We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Jubilee weekend”
Review of The Victoria Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Victoria Inn
Ranked #3 of 21 Salcombe B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Wanted somewhere central to stay in Salcombe for the Jubilee weekend. The town was predictably busy, and the weather predictably variable, so accommodation in a location where we could pop in and out easily was a priority.

The Hobbit House is simply perfect in this scenario - a very nice room literally yards from the busy quayside but tucked away behind the Victoria Inn. Everything works (great shower!) and the price is very reasonable by Salcombe standards.

A great weekend. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weizen_mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Weizen-mike

Thank you for your lovely review - and I hope you'll always remember this very special jubilee weekend,

best wishes

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 81 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2012

This was a Boys Weekend, walking the cliff paths in early March, and we arrived late on the first evening. Before even getting us to sign the paperwork our hostess took one look at us and poured us a pint first!

Every evening we were made welcome in the bar at our own special table, reserved for us all evening, every evening, by the fire. It helped that it was winter and the town was largely deserted, but still the welcome was genuine and warming.

Having eaten so well there on the first evening we did not bother to seek anywhere else, and ate at "our" table in the bar every night.

As they said on their website, they did not do breakfast but this did not matter as there was a great café for breakfast right across the road. Being March we were even able to park across the road at the small (pay) carpark. All my previous experiences of Salcombe have been in high season where the nearest place to park was about Birmingham!

Downside? Well, the twin room was snug for two middle-aged gentlemen (the other bloke SNORES, how his wife stands it I dunno) and the extractor fan in the bathroom struggled to cope with the two of us. The other man had the single room. He seemed very happy. However, this is just a minor niggle and we were very very happy with our hotel/restaurant/pub.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lefthandwillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Dear Lefthand Willie
Thank you so much for your great review - I'm glad you 'boys' enjoyed your break! I wish all the reviews were as witty and funy as well! A reflection of you all thats for sure! Come back again soon.

Kind regards

Liz Hore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Stayed in the hobbit double what a surprise lovely room reasonably priced the licensee liz was a great host ate in the packed pub good value food we will be back

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkshire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2011

Dear Yorkshire64
Thank you so much for your great review and I'm delighted that you had such a good time with us. Thank you also for your flattering comments regarding myself!

We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion,

Kind regards

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

My family eat at this pub fairly regularly when they are in Salcombe and we were very excite about eating here after having heard great things about it. However our experience was not a good one. Firstly our booking was cancelled without us knowing (no one knew why), we were given another table (quite crammed) but had to be out by 8pm for the next guests (who kicked up quite a fuss upon arrival as we were not quite finished). The food was terrible to say the least - I ate a fish hotpot which was watery, very fishy/tasteless fish with half cooked potato on top. The vegetables were so over cooked it was reminiscent of school. The sausages (and mash) were hardly browned and i didn't really want to give them to my 2 year old.
All in all very disappointing....and very expensive for such a disappointing experience.
A real, real, real shame as we're always looking for a good place to eat out in Salcombe.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Dear Sarah
Firstly, may I apologise wholeheartedly for the confusion over your booking. You are absolutely correct in saying it had been cancelled and no one could explain why. No one on my team 'owned up' to cancelling it, and it was very clearly cancelled in error, but with no telephone contact number taken we were unable to ring you to check this out.
In terms of the comments regarding the food, I can only say that I'm sorry if we disappointed you, however, during this busy summer holiday period we have been serving almost 300 meals every day and I have only received a handful of complaints in this time. Of course we strive to get it right 100% of the time, but clearly on this occasion you felt we had got it wrong.
If you would like to respond to my private e mail to you I would welcome the opportunity to offer you a reduction on another occasion with us.
Kindest regards

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

The 2 rooms in the Hobbit House to the rear of the Victoria Inn offer good accommodation for a short break, situated in the centre of Salcombe and all the staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The evening meals we had in the Inn were to a very high standard at a reasonable price and the service was excellent. The Inn doesn't have a car park but you can drop off your luggage in the layby outside and park in the public car park overnight.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAUL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2011

Thank you for your great review and we're pleased you had such a good stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you on another occasion!

Kind regards

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Victoria Inn with our two children and feel like Salcombe finally has somewhere good for a short stay.
We've holidayed a lot in Salcombe over the years, for a week or two at a time (in fact we've got two weeks booked next month) but wanted somewhere just for two nights to celebrate a birthday in Salcombe and the Victoria came up trumps!

We booked both rooms, the twin and the double, and were very happy with the standard of decor and facilities. The rooms are ideally placed in a separate building at the back of the pub adjacent to the beer garden. I could see where in the height of an August summer evening it would be quite noisy for anyone wanting an early night but given it was early July for us and we were out celebrating it wasn't a problem!!!

Tim and Liz, the pub owners, were helpful, friendly and very amenable, both via email and in person and my daughter also fell in love with their dogs and was out each morning with them in the beer garden (there were tears in the car on the way home!).

Breakfast is part of the cost and is served at Captain Morgan's cafe, across the road. I had the full breakfast at 9am and didn't want to eat again till about 4.30pm - thats how good they were!!!

All in all we felt the Victoria was an excellent choice and much kudos ought to go to Tim and Liz for seeing this gap in the market and filling it so admirably.

We'll definately be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2011

Thank you so much for your fantastic review. It is always heartening to know that we got it right and a great stay was had by all!

We look forward to seeing you all again soon,

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed in the Double room at the Victoria Inn for three nights 20th-23rd June 2011. The accommodation was very good indeed, very clean and tidy and we were very pleased. We ate in the Victoria Inn on our first and third night and the food was again very good on both occasions as was the service. Our only criticism was about the breakfast arrangements, we accept what was stated in booking details, to be fair on the 1st morning the breakfast was good but very limited on choice. We would have thought that it would be fair and helpful to prospective customers to describe the ambiance/style of Captain Morgan’s in a little more in detail, perhaps a couple of photographs (inside and out) would be helpful Martin and Chris

Room Tip: There are only Two
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinChris_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshirelillibet, Licensee at The Victoria Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2011

Dear Martinchris

Thanks for your comments all perfectly valid and I welcomed the opportunity to discuss the issues with you whilst you were here. I think the photo's are an excellent idea and one that I will implement over the next week or so. I wouldn't agree that the menu is limited in as much as we offer a great choice of cooked breakfasts, or smaller items like scrambled eggs on toast and we even have breakfast cereals. What we don't have is fresh fruit and croissants, nor do we have tablecloths & flowers on the tables - just plain scrubbed wooden tables.

Is the cafe marketed approriately in our advertising? I believe it is - but in light of your comments I am going to review the marketing in it's entirety and add the photos.

Thank you once again for your most constructive and positive feedback and I'm delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay.

Liz Hore - Licensee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Salcombe hotels
0.2 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 7 in Salcombe
882 reviews
2.4 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
413 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
168 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fortescue Inn
The Fortescue Inn
#10 of 21 in Salcombe
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Inn

Address: Fore Street, Salcombe TQ8 8BU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Salcombe
Price Range: $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tim & Liz Hore extend a warm welcome to you to join them at the Victoria Inn, Salcombe - a traditional pub with traditional values, set in the middle of Salcombe high street. 2 Beautifully presented en-suite bedrooms in a garden setting and the only pub in Salcombe to offer accommodation. An award winning pub offering fantastic ales & wines from around the world - Champagne by the glass and excellent customer service. Great food sourced locally where possible and cooked to order, with bookings advisable all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Victoria Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Salcombe
The Victoria Inn Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing