We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay”
Review of Waverley B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Waverley B&B
Ranked #3 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thank you Pauline for a fantastic stay we will be back soon. Great hospitality from a great B&B. Salcombe is a fantastic place and delivers a true english holiday. Superb weather helping us to enjoy the walks, the beaches and the local hostelries. Try Dick and Wills for chilled Rose on the estuary.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanToniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed here for two nights whilst I was down for a friends' wedding, and I could not have asked for anything more. Pauline was a wonderful hostess and my room was exceptionally comfortable with wonderful views across the estuary. The breakfasts was absolutely delicious with a wide variety of choice, and the location was absolutely perfect. It was so lovely to be so close to the centre of Salcombe and not have to worry about parking the car in a car park!

I will definitely be staying here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HeidiSten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was the first time I have stayed in a B & B and so I didn't know what to expect. It was easy to locate Waverley and on arrival we were welcomed and pleased with where we spending the next few days. The room and house were spotlessly clean and we felt at home straight away. The bed was very comfortable and it was brilliant to have a large window to allow some fresh air in. The ensuite was really nice. Breakfast was excellent and there was a wide range of options available. The location of Waverley was perfect, being so close to the town centre was fantastic and a lovely walk down in the mornings. Really good value for money and the owner was a charming hostess.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Waverley B&B and had a great time.

I have not stayed in a B&B for many years so was not sure what to expect..... but i'm pleased to say Waverley B&B far exceeded our expectations.

The room itself was very big, we had a seperate hallway area leading to a large bathroom.

The b&b was also immaculate and spacious.

Pauline was also very helpful, friendly and knowledgable and also cooked up a great breakfast!

All in all we were so happy with our stay that we decided to put our first ever review up on tripadvisor.

PS We are planning on vistiting Salcome each year - its an amazing place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesthfc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Hi my husband and myself had 2 night at this b&b the owners Fred and Pauline where most welcoming and very helpful. We stayed in room 5 they did leave a heater but this was not required as the weather was fab. Bedroom downstairs so not a lot of light but this room is large bed very comfy and everything you would need. Great breakfast will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkieBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights on a bank holiday/half term weekend in room 5 which is fine but on the lower ground so no view - we couldn't even see when it was pouring with rain but not a major problem. Comfortable large bed, excellent shower - the only small gripe was that the room was cold at times and the heating did not come on - it was the end of May but unseasonably cold and perhaps our room was colder than the upper part of the house. Breakfast fine - plenty of choice of cereals, juices, fruit and full English or various alternatives. 10 minutes or so walk into town - uphill on the way back but not a problem for most people. Salcombe is quite a special place but make sure that you walk the coast path - leave your car in the car park and go on foot. Get the ferry across the estuary and walk to the Gara Rock (newly opened hotel) for a cream tea or stick on the Salcombe side and walk to Bolt Head (approx 3 miles) via North and South Sands. Bluebells were fantastic when we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I never normally stay at b&b's so maybe I didn't have the right expectations. But; arrived at 10pm, heating not on so room cold. Family room is a nice set up in terms of bed room, hall and large bathroom. But; bedroom has large double bed and a single bed. 4th bed is a z bed and will not really fit in the bedroom so it has to go up in the hall and then is hard to get past it. Also who wants to sleep in the hall? The z bed is just awful quality, lumpy mattress and harsh metal frame. The bathroom is ok but window is not frosted so curtain has to stay down and there isn't a mirror above the sink, it's on another wall making wet shaving dangerous! Breakfast nice but large shared table slightly too big for room so once you in, it's hard to move. I stupidly expected them to except credit cards so was annoyed to have to find a cash point. When you spend £200 you should take cards especially when businesses can do this with simple web based software. I also expect b&b owners to give a warm welcome but that was obviously an optional extra.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salcombe hotels
0.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Hope and Anchor
The Hope and Anchor
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waverley B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waverley B&B

Property: Waverley B&B
Address: Waverley Devon Road, Salcombe TQ8 8HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation for up to twelve people in double, twin, triple or single rooms and ample parking. Only five minutes walk from the town centre and harbour. Self catering is also available up to 8 persons. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Waverley B&B Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing