We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good pub resto”
Review of The Victoria Inn

The Victoria Inn
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Victoria Inn has been run by Tim & Liz Hore since 2008. We pride ourselves on being a 'Traditional Pub, with Traditional Values'. It has this year (2014) been awarded the Taste of the West Gold Award - awarded for locality of produce used, ambiance and high standards of service. We are the only pub in the South Hams to hold this prestigious award. National finalists In Licensee of the Year, finalists in Devon Life Family Friendly Dining Establishment as well as previous Fish & Chip award finalists. We welcome children with their own menu selection of home cooked food and dogs with their own Al a Bark menu! Bookings to eat with us are advised as we get extremely busy and hate to disappoint customers.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a nice old pub a few steps from the waters edge in the heart of salcombe.eight of us went there for dinner on 27th June,having been impressed by trip advisor reviews and a lunchtime reconnaissance by some of our number.

We were not disappointed.excellent haddock and chips,sweet and sour cod in batter with rice,and much praised fillet steak.there is a good selection of real ales.the puddings were all good amongst which the sticky toffee puddings was perhaps the stand out.

There is a nice ambiance and the staff are attentive and helpful.

There was one slightly bizarre moment when one of our number asked for ice cream and was told she could only have a particular selection because,as I understood it,the chef wanted to use them up evenly.goodness knows what all that was about but after a bit of a protest whoever it was relented and the chosen ice cream was duly produced.however this did no worse than cause us some amusement and neither detracted from our evening nor from our view of what is clearly a very nice pub resto run by people who care about what they do.

This pub resto deserves its reputation and we would not hesitate to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mrbunnywunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear Mrbunnywunny (!)
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to write it. I'm glad we delivered on service and food and that you enjoyed your meal with us.
The Ice-cream is meant to be served as it's sold - as a trio - but it generally shouldn't be too difficult to separate the flavours!!! But I'm glad it caused amusement and not offence. We will look forward to welcoming you back on another occasion,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,477 - 1,481 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2013

Centrally located with nice pub atmosphere with great garden for the kids.
Better beer selection than other pubs in town,
Can cook some good pub food.

Thank john e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear JohnE
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to us, and hope that we will see you again on another occasion.
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The atmosphere in The Victoria is always absolutely perfect. Whether you are popping in for a drink or staying the whole evening, you are always made to feel totally welcome and as if you belong there.

I have spent many many happy evenings here with friends on weekends away, and I can't wait till my next visit!!

Thank HeidiSten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear HeidiSten
Thank you so much for your great review of your visit to our pub - you've just made Monday morning a whole lot brighter. It's so lovely to see our friendly approach recognised and welcomed and we look forward to welcoming YOU back again on many other occasions,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We reserved the upstairs function room for this 50 year special occasion. The room had just had a new make-over and the windows look out over the harbour. Liz, the indomitable landlady organised the event with classic efficiency. This was great for us as everything we needed was provided and more! David is the Chef but our day was his day as well. It was his 22nd Wedding Anniversary but he got special permission from his wife to look come to work.
The meal was first class and the hospitality excellent. We will definitely be back for our 60th.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear JohnE
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. It was an absolute pleasure and privilege to host your Golden Wedding celebrations, and a joy to know that you were so happy with what we provided. We look forward to welcoming you both again very soon, and certainly for future anniversary celebrations!
Very warmest wishes,
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We had searched out a place to eat on this Wed evening and rocked up expecting to just get a table, wrong, it was 7.30pm and already full, however, that did not stop the very friendly bar man from helping us out. Firstly he got us a drink and then suggested that we could wait in case a table became available, and then he suggested that we could sit in the bar area and eat if we would like, it was a very small table and a bit stuck out, but he quickly got us some chairs and made us feel very cosy, and thank goodness, as it was such a lovely evening. The food was delicious, it was nice to see some more inventive, yet still homely pub grub vegetarian options available, the leek and butterbean bake was so tasty, hubby had the fish and chips which he quickly polished off, and we shared a trio of in-house home made icecream which was a taste experience, but do not miss out on the Tia Maria flavour!!! All evening the lovely bar man bought us our drinks, and made sure we were attended to, he was so friendly and really made us feel welcome. So much in fact that we returned the following day for a cream tea in their garden, and again that evening for a glass of wine before dinner in a nearby restaurant. Go see for yourself!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear KerryH
Thank you for writing such a positive and indeed quite glowing review. We are delighted that you found our customer service to be excellent and the food more so!
We hope you will come and visit the beautiful West Country again soon,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Victoria Inn also viewed

 
Hope Cove, Salcombe
 

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing