We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Interesting”
Review of morwhellam Quay

morwhellam Quay
Ranked #1 of 5 Fun & Games in Tavistock
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Thought the lottery fund should help finnish this hisorical site off, its amazing whats to be seen there, very nice people wellcomed our party

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank foody840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    12
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Really Interesting Afternoon Out”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

From the moment we stepped out of our car to a personal welcome, through the excellent lunch, through the laughter of trying on the Victorian costumes and posting the photos on Facebook (many positive comments), to the fascinating visits to the museum, school, cottages (especially the miners cottage hidden away at the back), we had a lovely, relaxing, thought provoking, memory stirring afternoon. We cannot wait to return in the spring - and summer and autumn and winter.... the passion of the staff there is infectious! Thank you very much for taking us back in time.......

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We went as a family to morwellham and had lots of fun. Loads of activities for little and big kids and a lovely coffee shop for a break too!
The lovely animals were well cared for and extremely friendly.
Definitely worth a visit all year round

Helpful?
Thank Spaghettigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Worth a visit with the kids or just on your own.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I took my grandchildren here earlier this year and we all enjoyed it greatly. There is a train ride into a mine all well explained as we went along and the kids thought this was fantastic, it really is like going back 100 years. Most importantly, there is a pub there too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Safetysystems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for a kid-friendly day out”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

The site is best when they are doing special events and have in character staff available to tell you about the small mining community that existed here in Victorian times. The mine tour is short but very exciting for children with a mining wheel that works and makes a lovely noise bringing the mine to life. Most of the exhibits are interesting if you are able to take time to interact with them. We had a little Victorian class, made rope, played skittles and other games from the period, dressed up in Victorian dress, and then played on a very good children's play area near the gift shop. As good as any of the other things we've paid an entrance fee for in the area and with a little history lesson as well.

Helpful?
Thank Manngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed morwhellam Quay also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Gulworthy, Tavistock
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to morwhellam Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing