We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A traditional English hotel, perfectly situated for a relaxing break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chasedale Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Chasedale Hotel
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A traditional English hotel, perfectly situated for a relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

We have just returned from a two night break at the Chasedale which we enjoyed immensely. This is the our fourth stay, our first being 28 years ago. The hotel is set in a peaceful location, on the edge of the town, and ideally situated for walking in and around the Wye valley. The hotel is owned and run by a very friendly couple, and it is always a pleasure to return. One reason for leaving this comment was to highly recommend the Vegetarian menu which is superb!! What a change to have a whole page of vegetarian meals --- and not a lasagne in sight!
On arrival, we were warned that the hot water takes while to come through, it does, but be patient, it is there, and lots of it too, and the bath is a traditional size, long enough to stretch out in!
Another enjoyable break, we will definately return.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anita03011962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
4
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2010

We arrived and were warmly greeted by the owner's wife. We arranged to eat in the hotel's restaurant that evening. My wife is a vegetarian and it is very important for her to have a good choice of meals in a restaurant (Vegetarian dish of the day is not acceptable). She had a choice of 6 or 7 main meals - about the same as for the carnivores. We were both impressed with the quality of our meals (the lamb shank was quite delicious and the flesh almost fell off the bone and melted in the mouth) which were very reasonably priced. On the basis of that experience we decided to eat at the Chasedale the following evening as well. The choice of wine was good and reasonably priced. The breakfasts were good.

The room was comfortable, clean and had all you would expect including hairdryer, TV and alarm. Be warned - I believe that only one of the rooms is equipped with a shower. We prefer showers and had specified this one room on booking.

The hotel stands in its own extensive and well-maintained grounds - if the weather had been slightly better in the evenings we would have enjoyed a drink and stroll outside.

The hotel offers excellent value for money and is situated in one of the most attractive parts of England

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonMeltonMowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel with my mother several times and always marvel at the personal touches, time and consideration shown by a very overworked team of husband and wife owners.
This provides a welcome change from the minimalistic anonymity of chain hotels and at a fraction of the price.
My only regret is that more guests do not choose to sample the exceptional food in the evening served with different vegetables from the garden each day. The menu choices change daily and all diets are catered for, including a separate vegetarian menu.
Such exceptional quality is rarely experienced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPURS25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2009

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the hotel location was fine, However, there was no heating on in our room, and the decor was a little faded. Although the bathroom had recently been redecorated, and was of good size, there was no shower, and the water was lukewarm at best. Also the plumbing was very noisy when other residents were using baths, shower etc.
We thought it was rather overpriced for what it was.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teacher154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

Six of us booked three double rooms at the Chasedale hotel for a two night stay, upon arrival we were shown to our rooms by the friendly lady who owned the hotel. Only one of the rooms had a shower and the other two a shabby dirty bath. The rooms are in need of a desperate makeover and lick of paint. The carpets need replacing too. My room had a slight musty smell to it and the wallpaper had seen better days! The entrance hall is grand but the smell of dirty dogs didnt really wanna make me stay there for too long. I understand it is a very old building but the rooms were not acceptable and i certainly wouldn't stay there again. However there are e few positive things to mention, The staff are friendly and welcoming, the bed was very comfortable and breakfast was average. The hotel is in a good location for the local town and the gardens are nice. I do not think it is worthy of a 2 star and certainly not worth £40 per night.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vauxhall27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

excellent . . spot on .. real value .. must go again.......

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scallywagg049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2009

my fiancee and i have just had a nice stay at the chasedale hotel. it was in a good location and was very well run and the husband and wife who run it were very nice and polite and the breakfast which is included in the price was excellent.nice spacious rooms and no fuss wi fi access. good location and will definitely stay again if visiting that area.it was really nice.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loboal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
3.7 mi away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
0.6 mi away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#5 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Chase Hotel
The Chase Hotel
#9 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
2.2 mi away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chasedale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chasedale Hotel

Property: Chasedale Hotel
Address: Chasedale Cottage Walford Road, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5PQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Hotel Class:2 star — Chasedale Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter so you can book your Chasedale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chasedale Hotel Ross-On-Wye, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing