We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a place”
Review of The Royal Standard - CLOSED

The Royal Standard
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Lovely village pub cooking locally produced fare. Beautiful views over Dartmoor. Children and dogs welcome.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We came upon this pub by chance travelling from plymouth. It is a gem. The menus are full of choice and the pub had real charm. It has comfortably furnished cosy nooks which are supervised by Stanley the very friendly pub dog.. We were greeted by a roaring log fire and a great welcome. Although we had just popped in for lunch we wished we had being able to stay longer. Strongly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Iansheffield_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

That's a smashing review and glad to see our Stanley gets a mention. Thank you.

Best Wishes

Julie, Dom & Stanley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 99 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Royal Standard is children and dog friendly. The Food good value for money. They cooked food different to what was on the menu to accommodate the children's likes. A nice touch and friendly staff. they even lent us a dog lead.

1  Thank ritahall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

Hey that's great. We have found that children can be exceptionally critical so we aim to vary the menu a little to keep them content which means Mum n Dad go away happy too. Marvellous!

Hope to see you again.

Julie, Dom & Stanley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

It was cold and sometimes damp day, we had been out on our motorcycle all day having done 178 miles rideout over six hours or so; so we were a wee bit cold and very hungry when we came across this very welcoming pub/restaurant, it was warm and with a friendly welcome, coffe and tea ordered as was two sunday roasts.
The food was great and more than enough for a hearty meal, it was hot and well presented with only one small bit of veg left tells the story of how nice it was. A sweet was ordered as recommended by the landlord (I won't say what we had) it was to die for, there was lots of other choices so we'll have to come back a few more times to try them all.
The coffee and tea was also good.
If we lived closer to this place I would be here every day!! Highly recommended by me and my wife.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

How lovely. Many thanks for taking the time to review us and we hope to be of service again in the future.

Julie, Dom & Stanley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Another fantastic meal enjoyed by all the family, a great variety of food on offer, starting off the Christmas atmosphere , also enjoying the Jazz band

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank martmoobells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Always a pleasure. Please note that there is a change to the advertised Jazz Sunday this month!
It is Landlord Dom's fathers 78th birthday this weekend and as he is a keen Trumpet player, we have invited him and other family members down to celebrate with the City Steam Jazz players this Sunday 12th January.

Hope to see you soon.

Julie & Dom xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We returned to the 'Royal standard' after a lovely Sunday lunch a month ago. Had a lovely time again; great pub food, welcoming landlord and landlady and a friendly pub dog. Definitely recommend a visit. We'll be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jules1004, Owner at The Royal Standard, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. Dom, pub dog Stanley and I look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Kindest Regards

Julie, Dom and Stanley. xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Standard also viewed

Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing