We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend break with family ...Loved it !!!”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife an i have just returned from a Whitsun Bank Holiday break.We took our parents(72 yrs) and dog with us .The hotel is fantastic.Quality decor all with a seaside theme .Free car parking in large car park across the road .Small beach/coffee hut next door.We only had a lunch snack & breakfast food at the hotel,both where good quality.At the moment the hotel is the only establishment on the south sands cove ,so very relaxing .When the sun is out the beach will get slightly busy.
The boat ferry is great to Salcombe but stops at 5.30,or the hotel offer a Taxi service in its own 4x4 land rover, which was a great help to my elderly parents as the walk to town is hilly .
Prices for bar drinks and accomadation is a little higher ,however Salcombe is known as "Chelsea on sea "and the only hotel of such quality in the area .With lovely views from the decking area.
The staff were very ,very friendly and alway asking if all is ok .Tom was very helpful with our Lift into town and the bar staff very warm and welcoming.
Would we return ??? - we have already booked again !

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alfieboy79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (870)
There are newer reviews for South Sands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 870 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I visited Salcombe as part of a tour of the South West.

We booked ‘South Sands’ after reading a number of excellent reviews.

Initial contact with the hotel was first class and very easy.

We stayed two nights in room 21.

In summary this is a fantastic hotel! Excellent service and great quality. Free/secure parking. All staff made us feel very welcome.

We wouldn’t stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This is the perfect hotel location, overlooking the sea just a short (& quirky!) boat trip to Salcombe.
Great rooms with sea views, luxury bathrooms (complete with Molton Brown smellies!), super food, especially breakfast & their cream tea.
We visited August Bank Holiday which meant South Sands was packed & the hotel full. On reflection, I would recommend staying at a less busy period in order to get the best service.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014

From the pictures to the beds to the cushions and covers, a lot of thought has made this a really lovely place. Service is friendly. Location is so quiet and peaceful and wake to gentle lapping waves and hopefully sun shining... Only thing is upgrading the food.. Evening meal is ok, not special but for breakfast, overcooked scrambled (mines) and poached eggs (wife's) is not good. Coffee also a bit so so.. Just a bit more attention and this is a terrific place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Philip153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just returned from a two day break at the South Sands Hotel where we stayed one of the lovely beach suites. We were very well looked after by all the staff but Yvonne on Reception deserves a special mention for her excellent local knowledge and ideas for days out (we had a lovely morning in Totnes and wonderful afternoon at Overbecks). Also Candi in the restaurant made breakfast a pleasure and was always happy for us to take a 'take away' for our teenage son .

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

We have been staying at this hotel, in it's original form and at the old hotel, for many years. After our last very disappointing visit over a year ago, we decided to find an alternative. However, as we do love the location etc. we decided to give it another go. So glad that we did, the staff were so kind and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.

The restaurant was wonderful and the service was excellent. We had beach suite 33, which I would definitely recommend. We travelled with my sister and her husband and there was plenty of room with the bonus of a balcony. Well done South Sands Hotel we will be back again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

I have now stayed several times at the hotel and this was the best stay yet. Staff and food better than ever. Always good but it now feels like this hotel has grown up and really comfortably delivering excellence. Will be back!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Jane - The Inn ... C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
792 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
630 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
405 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: $180 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing