation in England and Wales. We immediately sensed a kind of "kinship" with both Robin and Kaye. We value highly the pleasant wide-ranging conversations with them. Their recommendations for sights as well as shopping - we needed an additional suitcase! - were very useful and highly appreciated. We enjoyed the "luxury" of a very spacious and comfortable room. The bed was perfect, and the room had a lovely view. It was also very convenient to have a large and easily accessible car park behind the house. The breakfasts were delicious with lots of choice.
Brookfield House, with Robin and Kaye, are well-deserving of their very high Trip Advisor rating. We sincerely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EE-squared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent a couple of days at Brookfield House in order to visit the fabulous Baileys Home & Garden in Ross-on-Wye. Robin and Kaye were lovely hosts and there is certainly the feeling that you are staying in a friend's home rather than a B&B. The accomodation is very comfortable with all amenities you would expect. The location of the B&B is well suited for exploring the local area. A nicely run local establishment.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDLCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
5.2 mi away
Thatch Close Farm B&B
Thatch Close Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Llangrove
31 reviews
3.7 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
242 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lea House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Penyard House
Penyard House
#1 of 1 in Weston under Penyard
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Royal Lodge
The Royal Lodge
#2 of 6 in Symonds Yat
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookfield House

Address: Over Ross Street, Ross-on-Wye HR9 7AT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range: $114 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookfield House is a large detached, Georgian Grade II listed house in the historic town of Ross on Wye. We are rated as 4 Star Highly Commended by the AA & all rooms are very spacious double ensuites with comfortable King sized beds.(One bedroom has an adjoining single room whihc can be used for a family member). Each room has a flat screen TV, wifi access and generous service tray with refreshments. Our guest lounge is beautifully decorated. Visitors are welcome to relax in it at any time with a cup of tea or coffee and a piece of home made cake. We have a large private car park and two shed suitable for the secure storage of bicycles. Ross-on-Wye is in an area of Outstanding Natural beauty. It has much to offer visitors from walking, climbing, cycling, canoeing etc to visiting the many historic sites like castles and cathedrals.Living in a rural area, the local restaurants serve locally sourced meat, vegetables and fruit and we are lucky to have some excellent restaurants close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Brookfield House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookfield House Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing