We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greasy spring roll”

Seven Seas Fish and Chip Shop
Ranked #34 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Greasy spring roll”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I ate in the restaurant part and had a veggie spring roll and chips. The chips were fine (average) but the spring roll was greasy and tasteless. To say they had an eat in seating area, I would have expected slightly better service, even for a chippy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tereza23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Minute portion”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

After many years of food from Seven Seas this was a mega disappointment. After opening the wrapping it was the smallest portion of chips I have ever had. I'm not a pig, but needed a sandwich to top up. There must have been less than a potato. I keep fighting Seven Seas corner over the argument that Audreys is better. Tine to reassess that poibt of view.

Helpful?
Thank John U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Overcharged!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stopped for a quick bit of lunch today at the Seven Seas. We had fish and chips which were ok but the tartare sauce was a bit "old". Was slightly overcharged at the end for our cup of tea ! The waitressed argued (and didn't back down) we had a mug of tea so was more expensive than on the menu - not sure what the standard cup of tea came in - not sure it was the place for a china cup and saucer !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank worthywow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“YUMMY!”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Have been here a few times and food always good. Franny always happy to help!! Keep up the good work!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thetongies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The only one”
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a great chippy as a local it's where all the locals go so always a good sign there's a cafe too but never used it, great professional staff who always look smart and the place is clean.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Superstarbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Seas Fish and Chip Shop also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to Seven Seas Fish and Chip Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing