We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific setting on the beach”
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Had a few drinks here in the evening - sadly the expected Doom Bar was not available this year. The terrace is very comfortable and a great place to meet up with friends - looking forward to trying the restaurant menu again next year

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimplyFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 895 reviews

Reviewed December 15, 2013

7th visit to south sands hotel since refurb in 2010. As always fantastic welcome great detail to attention. Stayed in Dragon room with good sea view.Room still felt as though newly refurbed. Winter menu in restaurant fantastic good choice. New restaurant manager had time for everybody.made everyone welcome and made sure everyone happy .overall brilliant stay.special thanks to Sarah assistant manager _ couldn't fault her. Becky and Candice in restaurant so pleasant and nothing too much trouble.xmas decorations made a very warm Xmas feeling. Thanks to Yvonne who obviously worked hard on them.good start to our Xmas.

Room Tip: Rooms 21 and 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Recently stayed at the South Sands hotel and came home feeling very rejuvinated. The staff were very helpful, food in the restaurant was of a high standard and the views from our room were great.

We will definately stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room 11 has fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 09spire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had a great stay. The room was lovely (an anniversary treat). We booked the j-class which is superb and luxurious. Bed massive. Views great. Food was intersting and a bit fancy but would eat there again. All staff were friendly and helpful. Flowers in the room as requested were lovely.
We stayed there in a wet October and loved looking out at the stormy sea from our room.
Lots of varied reviews on trip advisor but we both loved our stay. Our friends were staying at the same time and could find no fault either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just had a truly amazing weekend at south sands hotel. The food, the service, the ambience and the room were all perfect. The view from our room and the dining room was to die for. We wish we could have stayed for longer and we can't wait for our next trip to south sands. Thanks to all the staff for making it so special. Chris and Wendy Dunn

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

lovely break and super two for one deal on a sunday/monday found on hotel website, so great value- our first time staying at South Sands - lovely friendly reception and room 6 very comfortable lovely bath in bedroom -shower/toilet in need of a little descaling etc, but it was the end of the season and guess winter spring clean will happen soon.
Food was super, service a little haphazard at times especially on a busy monday morning but still delightful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frednred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We spent one night celebrating our wedding anniversary. The position of the hotel is great and we had an enjoyable meal. The problem was that the bedroom (one of the superior ones) was above the restaurant and after we went to bed at 11pm was plagued by an intermittent clunking which went on for an hour or so. It then started about 6am. Not a good night. Our main issue is that our polite complaint in the morning was not really taken seriously and it was suggested that we should have called the night porter. Another couple had exactly the same complaint. Apparently it was the kitchen door which they knew about. I would echo previous clients who mention that a very justifiable issue has not really been taken seriously by management.

Room Tip: not above the restaurant !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank harg58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
819 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Cottage Hotel
The Cottage Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hope Cove
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
684 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
431 reviews
12.6 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range: $117 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing