We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding on so many levels, a true GEM”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Salcombe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Outstanding on so many levels, a true GEM”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed for a weekend in an Ensuite 'Beach' Hotel room and our friends stayed in the nearby Seaside Suite (these are basically fully equipped one bed apartments with balcony etc). The rooms are all decorated in a fitting yet stylish nautical theme with excellent room facilities, however it is the view that really makes this hotel stand out from the others. Wow!

Outside, the hotel boast lovely gardens, a heated pool (right by the waters' edge), and a lovely terrace area; all with outstanding panoramic views over the estuary, the beaches and the sea. The terrace also has a BBQ for guests to use (real suntrap), and we sat here in the afternoon watching the boats go by.

We met a couple of families there who were staying in the larger apartments and they all said how much the hotel had dramatically improved in the last year or two both in terms of quality, services and appearance. By the sounds of it, the larger apartments are of a very high standard also.

We will definitely be returning, perhaps we will stay in one of the Seaside Suites next time as they have plenty of space and considerably more self-catering facilities (which suits us), and of course the balcony. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ensuite rooms and Seaside Suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    12
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in Salcombe then you could not find a better place than this. We stayed 3 nights and cannot wait to go back. The apartment was lovely, just sitting on the window seat or the balcony and watching the activity on the water the views were amazing and it was a short walk into town. Friendly staff and nice little extras like tea, coffee, sugar, washing up liquid and other house bits supplied. We all had a great time and had plenty of room in Puffin's Place. Our little dog enjoyed herself as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDAmia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel over a bank holiday weekend, Ollie so kindly gave us a room for just one night when no other hotels would offer us that in Salcombe due to high volumes over the weekend. Ollie's hospitality was homely and inviting, he suggested great places to eat and provided excellent service throughout our stay. The view from our room was one of a kind! We couldn't have picked a better place to stay.. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bamba28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent three nights in the puffin's place, a self contained apartment for 5 adults, a small dog and a baby. We arrived to be greeted by very friendly staff. The moment we walked into the lounge area of the apartment we were stunned by the view. All rooms have a stunning view of the estuary. The beds were all made up and the place was spotless. The walk into the town was approx 5 minutes and an 85 year old on a mobility scooter made it there and back with ease. Couldn't fault this well placed hotel and will be back next year for sure. Thanks again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelledthew0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warkwickshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Booked hotel room the night before and for one night only. The owner (i'm presuming), Ollie, couldn't of been more helpful. Advised on the best eateries in Salcombe and also said there was no rush checking out the next day due to the fact no one was booked in after us.
The rooms are in little blocks which I like as apposed to normal hotel rooms. It felt like you had a little more privacy. The room was a spacous double room with ensuite , kitted out in a nautical theme. It had everything you needed and was spotlessly clean. You had amples amount of coffee and tea facilities and the mugs were a great touch, the bed was very comfortable...and then we come to the finale ....the view ....well you'll just have to book to find out wont you :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamandSteve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the Sunny Cliff at the beginning of October just as there was a heatwave and it was lovely to be able to sit on the balcony and watch the yachts go past. Great view of East Portlemouth beaches opposite. The apartment was spotless and Mo, the hostess was very helpful. The swimming pool was closed though which was a shame. We walked through to North Sands and South Sands and visited Burgh Island and Kingsbridge. Would recommend it all. Stopped at Devon Chilli Farm too one day. All very interesting, especially tasting the chiili farm's produce!Favourite restaurants in Salcombe-the Galley and Catch, favourite shop Amelia's Attic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Boardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salcombe
0.1 mi away
Salcombe Harbour Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
South Sands Hotel
South Sands Hotel
#4 of 8 in Salcombe
839 reviews
2.2 mi away
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
Soar Mill Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Malborough
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Lantern Lodge
Lantern Lodge
#3 of 4 in Hope Cove
164 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Sun Bay Hotel
The Sun Bay Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hope Cove
412 reviews
4.8 mi away
Thurlestone Hotel
Thurlestone Hotel
#1 of 1 in Thurlestone
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments

Property: The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments
Address: Cliff Road, Salcombe TQ8 8JX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Salcombe
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on a cliff overlooking the Salcombe Harbour, this hotel with apartments is a 9-minute walk from the Salcombe North Sands beach and a 10-minute walk from the East Portlemouth ferry. Bright rooms with harbour views have complimentary WiFi, TVs, and tea and coffee making equipment. Suites add balconies, DVD players and lounge areas. Apartments offer balconies and up to 3 bedrooms, plus kitchens or kitchenettes. There's a 2-night minimum booking for all accommodations. Organic cooked breakfast is available in a restaurant. Other amenities include free parking, patio seating, BBQs and a heated outdoor pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Sunny Cliff Hotel & Apartments Salcombe, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing