We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food and service excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 37 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Food and service excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked this for an end of holiday special meal for our family. The food at the Victoria is superb, we had seven excellent dishes. Children's potions nice and generous as well.

The staff were very friendly and the service was just the right pace. The place itself is welcoming though it could do with more loo's.

Definitely recommended if you find yourself in Salcombe, which you should!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seany42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Seaney42

Thank you so much for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us.

Tim & I are very proud of our team and the great customer service they consistently deliver - even in the height of summer such as we are now. However, I agree with you that we could do with more loo's (especially at this time of the year!) but I could also do with a bigger bar and at least 3 more pairs of hands.......... another 5 hours in the day wouldn't come amiss either! But even I can only acheive so much! :)

We hope you'll come and visit us again very soon,

Warmest wishes
Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    949
    358
    80
    29
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very dog-friendly!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Lovely Inn and even have a "doggie menu" which includes dog biscuits and chews! Towels are also available if needed! The food provided for dog-owners is excellent too! We sat in the garden and enjoyed "pulled beef cobs" which came with delicious chips and side-salad and were very reasonably priced. Staff were very attentive. We shall return!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, l at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear ShirleyB

It's always lovely to get great Trip Advisor reviews and none less than yours!

Thank you so much for acknowledging our dog friendly approach - we love them!! We're also delighted you approved of the food we offer on our menu as well. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again soon,

Warmest wishes
Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food with great garden!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

We originally had a drink in the garden, not knowing where to eat that evening... But after seeing the menu and food that had come out we thought we'd eat here too! My husband had a steak - when it came out it looked quite small, but was actually very thick and filling - perfectly cooked for him also. I had a duck dish which was stunning - well cooked and very well presented! The drinks selection was great also - had all our favourites! Would certainly eat here again next time!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear RebeccaZ
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a complimentary review and we are delighted you enjoyed your visit to us! We are incredibly proud of our reputation for great locally sourced food cooked fresh to order - so it's a pleasure to know that our customers have had great experiences such as you.
We hope you'll visit again on another occasion,

Warmest wishes
Liz & Tim Hore, Licensees and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Victoria Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Would like to take you up on your offer. We have only just returned to Salcombe. I appreciated your response Liz ............ Best wishes Karen

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear KarenA

Please phone ahead of your visit for us to say hello as my working hours are incredibly varied at this time of year,

Best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claydon, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked in advance to ensure a table was available arrived and got drinks from bar and was advised by the proprietor that it would be a 45 minuet wait form time of order. Ordered seafood platter for two arrived after 15 minuets well worth the wait, main courses arrived some 10 minuets after we finished the starters. Proprietor came round for a chat very friendly also dogs are very welcome, came a couple of nights prior for a drink and staff came out with some biscuits for the dogs. All in all good sea food selection, friendly staff in a pleasant pub, have eaten there before and will go back again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear RichardM

Thank you for your review and taking the time out to write it. I'm glad you enjoy your visits to our award winning pub and that you say you would come back again. We're very proud of the food that our award winning kitchen produces and also the fact that we hld Taste of the West Gold Award.

With regards to you being advised of a 45 minute wait - we are trying to ensure we meet customers expectations of our pub when we are at very busy periods - this weekend we had an order going through every 1.7 minutes for three hours - so if we set a time and then manage to avhieve well within that, then I am much happier than if we say 20 minutes and customers are waiting 40minutes. I hope that makes sense.

We look forward to welcoming you back again,

Warmest wishes

Liz & Tim Hore, Licensee and all the Victoria Inn team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing