We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great house in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property
Salcombe  on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salcombe  on the beach
Living room kitchen Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Salcombe  on the beach
Living room kitchen
Living room
Superb estuary views from the balcony
Kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Enter a caption for your photo
Bathroom
Balcony for alfresco entertaining
Front of house
floor plan
Garden
Smalls cove
Splat cove
Walk to stare hole looking down the estuary
Salcombe from East Portlemouth
Salcombe from Snapes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NickAntra...
Cholsey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great house in a great location”
Reviewed September 29, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We spent a week in this property and had a great time. The house had everything we needed, and the shops, cafes and restaurants are literally a minutes walk down the hill. The photos are slightly out of date as the lounge now has patio doors that lead out into the garden so its lovely to leave those open and enjoy the views out into the harbour. Salcombe has some great beaches, you need to get a boat but thats half the fun. The car park is about 6-7 mins walk from the house, but its a lovely walk along the quayside and past the boat builders so I always really enjoyed it. We'd definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nick P
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven within the town centre with estuary views.”
Reviewed September 26, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We have repeatedly visited Salcombe for over 30 years. For us this is our favourite place to stay. It's tastefully decorated; well equipped and has superb estuary views. Within the town centre yet tucked away from the noise. Dog friendly but spotlessly clean.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Oliviacha...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Me, my mother and grandmother along with my 2 year old son. We stayed here in may and it was absolutely perfect. Clean, nicely decorated, wifi, DVD player, really close to the centre and with beautiful views. Just about to book it again with my fingers crossed that it's available!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707Nick
Kingston upon Thames
2 reviews
“Even better than before!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Since our last visit the owners have added an amazing terrace accessed by folding glass doors from the sitting room with steps leading down to the garden. The terrace is comfortably large enough for a table and six chairs and we spent most of our time when we were actually at the house sitting outside. If the weather is not so good the same views can be enjoyed from the sitting room. We were lucky with the weather and spent plenty of time on the beach and particularly enjoyed No 55 in the evening, which has replaced Catch, and the newly opened Crab Shed on Fish Quay which offered the biggest and best Fruits de Mer we have ever come across.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position and the views.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
embles
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A view to die for and the place is great too.”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The view from the sitting room and out on the veranda are absolutely lovely. And as the weather was so good we sat out and watched the boats coming in and out of the harbour. The place itself was clean, comfortable and has good amenities (the gas barbeque was v appreciated). There was also a travel cot, which came in good use with our 18 month old, though we would have liked the a high chair too, but we did bring our own portable one. Location wise it could not have been better as it is a simple 3 min walk to Fore Street (where there are many restaurants and shops. I recommend the bakery (the Upper Crust) which is open every day at 7.30 am - brilliant bread, croissants etc. There is also a handy park adjacent to the street, which is good for kids. The owners provide a parking permit for the car parks on Gould Rd, which really helps, but make sure you read the back of the permit and park in the right car park, we didn't and got a parking ticket - our fault for not reading properly.
Anyway, I highly recommend 14 Courtney Street for a fab break away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pad53
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely house perfect location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Outside, the house has a lovely garden and the view of the harbour from the patio is breath-taking. The location is less than a minutes walk from the heart of Salcombe (so no need for a car !), however the house is tucked away in a really quiet and tranquil street. Inside great care has been taken as to the design. It is bright and comfortable and has a great holiday feel about it. The bedrooms sitting room and kitchen are a good size plenty of space and very clean comfortable and bright. All the beds were truly comfortable and we slept very well . We had a great week . The house is simply lovely and the location is just about perfect for a holiday in Salcombe. We will be going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Deco of house , its size and location
Liked least: Leaving !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing