We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderfull stay at the fabulous Vic”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #4 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Bourton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderfull stay at the fabulous Vic”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Vic and didn't want to leave !! When we arrived we were greated by friendly ,efficient staff who couldn't have been more helpfull.Our room was clean ,bright and very comfortable with everything you need.We ate in the pub which has a wonderfull atmosphere ,attentive staff who make you feel welcome and extremely good food,great beer and a wine list that would put many a restaurant to shame .Tim and Liz go out of the way to make this a special place and it is.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear LornaH

Thank you do much for your review and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you on another occasion.

Warmest wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

great stay great room the food is well above average and good prices.ill be back to here soon.parking over the road 2meters away with overnight .the views here are very special.the town has lots to see and do with boat hire for any number of people per hour for trips in the bay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear SteveH

Thanks for your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to welcoming you again one day,

keep your eyes out on the website for any special offers,

Warmest wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and it was just right. Quirky room ( don't go if steps and a low door are a problem!) literally in the pub garden and right on the harbour and in the middle of the shops. Little cafe across the road serves breakfast or other choices nearby. Had one meal here which was superb. Park opposite and unload and then leave car in long stay. Such a beautiful place and the all day sunshine helped!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear FionaH
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Classic Inn in a beautiful town but we were let down by a wifi promise that wasn't kept. Visiting on the tail end of a business trip, it was vital that we had wifi access. We were assured it was freely available before we booked so proceeded to check in. The signal was weak and unreliable and we found that numerous other guests were also unhappy. The bartender sympathised saying it frustrated him too because his device could never stay connected long enough to send an email. The boss was not interested in our complaints blaming their ISP for the fault. Such a simple thing but it left us with poor memories of this establishment. We paid 10 pounds more here than we did at similar Inn's around Cornwall and Devon, only thing was the cheaper ones provided breakfast and this one didn't. Almost an amazing place, just the little things were missing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear MichaelReg
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I'm glad that on the whole you enjoyed your visit to us, however, I need to address the issue of the free wi-fi service.
We do indeed offer a FREE wi-fi service and mostly it works very, very well. Indeed we are one of the few places in Salcombe that does offer this free service - however and indeed because of this, our system SOMETIMES struggles to work with the numerous ipad, i phones and laptop users that are often in our premises. In fact our own credit card machine has had occasions when it won't (or can't work) and we often can't even use our own office computer because of slow connections.
I think its a little unfair to say we weren't interested in your complaint as we are fully aware of the issues at peak holiday times and are trying to resolve them.
We are now faced with possible options; 1: Disconnect the free service altogether , 2: Charge a fee and limit the time people stay on it or 3, upgrade at a huge financial cost to ourselves???
We are still in talks with our Internet provider and it's a case of watch this space.
However, I apologise if this caused you any great inconvenience.
Kindest regards
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I regularly visit the Victoria Inn and always get such a lovely welcome from Tim and Liz.

In the summer it is fab sitting out in the garden or upstairs where you get a gorgeous view of the estuary. When the sun isn't shining, there is always a roaring fire. Perfect! Love the sign outside the pub which says it's a man crèche too!

The food is always good. Sunday roast is a favourite, particularly the beef from a farm just 5 miles away. Fresh fish also lovely on the specials. Had sea bass and samphire on my latest visit which was beautiful. Children loved their choices off a special menu.

I read recently Mary Berry rated the Victoria as her favourite place to eat in Salcombe. I couldn't agree more! She's not the only celebrity to love the pub. I have seen a few here. Love it when that happens!

If you want to stay, there are 2 rooms in a converted barn in the garden. Rates are very reasonable for Salcombe too.

Overall a fab place to chill out with good food and drink and where you'll always be in good company.


  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProducerEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear produceremma
Thank you for your great review & we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you'll visit us again very soon,
Kindest regards
Liz Hore - licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
droitwich
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed in the Hobbit, at the back of the Victoria, the door was even too small for my wife. And she makes a hobbit looks statuesque!

Not like The Hobbit House in Manila at all.

Very nice indeed.
Warm.
Cosy
Clean.
No breakfast, but what the heck!

Business trip but took the Mrs (keeps me out of mischief)

All in all excellent friendly, reeasonably priced stay with good food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petehayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Petehayward
Thank you for your review of our accommodation here at our award winning pub, and we are delighted that you emjoyed your stay with us. I know nothing abouth the Hobbit in Manilla, and it's historically always been called the Hobbit because of the unique door............. But it hurts if you forget to bend to go through the doorway! I know!!
See you again one day I hope,
Kind regards
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Pleasant overnight stay, lovely room. Only downside was noisy people in the other room moving in late.
Excellent food, delicious crab bisque, lovely bit of pork belly, with black pudding and tasty veg. Homemade icecream is lovely too!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emluca123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Emluca123
Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back vary soon,
Warmest wishes
Liz Hore - Licensee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salcombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
766 reviews
1.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fortescue Inn
The Fortescue Inn
#11 of 21 in Salcombe
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Property: The Victoria Inn
Address: Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim & Liz Hore extend a warm welcome to you to join them at the Victoria Inn, Salcombe - a traditional pub with traditional values, set in the middle of Salcombe high street. 2 Beautifully presented en-suite bedrooms in a garden setting and the only pub in Salcombe to offer accommodation. An award winning pub offering fantastic ales & wines from around the world - Champagne by the glass and excellent customer service. Great food sourced locally where possible and cooked to order, with bookings advisable all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Salcombe
The Victoria Inn Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing