We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay for a perfect holiday.”
other travelers have booked this property
Salcombe Estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space Plympton Barn
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Salcombe Estuary
Upstairs living space
Plympton Barn
Outside Seating
Kitchen
Woodburner
Dining
Bedroom with Kingsize
Bedroom with two singles
Timber clad Hallway
Shower
Bath
Salcombe Estuary and East Portlemouth
Salcombe - South Sands Ferry and Sea Tractor
Storm at Hope Cove
Sunny Cove as seen from Salcombe
Sunset over local Beach
Deer on the Cliffs
Race in the Salcombe Estuary
Soar Mill Cove
Ferry Steps in Salcombe
Old Lifeboat Station on South Sands
Salcombe Yawls Racing in the Estuary
Lifeboat at Salcombe
South Sands Beach
view of South Sands
Thurlestone Beach
Crab-fishing boats in the Estuary
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Salcombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise T
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay for a perfect holiday.”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

Plympton Barn is a peaceful place, we had a wonderful week on holiday here. Our long drive from the North East was rewarded with the last few miles being driven down winding roads, passing thatched roof cottages and the most beautiful countryside. The barn is well appointed and very comfortable, we had everything we needed during our stay. Eating out locally can be a little expensive but we found some great restaurants nearby in Kingbridge and would recommend The Old Bake House which was excellent! The Winking Prawn is good for drinks if you don't mind sitting outside, not a problem for us in the long summer evenings. Check out Bantham Beach and Burgh Island and drop in to Overbecks which on your doorstep. A great place to discover, we loved it and would certainly return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2018
Many thanks for your kind review. Have a great summer and we hope to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita1576
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
“A beautiful barn in an idyllic location!”
Reviewed June 4, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We had a wonderful week in May at Plympton Barn, so much so that none of us really wanted to leave! Both Jaap and his mother Michele were a delight to deal with and Michele very kindly gave us lots of advise about where to purchase the best fish and meat and eggs! We loved meeting Jack her dog and seeing all her wonderful artwork.

The barn itself is beautiful with a lovely stone floor and underfloor heating. It is spacious with two bedrooms, a downstairs toilet and bathroom and a very useful utility space with a washing machine. The upstairs living area has wonderful views of the surrounding countryside and with the bi-fold doors open the only sound is of a babbling brook at the end of the garden. There is no mobile signal at the barn but the internet connection is very good. The bottle of wine and fresh flowers on arrival was a lovely touch. Although we crammed a lot in to our week away we had a very relaxing time at Plympton barn and would love to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 6, 2018
Dear Anita, thank you for your kind review!! Very glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope we will see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A lovely barn for a winter holiday”
Reviewed March 4, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We had a week's stay with 6 month old baby in early Feb. Very nice barn conversion - living quarters on the top floor with lovely views of green fields and very comfortable bedrooms and bathroom with walk in shower and bath downstairs. The washing machine came in very useful. Kitchen well equipped. Lovely and warm property - even without using the log burner. Despite being completely snowed in, we still had some lovely walks and made use of the South Sands hotel for a very pleasant (if slightly expensive) lunch. Will certainly return, hopefully with some warmer weather! Thanks Jaap for being so helpful and easy to contact.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 5, 2018
Thank you Adam!! hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HMDUK
UK
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach Barn By The Sea!!”
Reviewed August 28, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Plympton Barn was the perfect start to our Devon holiday. The barn itself was modern, clean and very spacious with comfortable beds and well-equipped kitchen and bathrooms. The location was perfect as we could walk to the to SounthSands and Northsands beaches via the country lanes while enjoying the architecture of the area and the inspiring countryside while picking enough blackberries to eat on the beach!! The Co-Op in Marlbourough proved useful for groceries, fresh bakery and an ATM!!
The Meijers were excellent hosts and were very gracious when we turned up a party of 4 instead of the promised 2 (last minute changes, apologies!!) and were quick to discreetly arranged the beddings.
We are so happy to have chosen the Barn for our stay in Salcombe and promise to return very soon.
Thank you Jaap and Michele!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2017
Dear H, Thank you for your very kind review an d the card you left for us! You were great guests and I hope we will see you again!
kind regards,

Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rjrtongue
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful location.”
Reviewed July 18, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A beautiful barn conversion walking distance to south sands. Always a friendly welcome. Very quiet. The surrounding area is perfect for a family holiday. Beaches are very child friendly and extremely clean. Plenty to do in and around salcombe.
I would recommend highly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 20, 2017
Dear Rachel, many thanks for the kind words! Very happy you had a good time and hope to see you back! Kind regards,
Jaap
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine W
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Peaceful country location pleasant stroll to South Sands”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is a very comfortable barn conversion with comfortable lounge, well equipped kitchen and modern bathroom/ features. Perfect for a couple or a family as one bedroom has a king sized bed and the other has twin beds. The toilet is separate to but just next to the spacious bathroom and has its own sink so that provides a bit of welcome flexibility if you are a family. Lovely powerful walk in shower plus a great bath for relaxing in if that's your preference. One very nice thing about this barn is that it isn't at all damp as so many barns can be and has underfloor heating in the bathroom plus a hyper modern air circulation system which is silent. It's a very lovely location down a typical South Hams lane and we walked very happily down to South Sands beach in fifteen mins , it's a pleasant stroll with thatched cottages and picture postacard views. Ofcourse you can drive easily to Salcombe itself in ten mins and to loads of other lovely spots like Hope Cove, Thurlstone, Kingsbridge etc. There is a little private patio area just for the Barn which is shady in the morning and sunny in the afternoon. There is a table and chairs there. We'd definitely stay again as this was for us just the type of place we like.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Dear Elaine, thank you for your very kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeHull_e...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location with everything you need.”
Reviewed June 11, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

stayed for 7 night's here.The barn has everything you could need set amongst the country side. Ideal base for those who enjoy walking. Some great restaurantsand bars/pubs in the area. Lots of coves with sandy beaches nearby most with ample parking. Complimentary bottle of wine on arrival always welcomed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 11, 2017
Many thanks for your kind review. I am glad you ahd a great stay despite mixed weather. I hope we will see you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing