We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Breakfast, Extremely Popular”
Review of Salcombe Coffee Co

Salcombe Coffee Co
Ranked #1 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pleasant Breakfast, Extremely Popular”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a very pleasant breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled egg in this busy, almost bustling café where people seemed to be meeting up with friends they had not seen for ages at the start of the season. The service was polite and cheery. The were of portions of average size. I found the coffee strong though agreeable in flavour. The bread had an excellent texture and taste. Salcombe is a little limited early in the day for breakfast and will happily return here next visit to the town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EscapeMoreOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    64
    19
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
528 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“No service at all”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We walked in and no one paid us any attention so we eventually sat down. No one came to serve us or tell us to go to the counter if that was the system. We waited and waited for service of any kind. The waiter took a coffee break in front of us and the man behind the counter gave no direction at all. We got up and walked out. No one persuaded us to stay. We will never return. We went over the road where we had been before but they too were disappointing no scones left for a cream tea at 4pm and it took them 10 minutes to provide us with a pot of tea. I think Salcombe is a difficult place to get a cream tea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Plattypuss52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Just had a truly delicious dinner, beautifully cooked in their Bistro 73 evening transformation from the Coffee Company by day. Great value for money, the best value in Salcombe by a country mile.

Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Amazing chameleon qualities”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

After spending a morning having coffees in this great packed, but room to sit, cafe where the atmosphere was noisily happy and upbeat, we went back for dinner where it was transformed into a quaint, friendly bistro. The dinner food was delicious and the flavours and menu full of flavour and diversity. The locals obviously love it, but imports are more than welcome! I will be back.

Helpful?
Thank hoflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“beware toilet/kitchen situatio”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Very strange having to walk past open kitchen area to toilets - one of which broken during my visit. Makes you wonder about health and safety. Hygienic? Food prep could be an issue/ also kids/teenagers just hanging around - they seemed to be talking to kitchen staff who were friends/parents? Only went in because windy and needed a drink after a long walk, would not visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salcombe Coffee Co also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to Salcombe Coffee Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing