We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great off peak bolt hole!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great off peak bolt hole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stayed the first weekend in January, so we were keeping an open mind given some of the reviews pre Christmas. Need not have worried however, this hotel is run on hospitality and they certainly put every effort into the guests welfare. You don't always find such a consistently good service on a damp January weekend. The hotel has been finished to a high standard yet it keeps a relaxed feel about it. There were no snags that warrant a mention, it was just so nice to stay in a modern, bright, chintz fee setting.

We ate in both nights and the food menus were extensive, I really don't think you can expect much more from any hotel in the area, good value too. The spa is small much like the Christchurch one, but at this time of year there was space for everyone. This is a perfect hotel for couples and Salcombe changes so much in the summer holidays, I am not sure how much I would enjoy it at full capacity. So this is definitely one to return to off peak for me. We also got engaged that weekend, so the peaceful setting and discrete staff made it very special ( and thank you for finding such a pristine red rose in the midst of a rainy weekend).

One suggestion for peace of mind, if you book through the central bookings system for the hotel group and make dinner reservations at the same time, just check with the hotel directly after the booking is confirmed. On a whim we did, and the salcombe jetty restaurant had no knowledge of our reservations at all. Luckily they could fit us in, but at a slightly later time. This had happened to another couple as well. Hopefully this has been tightened up on.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summerholiday77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Firstly I would like to congratulate you on your engagement and we wish you well for the future. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with and we very much hope to see you again in the not too distant future, if you would like any details of Weddings here at the hotel then please do drop me an email jason.parry@harbourhotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    239
    118
    40
    14
See reviews for
147
638
11
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

We spent 4 nights in this lovely hotel and fell in love with it. It has recently been refurbished and they have done a wonderful job. the hotel is beautiful, clean, modern and the decoration is stunning. the service is great, the staff couldnt be more attentive. the spa is fantastic. we would definitely recommend staying there, it is certainly the best in salcombe.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and we really are so pleased that you love what we have done to the hotel, the feedback has been excellent and we are really proud of it. I know that the team will be motivated by your praise and we all look forward to being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bransgore, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just enjoyed a couple of wonderful days here. Attention to detail in rooms, service & cuisine made for a very enjoyable stay with the added facilities of the spa & cinema. Staff are professional, knowledgeable & helpful, but in a lovely relaxed manner. We had a superb estuary view room with balcony - love the touch of the 'balcony & basket' with blankets & binoculars etc with a beautifully appointed bathroom. I could 'live' there very happily with the view ever changing through sun. rain & tide changes - captivating. Thank you

Room Tip: if you can choose an estuary view - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beachlife137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel here on this site, your feedback is really important to us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short break with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

We were so delighted to find a great hotel in Devon and only 25 minutes from home. Decent hotels that provide a complete package are few and far between in Devon. Fantastic first impressions and attentive staff, great food and beautiful rooms. My husband had a lovely birthday cake left in our room and after our lunch. We a couple of issues with our room and meal, although when it was bought to the attention of the Manager it was dealt with swiftly and professionally, and we are really looking forward to going back and will definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: An estuary view is a must.....reminds me of why I live in Devon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing us to celebrate your husband's birthday, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

We spent a long weekend at this wonderful hotel and can't wait to return - thankfully, we aren't too far away from the beautiful town of Salcombe and so are planning to treat ourselves a little more often now we've found this local treasure.

The hotel is gorgeous with so many lovely touches you feel very spoilt from the moment you arrive. The welcome we received from the absolutely charming Jo was first rate and her professionalism and enthusiasm throughout our stay was truly five star. We weren't sure if she in fact owned the hotel.

The food was utterly delightful as were the restaurant and bar staff. Perhaps the most impressive feature of this hotel is the people in it, which is saying something considering the outstanding design and attention to detail present throughout.

There are some teensy little teething problems as this is a hotel in its infancy however I'm sure that come the summer, this is going to be the place to be. We can't wait for the outdoor terraces to open and the doors to fold back in the restaurant... and a pontoon... Brilliant!

Our advice to prospective guests would be to get there quickly before the prices hit the roof and both the hotel and Salcombe become off limits from July to September. Oh, and maybe take your own tonic water to mix with the complimentary Plymouth Gin!

A stunning hotel. Thanks again Jo, whether you own it or not you're first class and we'll certainly be back.

Room Tip: Go for an estuary view on the second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you so much for your review, we genuinely are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your thanks to Jo as well. We hope to be able to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Made a return visit to celebrate my birthday. From assistance parking the car and unloading the luggage the welcome was warm and friendly ,especially from Jo. to the complimentary drink whilst our luggage was taken to our room everything was superb. It was great to enjoy the facilites of the spa along with a relaxing massage. The food in the restaurant was excellant especially the lobster thermador. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Waterfront rooms on top floor are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainbutler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
A belated Happy Birthday to you from the entire Team at the Salcombe Harbour Hotel, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you chose us to celebrate your birthday. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is an exceptional hotel, great rooms, service, and the wonderful Harry, with whom I had endless e-mail communication from Oz. This lovely young man, was extremely helpful and it was a pleasure to meet him. Such good humour over my messed up bookings, showing great professionalism.
Our room had a glimpse of the harbour, which is more than we hoped for, and the complimentary spirits in the room a nice touch.
I had a swim in their warm and generous sized swimming pool.
All in all, a lovely time spent here, given the prospects of flooding, the cold and the wind.
A warm oasis. Thank you everyone, especially Harry.

Room Tip: If you can, ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johannaaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jasonparry55, General Manager at Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and indeed for your kind words, I know everyone will be motivated by your praise, especially Harry. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back to the Salcombe Harbour Hotel again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
2.3 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
1.0 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
11.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
17.2 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa

Property: Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The extensive refurbishment of Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa has resulted in a chic new hotel on the edge of Salcombe Estuary, complete with it's very own cinema room and new Jetty Restaurant; all taking in the panoramic vista, overlooking one of the most dramatic coastlines in the UK. Guests can enjoy our luxurious spa spread out over 2 floors. With five treatment rooms, indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna, relaxing pebble room and a fitness suite, you're sure to be leaving Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa relaxed and revitalised. For those looking for a more active break, our waterside location puts guests in prime position to enjoy the many watersports that the estuary has to offer. From paddleboarding to our Catch It, Cook It, Eat It experiences, Salcombe is the perfect place to get out and on the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing