We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely tasty food”
Review of China Boy Jo

China Boy Jo
Ranked #56 of 82 Restaurants in Ross-on-Wye
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Lovely tasty food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Visited on Saturday night, we had booked luckily as we took the last table - not overly big eating area, but nice enough to feel that you weren't jam packed and could hear your own conversations rather than other tables! had a little wait for the food - but don't mind that as you know it is freshly cooked - piping hot, tasty and just the right sized portions, we had the set meal for 2 (with sesame prawn toasts as an extra because we love them - and were not disappointed these were the best we have ever tasted:-)) and whilst we were full up we weren't over full which so often happens with Chinese food. Friendly staff who never stopped smiling, even though they were busy. Would definitely go back here, but would recommend booking to make sure of the table.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good food and service”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We visited here mid week in January. We were the only people in the restaurant but this was not an issue. The service was very good and friendly and the food was good.
We had the mixed starter - seaweed, chicken sate, spare ribs, spring rolls and prawn toasts followed by crispy duck, then deep fried chilli beef and malaysian prawns with rice and beansprouts.
The food was all very tasty, freshly cooked and overall good value for money.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I haven't been to China Boy Jo in years as the last meal I had there was frankly awful. I made the mistake of taking about 8 people, so it was both a dreadful meal and very expensive.

I noted that it has a 5 star hygiene rating (these days, that's the first thing I check before booking!) and thought that I'd give it a go for a light bite. I can only think that it must have changed hands, as it was a pleasant meal with good service. The place itself has changed, the dining area is now downstairs and is very "no frills" and cramped. I don't mind that, some of the best little restaurants are like that.

To summarise, the food was pretty good, it was clean and tidy, good service and reasonable value for money.

I'll try it again one day soon to see if "good" is the new standard here, or if that was a one off!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank laurief64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and great food”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Stopped in for food on NYE and enjoyed the experience very much. We chose from the set menu and courses were brought out when we were ready. There was a slight delay in receiving the main course as there was a large group served ahead of us but this was welcomed as we were not in a rush. Food was excellent and there was a good selection of Chinese beers.

Helpful?
Thank Bluerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very good chinese in a quaint town”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stopped here for a light dinner on a Sunday evening. Dishes were very well presented and cooked. Just right hot and sour soup, a dim sum dumpling which drove my daughter almost mad with delight: duck with pancakes with succulent flesh and crispy well flavoured skin. Melt in the mouth squid noodles and a spicy aubergine dish which was delicious. Very nearly 5 stars. We found the service friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurenceMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China Boy Jo also viewed

Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire
 

Been to China Boy Jo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing