We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tides Reach Better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of South Sands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
South Sands Hotel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Tides Reach Better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We wanted to stay at South Sands, but it was fully booked, so we stayed at Tides Reach which is 30 yards away. We went to South Sands for a drink and to look around but the public areas were too packed, and rather unpleasant, so we went back to Tides Reach. Both hotels are very nice, and offer similar, but have seen both South Sands have got the balance between numbers of guests & public areas wrong. The decor is more modern though.

Room Tip: Even though the hotel is on the beach, few room look over it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    211
    81
    61
    22
See reviews for
183
444
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first visit to South Sands and it certainly did not disappoint. Our room was beautiful and very clean. Lovely thick cotton sheets, two balconies with sea views, en suite bathroom with lovely Molton Brown toiletries.
We have stayed in some very nice hotels and have now added this one at the top of our list for summer holidays! The staff were very friendly and the service quick and efficient. I was worried from reading previous reviews but there must have been some staff training recently.
Only two criticisms. The house wine was not pleasant. It was £18 a bottle and tasted rather nasty to the point where we didn't finish it. In hindsight I probably should have sent it back.
Secondly on our first night we were kept awake very late by some of the restaurant staff who were outside on the decking below our window after their shift. It was such a hot evening and we needed to keep our windows open but the noise kept us up. Also we smelt cigarette smoke.
Other than this - we will be back! Ideally looking for a deal ;-)

Room Tip: Room with a view is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joviola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the South Sands at the beginning of the summer and were immediately taken in by the fantastic location and peaceful setting.

The hotel is on the beach with unspoilt views to the sea (our rooms were) - we stayed for two nights and ate in the hotel restaurant, I'll agree with other reviewers that the service was a little slow, but not to the point of spoiling the meals - as for breakfast we'd agree that they need to consider table service. I get the implications of this but if you charge top dollar, one would like the option of this.

That aside it's a great place and nicely kitted out.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Wandsworth_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Our second stay at the beautiful South Sands hotel in salcombe was just great . Once again the staff were just fantastic the room which was all the had left ( room 18 Yule ) had a Juliet balcony with the most fantastic view . The staff were great with our little boy Charlie and very helpful at all times especially those on reception and those who took care of us at breakfast in the restaurant . It's a hotel that's hard to fault ! It is truly a great place to uk holiday .
The ferry set up is a little noisy but it stops at at early evening and has nothing to do with the hotel .
It is £££ but worth every penny especially when you look at other hotels in the area also this keeps out the " Riff Raff" which is a huge bonus although the other end of the spectrum tends to be the sailing type . . Enough said .
We set off at 6 from Surrey , stop off at The little chef at honington for a bit of " fine dinning" before we hit the Devon lanes at 9.30 am which are always a challenge !
We love it all .

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Slow service every time I visit, be it just calling in for dinner/lunch or, on this this occasion, staying as guest in a suite. The staff just walk past with no acknowledgement; just a greeting to let you know you've been spotted and they'll be along to serve you shortly would be welcome. The service in the bar and restaurant just needs improving to meet the otherwise high standards. Generally they miss the point of what a premium boutique hotel should be and play too strongly on their location, which in the pooring rain.......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wetandwindy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is a superb hotel situated in the most fantastic location with a stunning view. Cool decor and facilities - spot on. We ate a enjoyed delicious food ( sea bass recommended) and good choice of wines. The only reason I did not rate as excellent were the staff who whilst courteous lacked training and skills that you would expect in a restaurant of this calibre. It was painful trying to get served and get drinks before and during the meal.
Please invest in your staff and "wow" your customers with your service..... rather than the facilities and amazing view !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Madmagic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at South Sands for three nights after finding the hotel online. What a perfect antidote to busy working lives. The hotel has a large, free car park close by.
We found the staff very helpful - notable that throughout the day they provided service with a smile - makes a huge difference when the staff genuinely seem to enjoy working at the hotel.
We stayed in room 11, one of the Dragon suites. What a great room - the room was on the first floor and had two juliet balconies looking out across the beach. Room was clean and well appointed.
We tested a few cocktails (!) and can highly recommend - the guys behind the bar know their stuff. We were looking forward to the restaurant, having previously read such good things. Not disappointed. As you would expect the seafood is superb but also try the Black Pudding Scotch Egg, exquisite.
If you do venture out for a walk, be prepared for the steep roads - great fun and a good way to walk off breakfast. Oh and don't forget to catch the ferry to Salcombe town - the sea tractor transfer on to the ferry is novel.
Enjoyed the break enormously and hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinAvril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
1.0 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
4.6 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
3.6 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Sands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Sands Hotel

Property: South Sands Hotel
Address: Bolt Head, Salcombe TQ8 8LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — South Sands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in May 2010, this New England style, boutique hotel set in arguably the county's finest coastal location. 22 beautifully appointed bedrooms...offer the ideal place to escape from it all and relax and unwind. You can see the sea from most of them and almost touch it from the balconies in rooms 9 and 10. 5 opulent beach suites...ideal for families or for those looking for more space and independence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your South Sands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Sands Hotel Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing